We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vesuvio Caffe

Vesuvio Caffe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional family run Italian restaurant offering home-made Italian dishes.Stylish surroundings provide an informal and relaxing ambience whatever the occasion. Whether it is business, family or friends or a romantic meal for two.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just the ticket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Popped in at lunch time and enjoyed an absolutely lovely cappuccino coffee and lemon cake. Just £5 great value price.
The venue is great, and felt cool even air conditioned.

The service was good, the coffee brilliantly presented, the cake as well.

As part of a lunchtime break from the hustle and bustle of Stratford town centre Vesuvio is perfect.

It claims to be the best coffee this side of Italy, they are not far wrong. I was almost tempted to ask for a second cup it was very good indeed.

Helpful?
Thank MedTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    41
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a way to laze away ........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I live just outside of Stratford so am always keen to eat in different places and enjoy a different experience, hence we ended up in this unique Italian cafe, slightly away from the main shopping and eating places. The internal decor & size gives it a very homely feel and the waiter was efficient and polite. Both the Italian Platter and the Melanzane were beautifully presented, well priced and thoroughly enjoyed by both of us. We were unable to enjoy any of the desserts but our good coffees rounded off a lazy Monday afternoon. Get a seat in the window and watch the world go by as you savour the atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STE1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh tasting food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Called in by chance on a recent visit to Stratford and hadn't seen any reviews in advance. Small restaurant with a reassuring short menu so they are obviously not trying to do too much. All food appeared to be freshly cooked. My risotto was good as were all of our four choices. Great value for lunch and would happily return for an evening visit. Didn't have room for desert but the cakes looked excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coffee at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

They serve very very good coffee here and the café itself is a wonderful place to spend a lazy afternoon.
I generally have the latte and ask for it to be served in a cappuccino cup as I prefer it served that way. The staff are happy to accommodate this and we have been so many times the waitress even remembers before I have time to make the request.
A really comfortable, warm and welcoming place, that we go back to time and again.

We have eaten here several times and the food has always been fantastic. My only criticism is that they do not offer a fixed price menu i.e two courses for x amount, three courses for x amount. Many neighbouring places offer a fixed price menu at lunchtime and if they offered this then we would be more inclined to dine with them more frequently.
That said the food they do is great. I am particularly fond of the Italian sharing platters.

This is by far the best place to drink coffee in Stratford.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gavlarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Character and alternative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Take a visit to this little place off the main drag and you will not be disappointed. Even if you only want a coffee it is a pleasant alternative to the chains. The food is simple and well cooked. The dishes are freshly cooked and ingredients makes them really tasty. Popular place. Do not be put off by its size. There is more room inside. Staff very accommodating. Really worth a try

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vesuvio Caffe also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Vesuvio Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing