We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I wasnt expecting too much but was I suprised!, this is in a lovely position by the canal where watching barges go by with a glass of wine was a treat.
The check in was a pleasure by a delightful girl called Laura, Ashley (waiter) and F&B duty manager George were excellent and a credit to the company.
We arrived late due to an accident so asked if we could eat in the restaurant dispite not having a reservation ,we were found a table, nothing was too much trouble.
The food was fine and at £10.00 for two dishes amazing value.
I have stayed in 5* hotels that didnt come up to the staff standards at the WATERWAYS.
The room was as always perfectly adequate shame we didnt have a veiw od the canal but will ask for one next time.
Car parking for a £1.00 was a bonus but due to the close proximity to town didnt use the car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebirdGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,327 - 2,333 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Having had several bad Travelodge experiences we thought we'd give Premier Inn a go. Well - what a difference. Despite being the same sort of cost this hotel was a revelation. Most important were the friendly, smiling staff who seemed genuinely interested in our stay. This hotel is new and modern and ideally positioned for a short walk (literally 10 minutes) down the wonderful canal into the heart of Stratford. I'd only recommend this route during daylight hours but the walk back at night via the roads is no longer (but less scenic)! The rooms are are clean, bright and the beds very comfortable. An excellent experience - no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal facing room - much quieter and more scenic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October. No surprises - room was spotlessly clean and very quiet. Asked for a room on the canal side in advance of our arrival and was granted one on the third floor. Don't expect the view to be much though, as on the other side of the canal is a fairly unattractive business park. But it's probably better than the view on the other side of the building.

The thing that makes this place is the customer service which really is first rate and very efficient. Heating didn't seem to work in our room, but this was quickly sorted out. Breakfast was always busy, but we rarely had to wait for than a coupke of minutes for a table to be prepared for us.

Had an evening meal here on our last night here. Again, service was excellent, although the food was a little disappointing. Plenty of good places to eat within easy level walking distance which would be the best bet unless the weather was bad.

Plenty of onsite parking, but you need coins to pay in the pay and display machine. it would be easier if that could have been paid and dealt with at reception. If you arrive late, the parking bays at the end of the car park are a trek of some 250 yards from reception. But there is a drop off point which you could use if you are not travelling on your own.

If you are looking for good value then stay here. It is unlikely that you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Walk from end of car park is 250 yards. Use the drop off point if you arrive late to avoid long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mugsy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We chose Premier Inn Waterways over the other in Stratford due to the location and the waterfront location and were definitely pleased with our choice. Accepted, the waterfront location is the side of a canal that looks over the parking for a number of car garages but nonetheless it added something a bit different watching the narrow boats pass by. The canal walk into the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon was a pleasure on a sunny morning taking in a different side of the town and helped add another dimension to our stay. I must say that the walk was recommended by the P.I staff so great customer service in my book!

The stay was as you'd expect but I was very impressed with the welcome and personal attention upon arrival by Viorel, the concierge. It was this attentiveness that made our stay enjoyable.

The downside was parking at the hotel as it was very busy and could have meant a long-ish walk with our bags if we hadn't been able to sneak in at the front!! £1 parking for residents and it is applicable on the day you've checked out so gives you an affordable alternative to parking which appeared to very busy in the town.

We popped in and out of the town before/after performances at the Swan Theatre and the walk took about 10-15 minutes,,just right!

The other PI is closer to town but would recommend Waterways as it adds something a bit different.

Room Tip: Higher the better for the view over the canal and the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim_corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed for a Saturday night on a weekend break to Stratford, expecting no more than the usual reliable Premier Inn quality, cleanliness and value. The staff, however, set this place apart. Without exception, they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and cannot do enough for you. Due to a traffic accident, the town was gridlocked when we arrived, and having spent 2 hours driving 95 miles from Salisbury we spent a third hour driving the final mile to the hotel. We were checked in by Paul, who was so apologetic that he seemed to take personal responsibility for the delay!

Our room overlooked the canal, and was a disabled access room, though we had not specified this, spotless, and very comfortable. The bathroom was enormous.

We ate in the Thyme restaurant and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal at a very reasonable price. Breakfast the next day was plentiful, with a good choice, although the hot breakfast buffet could have been somewhat hotter. The last time we stayed at a Premier Inn (Colchester) breakfast was cooked to order, and the cold selection somewhat more extensive - I don't know whether the help yourself buffet is a policy change by the chain or a Waterways thing. Either way, the breakfast was good.

Parking at £1 per day is a bargain in Stratford, and being no more than 10 minutes walk into town we didn't move the car while we were there. The car park is open to the public though, and at £5 per day for non-guests is still good value, so although quite large it does get pretty full.

I believe the place has only been open for a short while, and that is probably why the service has a few rough edges (we were asked about 6 times within 5 minutes whether we were ready to order in the restaurant), but this will come with time. The friendliness, welcome and desire to please, however, is either there or it isn't. At Waterways, it is there in spades. We will be going back to Stratford again, fairly soon, and will be staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SalisburyMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Easy to find and central enough. Clean and efficient, friendly but no fuss. Excellent. I always say "there's nothing like a Premier Inn except another Premier Inn !" That's meant as a compliment based on their universal and continuing simple quality.

Room Tip: I think there all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights last week. This is a really great hotel to stay at; the room was really clean and comfortable and the food was excellent and plentiful. Parking is right outside the hotel and at £1 day was very reasonable. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. In many establishments staff will say the usual things such as "enjoy" when food is served but don't sound as though they mean it. Here, however, they did come across as meaning what they said . All the staff came across as having a genuine interest in providing a very high standard of customer service. We also found that on a couple occasions when staff felt we had been waiting too long there was a genuine apology and an explanation why as well as an offer of complimentary drinks.
We had a relaxing stay and it was good to come back of an evening and relax with a drink in the bar or outside by the canal where we were able to watch the barges navigating the locks. We were able to walk into Stratford along the canal tow-path which was very pleasant.
Overall a really good stay and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel

Address: The Waterways Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon and just a short walk from the train station and the RSC Theatre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing