We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This premier inn is just a few minutes walk from the centre of Stratford and was ideal for our visit. The service was excellent and polite, the rooms clean and comfortable and best of all was watching the narrow boats go by as you eat your breakfast! The breakfasts themselves were very good. Plenty of choice, bacon was thick and not fatty and the mushrroms large and tasty rather than those little tasteless buttons ones you usually get in other hotels. They also serve croissants, toast, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and a selection of juices. Set us up for the day. We also booked the Thyme restaurant for 6.30 but, as popular, service was a bit slow getting food at 7.10. Food here was average to good but nothing original. From the hotel you can walk into the shopping area directly from the roads or better still, follow the canal path right into the middle of Stratford away from the noise of the roads. Overall, I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheWhites-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen E, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear The Whites-123,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel..

We are indeed so lucky with our location in comparison with the town. It's just a stones throw from town where all all the shops & restaurants are.
I am glad you had the time to visit our Thyme restaurant - I do apologise for your long wait on food. However it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast.. We think they are the best value around.
Hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,569 - 1,575 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stopped for 2 nights on business, the location was ideal for me. A car parking employee guy was at the car park who explained the car parking meter and how to pay as a guest. Press the yellow button until the screen say's Hotel Guest, put £3 in and press for your ticket and then display this in your vehicle.

Normal good standards in the room, sealed window so you have to rely on the a/c. The Thyme restaurant was very good, the table service by a lady called June was excellent. Had to wait quite a while for my English breakfast the first morning which put me behind for the day, second morning service was much better.

Room Tip: May be worth considering rooms away from the main road
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen E, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear RogerLowerstoft,

Thank you so much for you recent review of our hotel.

I am so pleased you had a great stay with us. Due to building restrictions, our windows don't open, however we do have to air con to ensure there is fresh air coming into the rooms. This can be adjusted to your comfort.
I will personally pass on your comments to June, she will be very pleased she delivered great service in our restaurant.
Hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

You get what you pay for and you know what you are getting. Great value for the price. I paid £39, non-refundable rate. I am suffering with neck pain, so having the choice of a soft pillow was essential for me.I didn't pay attention to the parking meter, and pressed the green button for non-resident. Need to press yellow button for resident. Hotel refunded my non-resident charge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen E, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Debbie W,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel.

I am so glad we met your expectations on your recent visit. We like to ensure our guests have the best nights sleep in a comfortable bed with comfortable pillows and to allow you the choice is so important.
We are looking into changing our signage on our car park to make it more easier to understand to ensure our guests can benefit our cheaper tariff.
Hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very good premier inn.... friendliest staff I have found in any Premier Inn . Premier bosses if you do staff awards visit here, genuinely nice staff. Just the right mix of attentiveness at dinner with leaving you alone after a long day.

Quieter than we expected given the location on a main road. Spotlessly clean. Very good breakfast too....far better than I had on preceding 2 nights in another part of the country in a " business class " hotel.

Not the prettiest outlook from the restaurant...... pretty view along the towpath if you crane your neck downstream away from the industrial estate

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12FOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen E, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear 12FOL,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel.

I will pass your very kind feedback on to my team. They put the heart of a guests at everything they do. They like to ensure that we provide our purpose of a great nights sleep.
Your comments are very nice, and I am so glad we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is our second stay at a Premier Inn and i wasn't disappointed. An excellent location next to the canal. We arrived early and although the room wasn't ready the staff took our bags and we walked the 5 minutes into the town centre. The room was on the second floor and was lovely and bright, clean and overlooked the locks. We had breakfast and it was plentiful, the gentleman in charge found us a table really quickly and explained where everything was and to ask if there was anything we needed. The staff were all so helpful and friendly, many other places could learn from them.

Room Tip: we had room 240 - overlooking the locks
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnahalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen E, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Donnahalifax,

Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel..
Upon arriving early we do try & check you in if you allocated room is ready. I'm sorry we couldn't do that this time for you however I am glad the team took care of your luggage so you could enjoy Stratford for the day..
So there must be a third stay on the cards soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having stayed at the central branch for last years event (half marathon) and had such a poor experience we were a bit worried about this one. We had been told by the Warwick staff to try this new outlet and we'll report to them and everyone here that it's almost as good as Warwick, which was brilliant!

You might think that you are away from the main areas but a short walk along the canal path is a relaxed and convenient way to get to all the sites/sights of the town. We will stop here next year if we race this one again. It's also only a short walk from the station.

Great staff, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen E, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear maiday,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel..

I am pleased you chose the right hotel and came to us on this occasion. We try to ensure all of our Premier Inn's deliver the same standard & purpose across the UK.
We are in such a great location especially when you walk down the tow path straight into the canal basin & near the theatre.
We hope to see you again, maybe next years half marathon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights(26 and 27 May) with our 9 year old son. We had a clean, spacious family room that was very comfortable and quiet. The staff at the hotel were all cheerful and helpful throughout our stay, even 'though the hotel was very busy. Breakfast time on both days was particularly hectic, but we were kept informed and refreshed while waiting for a table. Breakfast itself was very good, and set us up nicely for our days out in Stratford. The location of the hotel is a little uninspiring, sandwiched between industrial/retail units and the canal, but this in no way detracted from the overall quality of our stay. Car parking is reasonable at £3 per 24 hours, but it is difficult to find a space when the hotel is busy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheScottsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen E, Manager at Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear TheScottsontour,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel..
We can get very busy on breakfast time, especially over weekends.. But I am glad we accommodated you & kept you informed with waits.
We do have a great value for money breakfast and it's eat as much as you like!
Hope to see you again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel

Address: The Waterways Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £48 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon and just a short walk from the train station and the RSC Theatre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing