We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best premier inns I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best premier inns I have stayed in”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Friendly staff the moment you walked in I was welcomed and helped with the check inn. Screen the rooms are cleaned to a high standard and you can set the ac to your desired temperature there is a loverly quiet seating area next to the canal to sit and have a drink will be booking again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    777
    171
    42
    25
See reviews for
633
1,166
48
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything as it should be, as always at Premier Inn. Very attentive and helpful staff, comfy beds and clean rooms. Liam, on reception, couldn't have been more helpful. The parking is on-site and very reasonable at £3/day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal-side have views towards Stratford and beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was as good as you would expect of a new hotel. Air Con/Cooling. All staff helpful - totally attentive to your needs and food choices good and tasty. It is in a commercial area next to a canal, and has outside space to sit by the canal.Quiet area, no road noise heard in the room

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englandisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilton Marsh, Wiltshire,
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A very clean, modern, budget hotel in an excellent location for short visits to S-u-A. It's located an easy, flat, 5 minute meander to town centre and on the side of the canal to Birmingham, right alongside a lock, through which pass a large number/variety of holiday longboats. Nice to watch and have a natter with while enjoying a drink on the patio . . . only 6 round tables with built-on seats, just like picnic tables. You've let yourself down there, folks!
The rooms are very clean but rather basic, although the usual shower-gels etc are provided. 2 nice touches are the the choice of softer grade pillows and the provision of a light-weight cover to replace the duvet, if that is the preference. The only dislikes we had were that the windows were LOCKED closed and the air-co was the only source of 'fresh' air. NOT conducive to a good night's sleep . . . where did Lenny Henry sleep while he was making the Promo adverts for the chain???
The staff are competent, friendly, knowledgeable and will go out of their way to help and advise, especially if it is your first stay at the hotel. 10/10 and a gold star there ;-)
The food, breakfast in particular, is very good, well prepared and presented, albeit a self-service buffet, but if you mistime it, it does become a bit of a free-for-all if the hotel is full. No true continental-style breakfasts available although there are croissants, but no cheeses, sliced cold meats and other standard continental dishes. Fruit salads and cereals are available Bit disappointing ;-(
Evening dinner is also quite good, like b'fast well prepared and presented by more than adequate table service. However, the menu is somewhat limited and could be described (in a nice way) as 'high class pub grub'. Its main drawback is the price . . . a bit OTT. On the same subject of price, drinks are very expensive . . . I live in one of UK's top tourist cities and even in the city centre, drinks are not as expensive as this hotel :-((
Finally, parking! No private parking! The hotel is at the entrance to a privately-operated Public Car Park (no reservations taken) which does get very busy. Hotel Residents benefit from a hotel rate of £3 / 24hours, ending at 12-midday . . . nicely timed to let you get away in the morning without having to rush out to 'feed the meter'. One final niggle . . . the hotel is located on the A3400 major route out of S-u-A to Birmingham, a very busy road . . . but I must say that the hotel's sound-proofing copes extremely well.
In summary, an above average, modern, well-maintained and operated budget hotel, ideal for short visits, for both business and pleasure travellers, families included. Don't let my personal views deter you, I can only tell as seen/experienced . . . it's still worth the visit. Go for it!! ;-))

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeMarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

it's not the closest Premier Inn to the RSC but it's a lovely (short) walk along the canal. Great seating area next to a lock (tho overlooks the industrial est too!) Hotel is clean, modern with v friendly staff. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked this Premier Inn because it was near to the centre of Stratford upon Avon. Upon arrival parking was not free (£3 for 24 hours), and the car park is cramped but the hotel was very new and ver clean. Even better, the hotel abuts a water canal and this provided a pleasant 15 minute stroll to give access to central Stratford upon Avon ... and (if dark upon return) a clear and easy walking route back by road.
The hotel has a pleasant bar and the coffee was Costa.
We ate out on this occasion but had a coffee and sat by the canal in the evening. As it was July and the weather was very good this was very pleasant.
The hotel enjoys all the usual Premier Inn standards. Room, bed, bathroom were all very good and the air conditioning EXCELLENT. Upon arrival we found the curtains were closed, and the room was lovely and cool (nice touch).
We also had a special offer price (on booking well ahead) so this stay was brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here so we could go to a performance of Henry IV Part 1, which was also excellent by the way. Couldn't fault the room (on the top floor) or the breakfast, good quality freshly cooked food. Pity the Costa coffee machine wasn't working, but it didn't spoil things for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSmithBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#9 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Address: The Waterways Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon and just a short walk from the train station and the RSC Theatre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing