We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stratford-upon-Avon
from US$27.72
More Info
from US$103.84
More Info
from US$77.55
More Info
from US$361.46
More Info
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
360
78
19
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
78
19
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews school room school master grammar school quill pen school life guild hall king edward school days short film wall paintings interactive displays interactive experience fascinating insight excellent visit knowledgeable staff beautiful building step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We found this very interesting the building spoke volumes the history behind it is wonderful and kept beautifully

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Very interesting. We were shown around by a pupil of KES who was very informative and enthusiastic about the school room.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank JennieMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

If this had not been the school room attended by Shakespeare, no one would go. However, it almost certainly is the school he attended and undeniably that makes it interesting. We have rarely seen it open, but on the occasion we did, we only paid a couple of pounds to go in. We were there for a matter of minutes.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank 318nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

We were invited into a building which every time I walk past say I wish I could look inside that one! We were only charged £3 for an informative guided tour by a current Year 8 pupil. We also had the opportunity to enjoy some delicious homemade cakes and tea as an optional extra. After we had explored the wall paintings, the impressive furniture and Shakespeare's death mask we were treated to lots of interesting facts from our knowledgeable and charming guild. We saw the carved initials of the only three boys who survived smallpox and other curiosities. We watched a short video which showed the secret spy hole for the 17th century equivalent to Ofsted watch classes. I thought this idea would be highly appropriate today too, at least they would see actually what teachers have to deal with on a day to day basis! Standing in Shakespeare's "big school", I reflected whether today's poets, writers, scientists ever acknowledge publicly the inspiration their teacher/teachers granted to them that they might then invest their own energies into developing a talent which the whole world would have the chance to enjoy - just like the legacy the teachers in this school gave us today through the development of the young mind of Shakespeare!

Date of experience: May 2015
5  Thank Marco_the_Maltabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Very good guides with entertaining presentation and eye-watering details about educational standards and hours in the days of yore!

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews