We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit quirky but I liked the place.”
Review of The College Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The College Arms
Somerset
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A bit quirky but I liked the place.”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

If you think "Premier Inn", and then think the exact opposite, you've just summed up The College Arms.

It's a quirky place with all sorts of 'interesting' features, but they serve a fine breakfast and I left with a smile on my face.

I only stayed for one night, and although I had a couple of minor niggles, they were sorted to my satisfaction.

There were no noise problems in my room, and it was both warm and comfortable.

Would I stay again? Probably not, there are loads of other places to try. Would I recommend it? Sure, because it's not a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellingtonian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Manager at The College Arms, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we thought it summed us up very well, it was honest and fair.

Kind Regards

Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    43
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
29
69
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We would like to say what a lovely stay we had at the College Arms. We were a little worried when reading the adverse comments on this website
We took up the offer of 3 nights for the price of 2 and was thoroughly satisfied. Breakfast was as good as any 3* hotel, fruit juice, cereals and a fully cooked English breakfast that included a very tasty local butchers sausage, followed by toast and marmalade
The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable - lovely white laundered bed linen and towels. The bathroom was spotless and included a bath with shower
We ate in the restaurant all 3 evenings and found the food very nicely cooked and tasty There was a little noise on the Friday night due to live music but we had been prepared for this - however by the time we settled down the music had stopped and all was quiet for the night
We found the staff friendly & efficient
We would easlly recommend this accommodation to anyone

Shirley & John K

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Just stayed for three nights. We loved the old country inn feel, and would look forward to going back at the end of a day out.
Would definitely recommend it for anyone visiting Stratford. Also ate their three times, and food was excellent.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eckington, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My hubby and I have just stayed here for 2 nights. Very friendly, we did not encounter much noise, but was prepared , as this is a pub after all. We booked here as it looked like a quaint pub, and it is. The food was fab, the service fab and the price for what you get is fab. Would recommend to my friends. Close to stratford too. lovely relaxing two night break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My wife and I found the College Arms and particulary the manageress - very friendly. A quaint old tavern set overlooking the village green with brilliant food and very very good value for money. Handy for Stratford and the Cotswolds...We would visit again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derekwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The rate for bed & breakfast at this pub is £75 a night, however we took advantage of an offer of book 2 nights get a 3rd free which brought it down to £50.....just as well!
On booking we weren't asked for any details other than a name and neither were we given any instructions regarding time of check in etc. We were booking a couple of weeks in advance but the money was taken immediately which is unusual in our experience.
On arrival at around 4pm the place was all locked up and seemed deserted. Fair enough, it is a pub and it was outside of opening times but we had not been told we could not check in at any time. My husband rang the pub number and someone answered and said he would let us in, we waited a good five minutes before the door was opened. This didn't make for a welcoming feel at the start of our visit.
The room was a bit "mock baroque" but fairly clean and perfectly adequate. The bed was actually very comfortable.
The real disappointment came on the first morning when we came down for breakfast. There were small glasses of orange juice already waiting for us which was fine. We were offered cooked breakfast by the landlady and when I asked if there was any alternative such as cereal she looked a bit nonplussed and said she thought she could find me some. She then tried to persuade me to have eggs on toast instead but I said I really didn't want anything cooked and would prefer cereal. My husband's cooked breakfast arrived looking rather deep fried and after a while I was presented with opened boxes of Morrisons Rice Crispies and Tesco Weetabix which were obviously taken from her own kitchen cupboard. I was given a small rectangular dish just big enough for one weetabix. I was made to feel as if I was being an awkward customer for wanting cereal for breakfast when surely this is a standard offering at a B&B. We were provided with toast which was nice but although we could see quite a sophisticated coffee machine we were served instant.
On the third and last morning she had obviously run out of bread but instead of telling us and apologising she dumped a bowl of what appeared to be part baked french bread cut into chunks on the table. Actually there is no excuse for running out of bread when you are running a B&B, there was a shop just along the road and surely she had a freezer?
To sum up, we felt that we were a bit of an inconvenience really and that the bed and breakfast side of the business was a necessity to increase income but that her heart really wasn't in it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Manager at The College Arms, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you found the price to be competitive, at just £50 a night including full English breakfast.
We have taken your comments on board regarding the choice of cereals. We always use the fresh coffee, but on this occasion the machine wasn't functioning correctly. We had not actually ran out of bread, but thought it a nicer offering to give freshly toasted baguette instead of thinly sliced bread, if you had mentioned it we would have brought some out for you straight away.
We are glad that you found the bed comfortable and the room clean, these are things that we feel are very important.
We assure you the bed & breakfast side of our business is very important to us, and we make every effort to ensure that people enjoy there stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Beautiful pub and beautiful rooms.. Not so cheerful landlady
Unfortunately the website does not warn you about the noise. We were kept awake until the early hours of the morning on Friday and even later on Saturday night by the noise in the bar. People coming and going, loud music, talking and singing.. When we approached the Landlady in the morning we were met by a blank face of "not bothered" with a reply of "this is a pub what do you expect"... Says it all really, not very helpful.
Fresh coffee for breakfast which was nice but the breakfast itself was very over cooked and everything deep fried.. Not good.
If your up for a weekend of drinking in the bar till the early hours with the rest of the party Im sure youll have a good time...
If your looking for a romantic break or a peaceful weekend to relax and recharge... Think again as this isnt the place for you....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mildred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Manager at The College Arms, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Many Thanks for your review,
I am so pleased that you found the pub and rooms to beautiful and clean.
We are so sorry that you did not get a good night sleep and we have taken your comments on board regarding this.
However we always remind our residents that this is a pub, and if you want the great atmosphere that comes with a pub, then this does include a level of noise.
This weekend in particular was the Queens Diamond Jubilee and the whole village was out to enjoy themselves and the party atmosphere that went along with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.7 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#30 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Temple Grafton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quilt & Croissants
Quilt & Croissants
#40 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.9 mi away
Moss Cottage
Moss Cottage
#12 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.5 mi away
Green Haven Guest House
Green Haven Guest House
#24 of 90 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Arms

Property: The College Arms
Address: Lower Quinton, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The College Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly, traditional and charming pub set in the village of Lower Quinton, Stratford upon Avon.The Pub was owned by King Henry the VIII in the sixteenth Century and still bears his hallmark. Serving real ales, refreshing beers, ciders and wines with something to suit everyone's taste. You can enjoy delicious and freshly prepared food 7 days a week from fresh salads, pizzas, fresh fish dishes, steaks and not forgetting our popular Sunday roast. We have live entertainment every month with great live music and our fun quiz night and seasonal events. For those looking to extend their visit we offer spacious and comfortable accommodation with en-suite facilities and a delicious breakfast is included in every booking. We offer a complimentary shuttle service from Stratford upon Avon Rail or Bus Station. Function hire is available for anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion with family and friends, please feel free to contact us with your enquiry. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The College Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Arms Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing