We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a special weekend break”
Review of The College Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The College Arms
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a special weekend break”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

my wife, the dog and i stayed for 3 nights with 2 evening meals and breakfast every morning. the room was lovely and cosy with enough room to set up the dogs crate. the breakfast each morning was great, with a full english and tea and toast. the best part was the evening meals! we had 3 courses each night as part of the deal and was left very satisfied at the end. the first night we arrived late but was still happily accomodated. as we were about to order i saw the burger being served and thought 'i'm having that!'. however when i ordered i was told they had just sold the last one...gutted. the next night the burger wasnt on the menu, but jo (the co-owner) said she had held one back for me...i was really surprised at this considerate gesture and i dont believe you can get that type of service in most places! the pub is really nice with a log fire to accompany a range of quality pints. a big thank you to jo and marilyn for a great weekend!

Helpful?
1 Thank liversam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marilyn h, General Manager at The College Arms, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    44
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
30
70
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We came and stayed for 3 days in a warm and friendly atmosphere.nothing was too much trouble for us. The breakfast and evening meals were outstanding...on our last night the meal was by far the best thing i have ever eaten whilst eating out. Marilyn and the staff are so friendly. So much so that we have booked to come for our anniversary in july. Deana and Ken White.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanakenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Owner at The College Arms, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you liked it and keep coming back! Please bring Oscar to see us again soon.

Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Went to the college arms for lunch during the week. Long story short the 4 mains we had tasted like ready meals, so not good quality or value. The brie starter was brought out still frozen, when the manager was informed she took it away and brought it back well overdone. Didn't get a single apology. Definitely won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Owner at The College Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
so sorry to hear that you were not happy with your food,when so many other people were enjoying theirs ,The brie starter could not have been brought out still frozen ,because its never frozen in the first place and you were given several apologies.
so once again we are really sorry you did not enjoy your meal
kind regards
marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Last weekend was our third time - a 16th century pub steeped in history and charm. Our dog, Oscar, particularly loves it here and is made very welcome. Every time we have been there has been a different evening menu - this time was the best food yet. Breakfast is excellent. The location of the College Arms is perfect for the Cotswolds and for Stratford. We will return. Thanks once again Marilyn and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Manager at The College Arms, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review, it makes it all worth while when people go to the trouble of writing nice comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Great place to go for a weekend with friends for good food and drink with a good nights sleep. Staff were really friendly and helpful, made us all feel really welcome. Open fires make it really cosy, with comfy couches well placed around the bar and restaurant.
Room was beautiful four poster with a large bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Group of 7 dropped in unannounced and were greeted with a warm welcome and served with lovely food from a varied menu.
Lovely open fire made it a truly warm welcome
Rounded off a great day at Cheltenham Races

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mycotswoldlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Manager at The College Arms, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, they mean a lot to us, we look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed in the same village as the pub and had dinner there several nights because the food was so good! They also accomodated us for breakfast on the day we were leaving, which was also lovely. They were very friendly, even though we had three children with us and the kids also loved the food. Didn't stay there but if rooms same as pub, food and service, would not hesitate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess1ca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,043 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,395 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Temple Grafton
403 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Mary Arden Inn
The Mary Arden Inn
#63 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
244 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#28 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Arms

Property: The College Arms
Address: Lower Quinton, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The College Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly, traditional and charming pub set in the village of Lower Quinton, Stratford upon Avon.The Pub was owned by King Henry the VIII in the sixteenth Century and still bears his hallmark. Serving real ales, refreshing beers, ciders and wines with something to suit everyone's taste. You can enjoy delicious and freshly prepared food 7 days a week from fresh salads, pizzas, fresh fish dishes, steaks and not forgetting our popular Sunday roast. We have live entertainment every month with great live music and our fun quiz night and seasonal events. For those looking to extend their visit we offer spacious and comfortable accommodation with en-suite facilities and a delicious breakfast is included in every booking. We offer a complimentary shuttle service from Stratford upon Avon Rail or Bus Station. Function hire is available for anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion with family and friends, please feel free to contact us with your enquiry. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The College Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Arms Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing