We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, even better service but a teeny bit overpriced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The College Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The College Arms
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food, even better service but a teeny bit overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I went to The College Arms for dinner after driving past a sign for it. We were glad that we followed the sign! From the outside the pub looks inviting and once inside, the restaurant was very cosy and welcoming. We ordered 1 fish and chips and 1 caesar salad with chicken strips. The food arrived really quickly and was delicious and really well presented! The staff were also really friendly and couldn't do enough to help us and the other diners, in fact, when we first walked in to the pub the staff were so friendly that you could have been walking into their home rather than a business! I would say if I had to pick a fault it would be that I thought the food was very slightly overpriced at £31 for the 2 main meals, a water and a pint but the quality is good so that is what you're paying for. I would highly recommend this pub and would not think twice about going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2408molly, Owner at The College Arms, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind review , we have now looked into our ceaser salad price and reduced it
kind regards
marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    42
    22
    10
    14
See reviews for
26
68
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Genuinely dog friendly (and human friendly!) place to stay. Rooms very comfortable, and the food is good. We will definitely come back! Not least because this is a 'proper' country pub that caters for a lively local clientele whilst making visitors warmly welcome. Somebody behind the bar knows a thing or two about selecting and keeping real ale too.
We stayed here to break our journey from the south coast to Scotland. I would urge anybody plodding their way up the M40 to consider The College Arms as a restorative alternative to motorway motels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Have frequented this establishment many many times and have always found the service , staff and food to be exceptional.

My wife and I had a lovely evening meal at the College Arms last Wednesday evening , the food was divine and amazing value and nothing was to much trouble as usual for the senior waiting staff who are always happy to provide service with a smile.

We will definitely be back , maybe for a drink on Sunday lunch time in the warm and welcoming bar area , expertly managed by Marilyn and Ben who create a wonderful atmosphere for all of their customers

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Owner at The College Arms, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
how kind of you to take the trouble to write this kind report ,
we love to see people return ,and enjoy their time with us ,look for forward to many more visits from you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our overnight stay was in a perfect location. Very quiet and restful. Drinks in a pretty English garden courtyard and a nice meal in the dining room steeped in history. Lovely short walks to the local church, farm and thatched cottages. Marilyn was a very good host. We would highly recommend this stay as an authentic experience 10 minutes from the busier Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah Head, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stopped here for scones and tea, family run and extremely friendly, dogs were friendly and just loved the attention, scones were straight out of the oven, staff let us look around the pub and take photos a thoroughly enjoyable time, thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Owner at The College Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
many thanks for your kind review ,it was great to meet you all ,hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent a weekend here, cycling around the area and we enjoyed veryyy much! The pub is really cute, with friendly staff, great food, cozy rooms and lovely garden! They had a live band on Sat night and it was a good fun! I`ll def go there again! Enjoy it! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn h, Owner at The College Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review ,we are so glad you enjoyed our pub x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

It wasn't busy when we were there, and the weather was nice so we sat out in the garden.
We had lunch here and the food was really good. The service was also good and the staff friendly. The prices are reasonable too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.3 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#29 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.6 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#7 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The College Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Arms

Property: The College Arms
Address: Lower Quinton, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The College Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly, traditional and charming pub set in the village of Lower Quinton, Stratford upon Avon.The Pub was owned by King Henry the VIII in the sixteenth Century and still bears his hallmark. Serving real ales, refreshing beers, ciders and wines with something to suit everyone's taste. You can enjoy delicious and freshly prepared food 7 days a week from fresh salads, pizzas, fresh fish dishes, steaks and not forgetting our popular Sunday roast. We have live entertainment every month with great live music and our fun quiz night and seasonal events. For those looking to extend their visit we offer spacious and comfortable accommodation with en-suite facilities and a delicious breakfast is included in every booking. We offer a complimentary shuttle service from Stratford upon Avon Rail or Bus Station. Function hire is available for anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion with family and friends, please feel free to contact us with your enquiry. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The College Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Arms Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing