We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonkers”
Review of The MAD Museum

The MAD Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stratford upon Avon is most famous for being the birthplace of poet and play writer William Shakespeare, but why not try something completely outside of the box and visit the towns newest most exciting attraction- The MAD (Mechanical Art & Design) Museum.As soon as you step into this quirky attraction you'll be greeted with whirling robotics, churning clogs, rolling ball circuits, ingenious design and crazy sounds! The MAD Museum does what it says on the tin, showcasing an absolutely MAD assortment of Kinetic Art, Automata and Steampunk contraptions, gadgets and gismos. Venture into an eccentric world of moving art; The MAD Museum is a wonderful place to watch and interact with an astonishing assortment of both modern and old fashioned, yet highly innovative and elaborate machines! For the young ones: Dancing lasers, rolling ball machines, roaring mechanical dinosaur heads and whirligigs all with lots of buttons to press! The MAD Museum offers an exciting visit with an educational bias, relevant to curriculum modules such as Design & Technology and Science. We give children an experience that is worthwhile, educationally beneficial and also a lot of fun!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Good fun, will put a smile on your face, weird, wacky, wonderful creations.
Cost in the region of £16 for a family ticket, spent approx 90 minutes marvelling at the creations.
Set over two floors, does get busy and is quite cramped so pick your times.
Mad

Thank Stan_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, Public Relations Manager at The MAD Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thanks for the feedback Stan. It is wonderful to hear we bought a smile to your face. You must have visited The MAD Museum during Half Term last week?! We are indeed quite busy during the holiday periods.
If you do want a little more space to enjoy the museum at your own leisure, please do come again when the schools are back. We are constantly on the lookout for new exhibits and our displays are continuously changing. Please do consider going MAD again sometime. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,088 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

If you / your children enjoy mechanics and art (or just building/understanding things), then the Mad museum is worth a visit. Both of our boys (aged 5 and 2) enjoyed their time at the museum, especially our 5 year old who would have happily stayed all afternoon. The museum is set across two floors. It's not large by any means and would only take around 30 mins to view and walk round the exhibits. However, the interactive nature of the working exhibits means that you might want to take around 45 mins to an hour to allow time to interact with the exhibits. Some of the exhibits are similar in nature e.g. Roller ball tracks, but each exhibit is truly unique and needs to be appreciated for its artistic value/contribution as well as its mechanical prowess.

1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Visited the MAD Museum on Friday 26th October and must say that I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It is nothing more than a glorified shop with moving sculptures for sale. The staff member on the desk was rude, and eventually decided to hang up on his personal telephone call to attend to us before shouting at my son in a really unnecessarily aggressive manner. There really wasn't enough to keep you there more than half an hour and the admission price is frankly ridiculous. the whole place just has marble run after marble run and to be honest once you've looked at the first and perhaps the second you get bored.

Sorry, but definitely not on my list for a return visit!

3  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W, Public Relations Manager at The MAD Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Stephanie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the MAD Museum, we take all feedback (good or bad) seriously and aim to continually improve our attraction and service.

Firstly let me apologise for the reception you received when you arrived, we certainly do not like to keep our customers waiting for any reason. Also we pride ourselves on presenting a very friendly and welcoming hello to all our visitors and hopefully you will see that this is the case if you look at previous reviews on this page. I am sorry that you felt that your son was spoken to in an unnecessarily hard manner and we will of course speak with our team member about this.

With regard to the remainder of your visit, we have tried very hard to offer a wide variety of exhibits throughout the museum and within the confines of the space we have. Many visitors love the marble runs and in response to the feedback we have received asking for more, we have as a result added to the collection. Kinetic Art and Automata are a particular type of moving art and this is why you will see some repetition of the same themes.

We are continually looking for new exhibits and will certainly take your comments on board with regard to the variety we display.

One of the main benefits to the fact we have a permanent location is that the artists have a chance to display their work and potentially sell it to one of our visitors. This is why we have exhibits from all over the world because it is a permanent place for artists to showcase what they do and hopefully promote their work while at the same time providing great entertainment and enjoyment for our visitors.

Due to the fact that many of the machines are button activated we do find that in general most visitors spend over an hour in the museum. However we do also appreciate that where some people will spend a long time looking at each machine, others do not have such an involved interest.

Again please accept my apologies for the reception you received and I hope you will reconsider your decision not to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Angela Gallacher
Head of PR & Markeing
The MAD Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

A rare mix of craft, art and interactive fun. Any child like person will have great fun- especially when machines are serviced and all working. Enthusiastic team manage the centre. Great place for young and those interested in automata.

Thank brianeustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Yesterday, (26th October 2012), my wife and I, accompanied by our 11 year old grandson and 10 year old grand daughter, paid a memorable visit to the Mad Museum. We all found the visit enthralling and the children loved to be able to interact with virtually all of the innovative machines. We spent well over an hour at the museum, and, at the conclusion of the visit, the children were happy to spend their pocket money at the museum shop which was offering for sale, many 'quirky' toys.

Thank Roz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The MAD Museum also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The MAD Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing