We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and cake”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
276 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Coffee and cake”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Coffee was fine, cake fine, location fine, free wifi, free hoards of tourists. a bit expensive for what it was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShiftZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    34
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Taste just as good as they look.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I'll get a couple of things out the way.....first of all, I could not find an opening times sign anywhere. So when we went we were at the end of the day apparently with people cleaning up around us :(
Second....no menus anywhere, so you have to decide, with people behind you what you want and just fumble your way through.
However, the cake we did have was delicious and a very plain setting inside. For some reason I expected more given how much I'd heard about the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennieO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“lunch in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Had lunch here on Thursday, sat out in the baking sunshine. We both had jacket spuds with tuna and cheese then a fantastic cake after. Not badly priced and very tasty. Dont undertsand why they dont have menus on the tables or outside, makes it awkward if you have shopping or kids you have to lug everything to the small counter to try and read the menu whilst other people are stood queing. Service was prompt, plenty of staff on. Clean and tidy with good toilet facilities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrso1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“not to my taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

made first visit here just for a coffee, i declined the offer of the mouthwateringly tempting cakes because id got a cheese cake waiting for me at home.. its in a beautiful location, direct opposite william shakespeares house, and the outdoor seating is just perfect for watching the world go by and indulge in a little tourist spotting (i live in the town). indoors is a little dated but spotlessly clean, as are the toilets, the seating areas are good and comfortable, service is really good. my only disappointment was my coffee was weak, i like a really strong hit which didnt happen, but i will return and ask for a double shot just to check it can be a good coffee and i will deffo try a cake :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annemarieparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff training is needed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I am an old Patisserie Valerie customer and the cakes are always fresh and delicious.

Apart from the ones I bought from this branch on a day trip. First of all I asked the assistant if the strawberry tarts were lined with chocolate and she had no idea, she'd " never had one". This may seem a strange question but I prefer no chocolate. I asked would she be able to find out and she shouted to someone behind a door and got a resounding NO, so I bought a couple along with a mixture of four more cakes.

When we got home all of the cakes were stale, the sponge was hard, the fruit was dry and slightly shrivelled, and yes, the strawberry tarts have a thin coating of white chocolate between the pastry and creme anglaise. I realise that the reason they do this is to stop the pastry going soggy but PLEASE let the sales staff know what they are selling.

Most of the cakes ended up in the bin and I felt totally ripped off.

Please would someone in higher management take a trip to Stratford. It is nothing like a Patisserie Valerie.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing