We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stratford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stratford House
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This friendly B&B is on the edge of town but just an easy short walk to the town centre. The parking was a bit awkward and the rooms rather cramped but apart from that the B&B is excellent. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the facilities well above average. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was really good. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful little B&B run by such lovely & friendly people. So welcoming!
Excellent value for money here, only a 5 minute walk from the town centre & a car park to leave your car too!
I found the rooms spotlessly clean, comfortable & welcoming. I find that some reviewers on here have been rediculously petty - I don't see the problem with drying towels in a conservatory (rediculous).
Absolute 10/10 here, would definitely go again & would confidently recommend! Stay here! You will not be disapointed.
And just one last point, the breakfast was beautiful & the bed was so comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Amoroso_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprogs, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try and ensure a comfortable stay and a hearty breakfast. So yes, do please come back. We really love to see people returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I had an excellent 2 nights stay at this B and B. Conveniently situated for walking into Stratford. Free parking on drive. Lovely friendly staff. Good bedroom with en-suite walk in wet room which was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances7041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprogs, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your response. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, not least because I, myself, was away at the beginning of September and needed to rely on my staff to provide seamless care in my absence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having just enjoyed a 4 night stay in & around the Cotswolds I would say that the best room with the best facilities followed by the best breakfast was enjoyed in the guest house "Stratford House".
This was the only night that was not in a hotel & is the first stay taken in a guest house for a very long time.
This stay has changed my view on staying in guest houses.
The Mother & Daughter team have a very good set up & clearly understand what is important for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbaker1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprogs, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We do try and persuade people that guest houses have so much more to offer than the large chain hotels and it is nice to hear from someone who notices the difference. PS. We no longer share the same name as my daughter has just got married.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

nice room, although remote for tv only had one battery, no one around to help so swapped the control with next room (unoccupied) bathroom sink the plug would not come back up to empty the water.Very POOR TO HAVE THE FAMILY ROOM NEXT TO THE BREAKFAST ROOM with tea towels draped over the chairs drying.. Overall just OK.far too expensive have to admit i expected more

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprogs, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hi. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It seems you were beset with frustrating issues. I understand how annoying it is when a TV won't work. I loved it in days gone by when you could just approach a TV and press it's on/off switch. So much simpler. But all TVs have now been checked and all remotes now working (famous last words). Our family room/lounge does happen to lead into the conservatory breakfast room, it is true, but to be honest, we can do little about the layout. Obviously, this house is also our home and so the layout has to be multi functional. However, the lounge is never in use during breakfast time so that guests can enjoy their breakfast in peace. Rest assured also that the tea towels drying in our sunny conservatory of an afternoon also never make an appearance during breakfast time, though I can understand how unsightly they may seem. Again, I'm sorry that your stay could not have been more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've recently been staying here on and off over the past few weeks whilst working in town, and its great Karen and Tasha are lovely people so friendly! The room had everything needed the en-suites are stunning, beds really comfortable, I've actually decided to pay the extra few pounds to stay here rather than the local travel lodge. Breakfast is set out beautifully the full English is amazing.......and even better....they offer breakfast in bed :D Really impressed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean-GM-Vine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprogs, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We miss you Dean! How is your dog? Fully recovered I hope?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We have just stay at the Stratford and I'm sorry but its not what you read on trip advisor, friendly staff/ owners but ,entrance /stairway in need of redecoration, breakfast good but laundry drying in breakfast room isn't. And 2% charge to pay on debit card !!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sprogs, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. We do intend to touch up the marks on the paintwork in the Autumn. I take on board your comments re: card charges. It is difficult to know how to best absorb the monthly card charges, but we are always revisiting our policy in this regard. Again, it is a pity that we failed in making your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Haven Guest House
Green Haven Guest House
#23 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hathaways
The Hathaways
#41 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quilt & Croissants
Quilt & Croissants
#37 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#8 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arden Way Guesthouse
Arden Way Guesthouse
#20 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 82 B&B
No 82 B&B
#9 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford House

Property: Stratford House
Address: 121 Shottery Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing