We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guest house, very welcoming and great location!”
Review of Stratford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stratford House
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Absolutely loved staying here - my boyfriend and I booked it for a weekend away and it was exactly what we needed. Natasha and Dai were very welcoming and our room was lovely - bed was very comfortable and loved the mood lighting! Breakfast was AMAZING - everything was very hot and fresh and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwhite83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

We are really, very pleased that you enjoyed it so much.

Its more trying than it probably looks to try and make someone stay as good as it possibly can be, so when we get it right it is so nice to know. So thank you for sharing and taking the time to make your review.

It will be lovely to see you again, with or without your little ones.

Kind Regards
Natasha & Dai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

A very welcoming and hospitable guest house, clean and comfortable with a more than ample breakfast each morning. Excellent position (with parking) for a short stroll to Town and it's many attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and we would happily do the same all over again should you wish to visit another time. There is nothing nicer than a familiar face coming back through the front door.

Kind Regards
Natasha & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Where can we start. well I booked this guest house for me and the husband to have a much needed break away together and really couldn't have picked anywhere better. We was made feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door champagne on arrival and heart shaped petals on our double bed was just the start of our perfect break away. We was served breakfast in bed every morning and let me say the food was cooked to perfection and tasted so fresh and hot and when I say breakfast in bed this is what we got not breakfast at the bedroom door delivered but breakfast in bed Natasha wouldn't allow us out of bed and was so helpful kind and friendly and very very welcoming as was her husband. There wasn't a bad thing about the guest house the room was beautifully decorated and loved the mood lights in the shower really was a very relaxing break and trust we shall be back as soon as possible as we feel we have made new friends in Natasha and Dai and there two beautiful children thank you for looking after us and look forward to seeing you all soon x

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and we would happily do it all again. It would be great to see you again, with or without your children.

Kind Regards
Natasha & Dai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We loved this B&B it was clean, comfortable and totally wonderful. There were the three of us and the room was perfect for our needs and beds super comfy. It is a short walk in to town and the owners were more than happy to help orientate us to the tourist attractions in the area. The breakfast was plentiful and yummy. I would recommend this B&B very very highly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Voiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Lovely and comfortable home from home guest house, tasty breakfast which we really enjoyed,
the rooms are clean and very comfortable, lovely friendly family run guest house, would not hesitate to recommend to all my family and friends, we would book this guest house again, very handy to Stratford town centre

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosaleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked this guest house purely on the reviews and photographs which all looked good..
Unfourunatley it was not as we expected, when we arrived the lobby was full with the owners family and a film crew which made our entrance very squeezed and stressfull after a long journey.
The room at first looked clean and tidy, there were a small double and 2 single beds which were comfortable if not small.
We were not impressed to find several items of clothing from the prevoius guests in the drawers, some after shave and some old tissues under the wardrobe.
The bathroom was mostly clean although very cramped with the sloping ceilings which made shaving and washing a chore, very few shelves meant most of our toiletries wre stored on the floor.
The shower was powerful and warm but the gasket on the shower door had seen better days and was brown/green with mould.
In the morning our we had the smells of breakfast before any one else as our room was directly over the kitchen.
Breakfast was ok although very cramped in a small conservatory which was freezing cold and huge combwebs above.
We had booked the room for 2 nights but could only manage 1 night and moved into a local hotel for the 2nd night, all in all quite an eye opener and one we will not repeat in a hurry..

Perhaps this review seems rather harsh but the fact that we booked from previous reviews made us want to tell the truth for furture guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

When you arrived there was a camera crew who was just leaving, this was a one off and not something you see every day.

All the beds in the guesthouse are of standard size, none of the beds are small or extra small. You did bring my attention to some paired socks that had been left in a draw, which I removed immediately and apologised at the time that this had been missed. I can only apologise again.

Unfortunately we cannot stop the smell of food cooking from downstairs rising upstairs, usually this is one of the reasons why people choose guesthouse accommodation as it has a very homely feel to the place and gets everyone excited to the treats available downstairs. In this instance it is not practicable to alter this scenario.

For breakfast we offer full English OR Eggs Benedict OR Smoked salmon with scrambled eggs OR Chilli mushrooms in crème fraiche; along side a wide variety of cereals, freshly baked pastries, fruit juices, croissants, yogurts, tea, coffee and toast. You all seemed really happy with this selection on the day and I would have wished if there was something else you would have liked, we might have been able to accommodate should you have mentioned it.

Its is also a shame that when you checked out all you said was that you had changed your plans as you were travelling all over the country and this was the reason you had decided to check-out. In hindsight it may have been quite possible to make your stay more comfortable had we known at the time. I can only apologise that we did not meet the standard that you were expecting as we like to please every single guest that comes to stay with us.

Our Apologies

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lovely mid size guest house with pleasant host. Can walk into town. Great breakfast with a few unusual items - you don't usually see Eggs Benedict on a B&B menu. We had a lovely room for 3 people with comfy beds and a modern bathroom. Had to watch out for the sloped ceilings!
They even have parking (bit tight) for 6 cars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doublemalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
5.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,552 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford House

Address: 121 Shottery Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £74 - £767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Stratford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing