We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Stratford”
Review of Stratford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stratford House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Stratford”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed with 2 friends and we all had a good time. Rooms are smaller than typical but perfectly functional. Bathroom again was small but very good shower. Hot towel rails a problem! Mood lights were a gimmick I could do without. Some areas need a bit of work - poor finish of paint around door farms, windows, and some odd matched paint. Breakfast was good and relaxed. There were cobwebs in communal areas i.e. lights on stairs an this needs attention. But overall very good.

Room Tip: Upstairs probably better than down with regard to morning noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watson1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are looking at putting valves on the towel radiators so that individuals can alter the temperatures to suit, which we hope will correct this point.

Our house in constant use and wear and tear does occur, which we repair whenever it is practicable and will always continue to do so.

I'm sorry to hear that you think that the mood lights are a 'gimmick'. We were inspired to use them from showers in spa places that I've been to, thought it gave a lovely relaxing feel to having a nice warm shower. All rooms have the options of using this mood light or using the main light, or both.

I know of those webs you talk of, I went round a couple of weeks ago with a wet rag and they are all gone now.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

great place to stay. 10 minute walk from town centre- but with parking which is a real bonus in Stratford. We had 2 rooms- clean, modern, comfortable.Showerrooms small but fine (although beware of the very hot towel rails next to the loo!). Lovely breakfast choice- and great quality. Very attentive and helpful staff member and owner

Look out for it on C4 ' Four in a bed!'

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay - guest satisfaction is the only reason we do what we do.

You will be pleased to know that we are looking at installing valves on the towel radiators when it is practicable to drain the whole house - when nobody is in. Hopefully if you do return you will see this improvement.

Thank you again for your time.

Kind Regards
Natasha


Kind Regards
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
415 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after attending a conference in Birmingham. Can't fault the place. Nicely decorated, comfortable bed and good location, took only 10 mind to walk into town. In the morning treated to a very tasty breakfast and the host was quite friendly, recommended.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to sit down for a minute and write us a review.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am happy with your score of 4 out of 5, but equally would love to know what we could have done to improve your stay. If you wouldn't mind contacting me with a little more feedback it would be gratefully received.

Kind Regards
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Absolutely loved staying here - my boyfriend and I booked it for a weekend away and it was exactly what we needed. Natasha and Dai were very welcoming and our room was lovely - bed was very comfortable and loved the mood lighting! Breakfast was AMAZING - everything was very hot and fresh and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwhite83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We are really, very pleased that you enjoyed it so much.

Its more trying than it probably looks to try and make someone stay as good as it possibly can be, so when we get it right it is so nice to know. So thank you for sharing and taking the time to make your review.

It will be lovely to see you again, with or without your little ones.

Kind Regards
Natasha & Dai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A very welcoming and hospitable guest house, clean and comfortable with a more than ample breakfast each morning. Excellent position (with parking) for a short stroll to Town and it's many attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and we would happily do the same all over again should you wish to visit another time. There is nothing nicer than a familiar face coming back through the front door.

Kind Regards
Natasha & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Where can we start. well I booked this guest house for me and the husband to have a much needed break away together and really couldn't have picked anywhere better. We was made feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door champagne on arrival and heart shaped petals on our double bed was just the start of our perfect break away. We was served breakfast in bed every morning and let me say the food was cooked to perfection and tasted so fresh and hot and when I say breakfast in bed this is what we got not breakfast at the bedroom door delivered but breakfast in bed Natasha wouldn't allow us out of bed and was so helpful kind and friendly and very very welcoming as was her husband. There wasn't a bad thing about the guest house the room was beautifully decorated and loved the mood lights in the shower really was a very relaxing break and trust we shall be back as soon as possible as we feel we have made new friends in Natasha and Dai and there two beautiful children thank you for looking after us and look forward to seeing you all soon x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha C, Owner at Stratford House, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and we would happily do it all again. It would be great to see you again, with or without your children.

Kind Regards
Natasha & Dai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We loved this B&B it was clean, comfortable and totally wonderful. There were the three of us and the room was perfect for our needs and beds super comfy. It is a short walk in to town and the owners were more than happy to help orientate us to the tourist attractions in the area. The breakfast was plentiful and yummy. I would recommend this B&B very very highly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Voiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hathaways
The Hathaways
#39 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avoncot Guest House
Avoncot Guest House
#48 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Haven Guest House
Green Haven Guest House
#24 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Guest House
The Carlton Guest House
#44 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quilt & Croissants
Quilt & Croissants
#40 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford House

Property: Stratford House
Address: 121 Shottery Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stratford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing