We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, incredibly good value for money!”
Review of Hathaway Tea Rooms

Hathaway Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$47
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Stratford, Hathaway Tea Rooms is one of the town's finest tea rooms, with a delectable range of home cooked dishes on its breakfast and lunch menus, and of course, the iconic Cream Tea and Afternoon Tea. Plus, with a small function room available all day and the option to hire the entire building in the evenings, Hathaway Tea Rooms is fast becoming known as one of the quirkiest function rooms in Stratford! We also have a smoke free, dog friendly garden too with seating for over 50.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful atmosphere, incredibly good value for money!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I went for tea and Shakespeare on Sunday and it was an unusual but really entertaining experience. The food, as usual, was of a high standard and as always the portions that Rick serves are very generous, lots of different filled sandwiches, scones and clotted cream and yummy cakes. With plenty of tea. It really is exceptionally good value and what makes it special is the service. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone smiles. Highly recommend visiting even without the Shakespeare! I wasn't sure what to expect but it was fun, very good performances and lots of interaction with the audience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickatHathaways, Owner at Hathaway Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed the evenings and indeed the Afternoon Tea. The weather was kind to us and being able to hold the event in the garden just added to the enjoyment. So, see you soon for an Afternoon Tea (with or without Mr Shakespeare). Thank you.

Kind regards

Rick Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    301
    67
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Hathaway tearoom delight”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent a lovely afternoon in the garden eating a scrumptious ploughmans. The pear chutney was to die for and the service was superb. Very friendly staff who went out of thier way to help you. Our friends thoroughly enjoyed it and we will be back, hopefully to try out their lovely garden in the evening this time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzieh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickatHathaways, Owner at Hathaway Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to send in your comments. We are open in the evenings right through to the end of August so a light bite in the evening in the garden sounds like a good plan to me. See you soon.

Kind regards

Rick Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One not to be missed!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were very impressed by the range of food on offer and were keen to try the smoothies. Yummy! I had The Big 5 which had mango, pineapple, kiwi and strawberry in and my husband had Pash n shoot with mango, passion fruit and pineapple. Both were absolutely delicious and great value for money at £2.95. Our final choice was made after much drooling over the choices, jacket potatoes. We had prawn and Marie Rose sauce and coronation chicken, both were excellent. All the prices were very reasonable.

The service was friendly and efficient. We sat in the garden, which was lovely as it was such a hot day. I would highly recommend that people visit Hathaways Tearooms, it's a real treasure and certainly not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickatHathaways, Owner at Hathaway Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am delighted to hear that your visit was enjoyable. The smoothies have been a big success so far this year and are prefect enjoyed outside in the sunshine. We hope to see you again soon when your are next visiting our beautiful town.

Kind regards

Rick Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cake, fantastic atmosphere - welcoming and accommodating”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a lovely lunch followed by a round of cakes whilst enjoying the sun in the Tea Garden on the weekend, and couldn't have thought of a better place to have enjoyed it. Only issue was deciding which cake to have!

Have a soft spot for Anne Hathaway's Tea-Rooms as we held part of my hen-do there in September (Mad Hatter's Tea Party!) and the staff were fantastically accommodating - Rick couldn't be helpful enough, and it was a brilliant afternoon!

Will be coming back ... again, and again :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickatHathaways, Owner at Hathaway Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Lovely to see you back again and thank you for your comments. It is so nice to be able to eat in the garden at the moment and long may it last.

Kind regards

Rick Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Tea with Shakespeare”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have just arrived home after a thoroughly enjoyable high tea with William Shakespeare and Ann Hathaway (from the Falstaff Experience, Tudorworld), an event organised to raise money for The Samaritans. At reasonable cost of £20 we were treated to an assortment of delicious sandwiches, scones (with jam and cream) small cakes and a lovely pot of tea. Whilst enjoying our food we were treated to performances of extracts of some of the Bard's works which were highly entertaining as well as interactive. Shakespeare even had the fellow guests sing happy birthday to me and I was also lucky enough to win some beautiful flowers on the raffle. With today's sunshine I cannot think of a more relaxed way to spend a Sunday before getting back to prepare for the working week. The Hathaway shouldowner and staff were extremely pleasant and very friendly. I believe that some guests had travelled from Australia as they had heard of the event, they were certainly not disappointed in the least. Well done also to the owners of the Falstaff Experience, Tudorworld who were also there making us feel very. welcome as photos were being taken. This is to me the real Stratford experience. I hope they continue holding charity events of this kind, I will certainly be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickatHathaways, Owner at Hathaway Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for our comments. What a wonderful evening. A new venture for us and I was delighted to see how well it was received by our guests. The Tudor World team were fantastic. We hope to run some more Afternoon Tea with Shakespeare later this year.

Kind regards

Rick Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hathaway Tea Rooms also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Hathaway Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing