We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem outside...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hathaway Tea Rooms

Hathaway Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$46
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Stratford, Hathaway Tea Rooms is one of the town's finest tea rooms, with a delectable range of home cooked dishes on its breakfast and lunch menus, and of course, the iconic Cream Tea and Afternoon Tea. Plus, with a small function room available all day and the option to hire the entire building in the evenings, Hathaway Tea Rooms is fast becoming known as one of the quirkiest function rooms in Stratford! We also have a smoke free, dog friendly garden too with seating for over 50.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem outside...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My mum and I were wondering around aimlessly looking for somewhere to eat and saw this place. From the outside, it looks tiny and we did think 'we'll be the only ones in here!' but actually it's a complete tardis! We were met by Rick (who we discovered is one of the owners) He asked if we wanted to sit outside, in the garden! Given the sunshine, we agreed.

WOW! It's stunning with lots of lush plants. The waitresses were friendly and prompt with our order. (Although my glass of water never did arrive) It was lovely to see them all in nice uniforms too.

We had two panini's which were stuffed full of bacon and brie. Great sized portions and served on nice plates.

Wish we'd had room to sample some of the cakes but we'll have to just go back one day. (it's a shame we don't live nearer!)

Got chatting to Rick after and was nice to hear about the 'uniformity' that they're instilling in the staff.

I've debated between 4 and 5* and the only reason I've gone with 4 is, I wish it was more obvious that there's an outside. It would have been nice for someone to check throughout the meal if we wanted any more drinks too.

I think it won't be long though before everyone knows what they're doing and word of mouth will bring people from far and wide.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveandlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    292
    67
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
196 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The tea was so good we bought some.....and a pot to brew it in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A proper tea room, serving a good variety of uniquely blended teas. We originally just had a brew in the sheltered garden but we were so impressed by the tea and friendly service we returned for lunch. This time we sat indoors in the traditional beamed tea room and had cottage pie, chicken and leek pie and quiche with strudel to follow. All delicious. And of course tea for four.

Our friends were so impressed with the Snow Love blend they bought some to take home and one of the London Tea Company infuser tea pots to brew it in.

The staff are really smart in their black and white uniforms and all so friendly, particularly Rick who took the time to chat and made us feel really welcome. Hathaways is spotlessly clean, it was a pleasure to eat there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

On the service alone, I'll rate this charming tea rooms, ten out of ten.
It's been a while since our last visit and the moment we stepped inside, we were warmly greeted, offered a few different places to sit including the charming garden. The waitress was attentive and clearly enjoying her role.
Everyone else that arrived in earshot also enjoyed the same enthusiastic welcome. This young lady is clearly an asset to "The Tearooms" and yes, the food we had was very good and, proper English tea! Can't wait to visit them again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Me and a friend came for a sit down and some lunch. Once inside you could almost forget it is located on the busy high street. Traditional decor within, plenty of seats in and out.
We sat outside which was lovely and spacious and on a very sunny day, had some shady areas.
Food was lovely (would recommend the Big 5 Smoothie!), and reasonably priced. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovesummerdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hathaway's was once a favourite for the biker festival The Bulldog Bash for a fry up every morning, but when they changed hands a few years ago the full english wasn't on the menu. Me and my husband thought we would give it another go on the way up north, and we were not disappointed! Gorgeous fry up, exactly what we needed and miles better than stopping off at a motorway service station. Beautiful old building as you would expect in Stratford, with a lovely garden we actually had afternoon tea in on the way back south! Plenty of food, really friendly service, and you must try their Hathaway blend for a truly perfect cup of tea! A must visit if you are in Stratford.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vintageabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hathaway Tea Rooms also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Hathaway Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing