We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food in a gorgeous restaurant”

Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: European, British, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loxley’s Restaurant & Wine Bar is an independently owned, family run business based in the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful food in a gorgeous restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This restaurant has just got the whole package nice staff, beautiful location and premises with stunningly gorgeous fine dining food and drink. Nothing is too much to ask and I would definitely visit again. Shame its not closer to me or i would go more often but well worth a trip! Thank you for a lovely lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Steph F.

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your time with us at Loxley's recently.

I am very pleased that you had a very pleasant Lunch with us ,perhaps next time you visit Stratford you may have time for Dinner with us ?.

In any event,you will be very welcome and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,927
    517
    129
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant pre theatre meal a few days ago. Although we weren't particularly excited by the specials the main menu was very good with the duck particularly tasty. The restaurant is well placed for getting to the RSC. The service is friendly and efficient.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loshalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Loshalp.

Thank you for choosing Loxley's for your Pre Theatre Dinner.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us,and hope that you also enjoyed the Theatre production.

Thank you for your compliments on your chosen dishes and service.

Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lancashire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“The reviews are right - it's a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a lovely pre theatre meal here. I had steak with the blue cheese sauce which was sensational and my wife had linguine, also excellent but so much she couldn't finish it. The service was excellent and the drinks fairly priced - no mark up on the 250 ml glasses of wine compared to the price of full bottles. We've noticed how the quality of Stratford restaurants at the top end of the Tripadvisor reviews has been improving over recent years - the competition is intense. If Loxleys can sustain thus standard they'll have little difficulty holding on to their current rating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilolwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Dilolwa.

This is a very generous review - thank you for holding Loxley's in such high regard.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our steaks,we only use the best local supplier with whom we have a great partnership, also pleased to hear that your wife also enjoyed her Linguine dish.

I am also pleased that you feel the quality of Stratford's Restaurants have improved in recent years, this is great news for anyone visiting or living in Stratford,you are quite correct,competition is intense and we feel it should be,this is good for the consumer and also the restaurant as it ensures we are all kept on our toes !

Very many thanks for taking the time to let us have this review .

Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We went to Loxleys tonight along with my parents having spent the day meandering and theatre going.

Lovely ambiance, great attentive staff, lovely sharing platters (although not huge for the money). The star of the show was my 8oz rib eye steak. Gorgeous. We will be back.

The prices are a bit on the expensive side but I think it's worth it.

Helpful?
Thank ClaireandSteve69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Claire and Steve.

Thank you for choosing to have Dinner with your parents at Loxley's recently.

Thanks for your compliments on our service and that of the ambiance in Loxley's.

I am really very pleased that you say that you feel the prices we charge are" worth it" and that you will return , this is very Important feedback for us.It is our firm belief that regardless of what we pay for whatever we buy it is so important that we all feel we have received " value for money "

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try the sharing platters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A very warm welcome at Loxleys awaited us. We had a lovely little table for two in a secluded area with only 3 tables. The staff couldn't have been more attentive but were not intrusive at all. We had the sharing plate (sorry, can't remember the name of it) with the veggie option, we aren't vegetarian but like the combination of things on this platter. The courgette fritters were amazing, the little cheese kebabs melted in the mouth, it was ALL really delicious as were the desserts. If you're visiting Stratford don't miss this little gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Patty.

Thank you for this lovely review of your time with us at Loxley's recently.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your table location in our little snug and your chosen sharing starter board , from your description I can confirm that you chose the Antipasti board,extremely popular as a starter for 2 to share.

Thanks for your compliments on our service and hopefully we may see you again on future visits to Stratford Upon Avon.

Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing