We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub nice food”
Review of Armouries Arms - CLOSED

Armouries Arms
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Formally the dun cow pathlow. Warm welcoming public house, winter fireside lounge with ample dining area. Selection of 4 local ales to complement home cooked traditional meals and desserts. Served 12pm till 2.30Pm and 6pm till 9pm. Senior Citizens two course meal served every weekday lunch only £8.95 For small functions and meetings a room can be made available. Of road parking, x20 bus route. Childs menu available,dog friendly with treats. Sunday Roast 12 midday till 3pm. Outside patio seating area,
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

New owners look to have done a great job here with a warm welcome and excellent choice of ales and cider. Doggy friendly too. Had the carvery which was fine.

Thank AndyClockwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie b, Owner at Armouries Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub, we are glad you like the changes we have made to our pub we look forward to seeing you again with your dog maybe you will be sat in our new beer garden which sould be finished in a few weeks ( hopefully we get a great summer )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We chanced upon Armouries Arms as we left Stratford's Shakespeare attractions and headed out to Mary Arden's Farm. It's an ideal watering hole, and even though it was a fine day, a log fire created a homely atmosphere. I enjoyed a pint of Butty Bach from the Wye Valley Brewery, even though the pub had an amazing 'buy one, get one free' offer on Okey Cokey. The leather chairs and sofas add to the homely ambience as did a few locals at the bar. The toilets were very clean and both the armoury displays and a choice of magazines to read added a nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie b, Owner at Armouries Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review, and taking the time to do so, we are happy you felt comfortable and relaxed and enjoyed our ales. i am sorry some of your other experiences of Stratford upon Avon was not as expected. hope you call in again and try a few of our choice ales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Called with our friends on way to hotel in. Made very welcome and friendly staff . Ordered only main courses as it was lunch time. Choice was fantastic .we ordered 3 homemade shepherds pies which were delicious and piping hot and gammon and chips which was enormous. Price was reasonable . Only sorry we didn't have time to call again.

Thank planehopper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie b, Owner at Armouries Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy you were so delighted with your meals and service but sad you did not get chance to return, if you return back to Stratford be sure to pop in again and let us no you have review us. we hope you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We went for a early evening meal and couldn't fault the warm friendly greeting from Debbie and Nigel. The menu is varied and well priced. They have a 'shots menu' (picture attached) which is well worth a try! Well done it's nice to get a really personal feel, and hard to achieve!

Thank Tarry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie b, Owner at Armouries Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are happy that you feel our pub is cosy and friendly and that you enjoyed a few of our delightful shots after your meals. we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a drink a few weeks ago on a Friday and ended up eating. Lovely home cooked proper food at reasonable prices. Booked up for family to go at Easter as there's something for everyone on the menu & my other half couldn't stop talking about the dessert menu! Well worth a visit!

1  Thank lauramreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armouries Arms also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Welford-on-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing