We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Character and comfort”
Luxury Shakespeare Lodge Exclusive Hot Tub, Sleeps up to 12, Total of 7 Bedrooms plus 4 Bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury Shakespeare Lodge Exclusive Hot Tub, Sleeps up to 12, Total of 7 Bedrooms plus 4 Bathrooms
Large Luxury Exclusive Hot Tub for your group Heated All Year Round, No Extra Charge, Relaxing & 3 x Separate Lounge Areas, 42in Plasma Tv, Plus additinal TV's, sofa's & occasional fu
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Luxury Shakespeare Lodge Exclusive Hot Tub, Sleeps up to 12, Total of 7 Bedrooms plus 4 Bathrooms
Large Luxury Exclusive Hot Tub for your group Heated All Year Round, No Extra Charge, Relaxing &
3 x Separate Lounge Areas, 42in Plasma Tv, Plus additinal TV's, sofa's & occasional fu
Outside patio area complete with quality garden furniture, seats 12, magnificent views, parking aval
Dining for any occasion, seating up to 12, self cater or outside catering available, well equipped.
Sleeps up to 12, 1 xBedroom Suite, 2 xDouble Bedrooms, 1 x Twin Room en-suite, 3x single bedrooms
Lovely Outside South Facing Terace, Garden Furniture seating up to 12 with table for alfesco dining
Kitchens are well equipped, including dishwashers, washing machines, tumble dryer, fridge, freezers
Quaint beamed features thoughout lodge with Beauiful views from terrace and double bedrooms
Country side location, yet only 5 minutes drive to main town of Stratford-upon-Avon, with easy acces
Quaint beamed features within spacious individually lovely designed cozy rooms of holiday lodge,
Many character features within this special country lodge.
Exra tables, chairs and occasional furniture within the lodge for alternative seating and
Lounge
Large LCD TV
Hot Tub
The Shakespeare Lodge, Stunning location, great for families and large groups and special events,
Large Dining Table, well equipped lodge for self catering or have the option of outside catering
Ground Floor Twin Room
4 x Bathroom facilities (3 x main bathrooms plus bonus of en-suite bedroom. Showers x 4, 1 x bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nwheeler2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Character and comfort”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ideal weekend getaway that suited our group, which included young children. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived, and a starter supply of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits was a pleasant treat after our long journey, before our supermarket shop arrived. The bedrooms are full of character and charm although when you're tall, the shower in the eaves was slightly difficult to stand under.

The three separate cottages meant the families could have a bit of privacy - each having own bathrooms and kitchens - yet come together easily in the main lounge/kitchen.

And the hot tub was a lovely bit of luxury in which we could unwind and have a laugh. The weekend was throughly enjoyed by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
1 review
“Beautiful Get-Away”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

For a girls' pre-Christmas get-away, The Shakespeare Lodge was a great choice. With some great facilities, a beautiful location, and very helpful hosts who met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the lodge, we couldn't have asked for a nicer few days away. The hot tub was an added bonus! Would definitely come again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasshaus
1 review
“2 weeks of heaven.”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have worked in Warwick for the past 2 weeks, working on the market museum, and working very long hours, so my team have been overwhelmed with Shakespeare lodges as we've had the chance to relax after a hard day at the office, the hot tubs and accommodations have been excellent and would recommend this to everyone that either is working down in Warwick or is just looking for a break away from the norm. All in all we have been tret like kings and Antonia from Shakespeare lodges has done everything to accommodate us, I've put a picture up of us all having our own Christmas dinner too. Thank you very much for everything, will be down again soon. Kind regards matt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Midge_A_O
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite the luxury advertised”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Although we enjoyed our stay in Shakespeare Lodge we did not consider that the property was of the standard advertised on your website. Whilst the accommodation was perfectly comfortable, it was not on any assessment “luxury” and we did not consider that there was “maximum entertaining space” nor that “all rooms are decorated and co-ordinate to the highest level”. The room sizes (for a group of 11) especially the dining/seating area in Hamlet was small, particularly compared with similar properties which we have rented.

There were a considerable number of maintenance issues which need addressing:

Juliet Cottage:

This was not “restored to an exceptionally high standard” as stated on the website. There were a number of maintenance issues as follows:

Second bedroom skylight leaking small amounts of water (we were fortunate that we had only one day of rain and were able to take precautions against wet bedding). This is obviously not a recent problem as the ceiling shows signs of damp.
This bedroom was relatively small and not suitable for an adult (hardly one of “7 spacious bedrooms” as advertised).
Chest of drawers handle broken.
Freeview reception inconsistent.

Hamlet Cottage:
The photos for the cottage on the website do not reflect the current furnishings (the table was much bigger and there is an additional bed in the double room). Further, the paintwork was old and peeling. It was not “beautifully decorated and co-ordinated”. The website also advertises an “enclosed courtyard”. Clearly, the very small concrete area at the back of the property (which had no flowers, chairs or any other decoration) cannot be considered as such.

There was a very strong smell of mildew in bathroom and cracked / damp kitchen ceiling suggest seepage from bath/shower (to the point where the bathroom window needed to be opened in February in order to air the room).
The bathroom fittings were old, with slow turning taps. The bathroom chrome was both rusty and dusty. The bathroom sink was cracked.
Freezer compartment in fridge was broken (which meant that there was no freezer available and it dripped water into the fridge).
DVD player broken
Formica furniture (which in itself cannot be considered “luxury”) had a broken handle.
Single bed metal frame camp bed (not what we expected)
Paintwork was very old and scrubby and needed to be re-done.
Plastic bowed table (stylish banquet table?)
Draining board didn't drain
Loud fan noise by boiler which was hidden behind a board. No explanation for this and no ability to switch off.
Hoover broken
TV Mount on the wall in lounge potentially dangerous, especially with young children.

Falstaff Cottage:
Again, the website description of “spacious large open-plan living/dining-room and kitchen. A stable door opens to an enclosed courtyard” is not reflective of the actual accommodation. In terms of maintenance, the sofa leg broken and had to be propped up with a brick and there was a broken shaving mirror which needs to be replaced.

Overall:

We would have reconsidered our booking had we read the recent reviews on trip advisor and we are concerned that the property was advertised in a manner which implied that it was of a much higher standard than it actually was.

Having rented a number of properties in the UK, we were disappointed that Shakespeare Lodge did not live up to our expectations and trust that you will take on board the above comments and take the necessary steps to remedy the various issues which we have raised.

The above comments were emailed to the owner about a month ago but no response was forthcoming

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomia2016
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not luxury and therefore overpriced - jacuzzi doesn't compensate!”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was wonderful to benefit from the newly installed central heating- without which I would have given 2 stars. This may have been a luxury accommodation when first refurbished, but too much time has passed to continue to merit the term and the decor is tired. The sofas are distinctly uncomfortable for continued use; all the showers bar one leaked into the rooms below. For a group booking, the large table provision is poor - the two tables put together were uneven, and half the group can't put their knees comfortably under the table. The people managing the property are friendly and willing to please- new kettles had just been provided following feedback from a previous user- but it doesn't all add up to a luxury accommodation as described. Having a jacuzzi, whilst a pleasant addition, didn't compensate for a generally under-standard experience. And personally, I find tiled flooring in all living areas cold and unpleasant. Fine for kitchen areas but unwelcome in lounge areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Uncomfortable sofas
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments.
We do not pretend that ?The Shakespeare Lodge? is the height of luxury or a super modern high class accommodation.
What the property offers is good quality self-catering accommodation for up to 12 people in a beautiful farm location, where guests can enjoy their event or holiday exclusively for their group.
The property has hundreds of people a year stay and it is full every weekend and many weekdays too.
As you can imagine, it does have its fair share of wear and tear as you would expect with this many people partying/holidaying day in day out.
To that end, the property has to be functional, well equipped and able to deal with a large number of guests staying.
Refurbishment is a constant job in this property and as you have already pointed out, we have just spent �10,000 on a brand new central heating system to replace the previous electric heaters to give our guests a nice warm and cosy stay.
We are continuously replacing furniture, electrical items and housewares. In the last 12 months, sofa?s, beds, washing machines, dishwashers along with kettles, microwaves and glass and cook ware have been replaced on numerous occasions along with much decorating in between guests.
Refurbishment is continuous throughout the year and to keep it at a good standard all year round.
We would love to spend thousands of pounds each time we replace the sofas so that they are more comfortable for your continued use, but realistically due to the nature of the property putting high quality designer furniture in would be totally uneconomical due to the huge amount of use that every item of furniture receives.
The two leaks you mention were from the newly installed boilers and not the showers as they had literally only been commissioned the morning of your arrival and cannot be overtightened. They have since been adjusted. We apologise for this and did offer to send someone to look at it when you advised us.
I agree with you that the two tables in the dining room pushed together are not the perfect scenario but they are the only tables we have been able to find so far that will seat 12 people all together in that space. We have looked at many other options and have not yet found anything else suitable. We will continue our search.
I am sorry that you do not like tiles in the downstairs areas but again, we get many walkers and we are based in a semi-rural farm location and to put carpet downstairs would be futile. All of the upstairs areas do have carpet and even these have to be professionally cleaned on a regular basis. The lounges although tiled, do all have rugs to compensate.
I cannot agree that the property is an understated experience and certainly cannot agree that it is overpriced.
A mid-week break for 12 guests can be booked for less than �35 per person per night or even less if you are lucky enough to book a late deal with us.
Where else can a group get together in accommodation booked exclusively for their group, in a beautiful location complete with stunning views and sunsets. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, free use of the Large Luxury Hot Tub again exclusively for use by their group only, for less than �35 per person per night.
I would say that was an absolute bargain and is one of the reasons that the property is full all year round. We pride ourselves on offering excellent value for money. We also welcome and offer guided tours of our properties by appointment prior to you booking to ensure that your chosen property is perfect for your event and your personal requirements.
The vast majority of groups that stay in this property have a fantastic time and are there to enjoy themselves and the facilities. This is backed up by the fact that over 35% of our business is repeat business, many of whom have been staying with us every year for years on end. Numerous regular guests have become personal friends.
Possibly this property was not the right property for your group and perhaps a boutique hotel or something similar would have suited you better. Everybody has different expectations and requirements.
We do however thank you very much for staying and we are pleased you liked the Jacuzzi Hot Tub.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel J
Coverack, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very tired, needs some money investing in properties”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As per the review in February, nothing has been fixed or replaced.
Sofas and chairs have collapsed, beds not comfortable, kettles with no filters, small fridge and only one freezer for 3 houses, showers run boiling hot and freezing cold, décor tired, ovens slow, wi fi slow or not available, human waste found on the floor of the toilet.
I reported the issues when I returned to be told I should have reported it at the time. But unless the owner can magic a new sofa, improve wi fi etc....what difference would it make.
As there was limited no wi fi I had no contact number and no books in the properties to help with any issues.
Far too expensive for all the issues we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing