We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Giggling Squid Stratford Upon Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
England
Level Contributor
159 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fantastic meal in lovely surroundings. The food is beautiful to look at as well as eat. The prices are comparable with gastro pub prices so I was able to relax and enjoy selecting my meal. I chose thai mussels followed by tamarind duck and both were delightful. Top marks go for styling and presentation. Two niggles though...my husband ordered lamb but was given chicken in error. Once the waitress knew of the mistake, it was corrected quickly. My other niggle may be purely cultural but our first course plates were cleared away (well three anyway) before one of us had finished eating. Personally I didn't like this and I felt we were being rushed. However, the food was a delight and I would not hesitate to recommend this charming restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    271
    86
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Duck spring rolls were a fabulous starter, followed by lamb shank dish (can't remember the name!) and chicken dish, also can't remember but never mind the name, it's all in the flavour - superb!!! excellent portion sizes. Be sure to check what comes with your choice as I ordered rice unnecessarily as my lamb shank dish came with potatoes and vegetables. For my personal taste, the veggies were a little undercooked but the service was excellent and overall the food was very good. Wish this was in my home town, I'd go every week!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sightseeing day in Stratford-Upon-Avon and then lovely dinner at Giggling Squid. We were a hungry group of four and this was the best place we could have chosen. Our starters were delicious; mine tom kha soup, very tasty, although I regretted not ordering the spicier one, the rest had salt and pepper squid, moo ping and chicken satay. Then the mains, mine red duck curry, very good, however couldn't finish due to the duck being very fat, the rest had lamb shank, paneang chicken and sea bass pad chai. Everyone was truly satisfied and we had no space for desserts. This is really good and highly recommended place to eat. The bill came to £109 for all the food, two beers, lemonade and rose. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great everything”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I took my mum for a meal here and everything was just fabulous. The staff were very polite and the food was just great everything was amazing. We noticed a table next to us had their food delivered and it smelt a little burnt before the staff gave it to the table they noticed this and took t away straight away. Great service!

Helpful?
Thank Mariasav84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lunch Time Thai Tapas”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A new experience but a very enjoyable one.My wife and I both loved the different dishes that were served.The staff were friendly and explained the dishes which were all delicious a little to much for lunch time.My only small complaint would be the service charge that was added,i found this annoying as i always leave a tip and it would been more than the charge.
If i was ever in Stratford again i don't think i would visit here again because of this although the food was good.Perhaps they should look at this charge.


Dennis W

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giggling Squid Stratford Upon Avon also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Giggling Squid Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing