We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
US$126
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$197
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$167
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$735
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$152
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$134
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$134
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$220
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
179
42
10
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
42
10
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhost pauleggs benedictgrove roadfull englishtwin roomtown centrechoice of cerealsfront of the houselarge bathroomguest househome from homeexcellent locationlovely roomstayed here for one nightcentral locationtoilet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a good B&B. It isn't the most modern one, but it's clean. The position is perfect to visit the city, you can go everywhere in a reasonable walk time.
There is a parking if you have a car, a bit small so you need to be a good driver ;)

The breakfast was very good and there is a some choice.

We was a group of 4, 2 of us slept in a twin room on first floor. They sleep very well. But the 2 others was in the double room on ground floor (room #5), who is next to the owner part of the house. They heard noise until midnight (TV, voice, ...) .. ! We had to leave in the early morning so their night wasn't very long.. So avoid room #5 to be sure to have a quiet night!

Room Tip: Avoid room #5!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipotlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket_111, Owner at Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

I'm very sorry about the sleep problem in room 5 it's the first time a guest as con planed about it in 26 years of running the guest house. Parking we do have two parking places on the front of Hamlethouse which some guest per fur, we are on the main!! road in the centre of Stratford. Also we have a private car park at the back of Hamlethouse so guest have the opposition were to park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have just returned from the last of many stays in this charming very very friendly Guesthouse. Every time I stay I receive a very warm welcome, no matter what time I arrive. Always feels like home, I would never even consider staying anywhere else in the beautiful Stratford Upon Avon. Thanks for always making me so welcome :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Ann_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

As parents to a 20 month old we felt it was time for a break. We booked to stay for one night in an en-suite room. We felt welcome as soon as we pulled onto the drive and this feeling was increased as we were welcomed into the house. COSY! We loved it! It felt homely and welcoming.
We had room number 5 which was lovely. Bed was comfy and the shower is lovely, not juts a dribble like in some places! What a convenient location, a five minute walk and in the town center - lovely!
We were asked what time we would like breakfast, not told we had to had it at a certain time. The food - delicious, piping hot and fresh and the home made jam was delightful.
Overall 10/10 and we will be going back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie030887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We booked a 2 night break, and we loved the house! Very clean and modern double room at the queit rear - huge bathroom!
Breakfast was very tasty and included home made preserve
The owner was really helpful and charming.
Perfect spot for walking into the town and exploring without having to take your car.
We will return!

Room Tip: The double at the back of the house is lovely - only suitable for a short stay as no wardrobes
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

After staying here with some friends and my boyfriend in September for a friend's wedding near-by, and taking up a few of the rooms, I returned again with my boyfriend because we found it very affordable (£50 - for that price might as well stay in Stratford and enjoy the night out rather than get a taxi home for £30 in the small hours) very welcoming, with Paul the owner being nice and friendly, and the house itself is in a great location a stones throw from the centre of Stratford (you can walk in within 10 mins). Paul told us he's been running the B&B for 26 years, and it shows because all the basics are right, nice and clean, nice and warm, comfortable,and a cracking English breakfast which isn't fatty or dripping with oil, it's really nicely presented and just the right portion size - and Paul's happy to keep the rounds of toast coming if you're a little peckish (or have a hang over like we did both times!) It has a nice history too, Paul was telling us during breakfast that prior to he and his wife owning it, it was the home of a costume maker for the Theatre, who had lots of costumes stored in all the rooms - so you get to soak up the character and charm of a little B&B that's been part of Stratford's theatrical history. Nice artwork in the dining room too; a large oil painting by a local painter!

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in room 4 the first time (double and single bed - nice size for a couple, good if you a child with you) and downstairs in room 1 the second time, a little smaller but absolutely fine for a couple. Nice and warm in the winter!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews