We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a lovely B&B located near downtown and less than a 10 minute walking from Stratford train station run by Paul who works hard there for 26 years.
We were given en-suite room #1 which was gorgeous. Probably the best one in the house. It faces the backyard what means you will not have sleep disturbance. In fact, birds tweeting may be your natural alarm-clock. Bathroom was huge and well equipped. Notwithstanding the loppy mattress, we have no complaints.
Breakfast is taken place in a cozy room on the main floor. It is cooked by Paul, so if you are veggie or have any restriction, make him know it.
Paul himself is a great host. He provides useful information on arrival and either during the breakfast. He is attentive not just on the chek-in but during check-out as well.
I would surely stay there if I come back to Stratford.

Room Tip: Room #1 for a more private stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    35
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
129
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Hamlet House B&B is a great place to stay for a good value, friendly & interesting host, cheerful breakfast room, and location on the west side of Stratford, about 5 blocks from Shakespeare's Birthplace. I enjoyed my second stay, as well as the first (May 2011, a year before).

A guest at breakfast spoke of her upcoming interview in Stratford, as she had arrived by train, handy to Hamlet House B&B. My friend and I had arrived by car. Parking is available for 2-3 cars right in front of the B&B, though actually parking a longer car can be a bit of a challenge.

We had the twin ensuite at the front of the building, the same room I had previously occupied. Beds were comfy, tea-making supplies present, and drawers available in a dresser and chest of drawers. What I missed was shelves/closet for hanging up clothes and storing suitcases, though one could place them under the bed. If traffic bothers you at night, I'd ask for one of the other 3 rooms (This is the only room right by the street.).

Taking the short-cut across the parking lot just down the street, we were only 3 blocks away from a terrific pub, though a bit small (reservations at busy times would be good, if accepted). It was easy to locate on a corner, across the street from a historical monument to the queen. The food was excellent, and service was friendly, though a bit slow at a bustling, busy time. Another 2-3 blocks away was Shakespeare's birthplace. If you wish to stay right by the river, it is on the other side (east side of Stratford), but it is only about a 6-8 block stroll straight over to the river, as Stratford is quite compact.

Room Tip: The three rooms away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This B&B had all you need for a pleasant stay in Stratford- 5 mins from the town centre, comfy bed, tasty breakfast, and the owner Paul was very helpful and friendly- obviously very passionate about his business. We stayed in the downstairs double room, which was an adequate size, It was ensuite, although it didn't have a bathroom- the toilet and shower were both in seperate small cubicles off the bedroom (so you stepped out of the shower cubicle straight into the bedroom). Not ideal but it did provide ensuite facilities in a limited space. A good stay for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Downstairs double room didn't have seperate ensuite bathroom but did have private toilet and sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firenze12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just spent 3 days with Paul over the Jubilee weekend - what a nice chap! Very proud of his immaculately clean B&B, and quite rightly so. Fresh flowers in the hallway and on the breakfast room tables. I think there could be room for a total of 8 guests and at breakfast time Paul comes into his own, providing a jolly and informative service at front of house as well as delicious food for breakfast. Full english/scrambled egg and salmon/eggs benedict/poached etc and I can thoroughly recommend Paul's omelettes. There is also home made jam on the table with plenty of toast! 5 mins from the centre of town and the railway. Towel and soft flannel supplied!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Lovely place to stay. Would recommend to others. Will definitely stay at Hamlet House again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a good B&B. It isn't the most modern one, but it's clean. The position is perfect to visit the city, you can go everywhere in a reasonable walk time.
There is a parking if you have a car, a bit small so you need to be a good driver ;)

The breakfast was very good and there is a some choice.

We was a group of 4, 2 of us slept in a twin room on first floor. They sleep very well. But the 2 others was in the double room on ground floor (room #5), who is next to the owner part of the house. They heard noise until midnight (TV, voice, ...) .. ! We had to leave in the early morning so their night wasn't very long.. So avoid room #5 to be sure to have a quiet night!

Room Tip: Avoid room #5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipotlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket_111, Owner at Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
I'm very sorry about the sleep problem in room 5 it's the first time a guest as con planed about it in 26 years of running the guest house. Parking we do have two parking places on the front of Hamlethouse which some guest per fur, we are on the main!! road in the centre of Stratford. Also we have a private car park at the back of Hamlethouse so guest have the opposition were to park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK ( Lowestoft )
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have just returned from the last of many stays in this charming very very friendly Guesthouse. Every time I stay I receive a very warm welcome, no matter what time I arrive. Always feels like home, I would never even consider staying anywhere else in the beautiful Stratford Upon Avon. Thanks for always making me so welcome :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Ann_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#15 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salamander Guest House
Salamander Guest House
#26 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aidan Guest House
Aidan Guest House
#16 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#8 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arden Park Guest House
Arden Park Guest House
#36 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 52 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been established for 25 years. Hamlet House is a traditional quaint, red-brick Victorian Town House retaining most of it's original features. The Dining room has a wonderful fireplace with tile surround. We describe Hamlet as a "Bijou Guest House" deriving from the French for "Small Jewel". The accommodation consists of four double/twin rooms. All of the rooms are en-suite and one can accommodate a family of four. All rooms contain soap, hand cream, face cloths, towels, tea/coffee and colour TV. Free parking to all guests is available. We are the nearest guest house in Grove Road to the town Centre and only ten minutes' from the famous RSC. Current Theatre details (NB We will be delighted to obtain). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing