We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wins the prize for most creative ensuite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here for one night while attending a play and visiting Warwick Castle. Very convenient to the station and to downtown. We had the room on the ground floor (#5, maybe?). We read comments about it being noisy, but it wasn't. Our room was quite nice, with a view of the back garden. Breakfast was great and included hash browns!

Paul was very knowledgeable and helped with a discount coupon to the restaurant where we had dinner and information about local busses, since we took the bus to Warwick and back and onto Chipping Campden the following morning.

The creative ensuite? Shower in one corner, toilet (enclosed) in a second corner, sink in a third. It worked fine for us, but may not be for everyone; sounds like other rooms have a more conventional layout.

Room Tip: See above; ground floor room doesn't have a traditional ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Couldn't be more convenient. A few minutes from the station, and easy walking to all the amenities of Stratford. Paul is an excellent host, with an extensive local knowledge. He also provides an excellent breakfast, with home-made jam,local produce and coffee as it should be made. Cosy ensuite rooms, though American visitors would find them tiny.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeeTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A delightful b&b run by Paul. Superb rooms (especially Room 1) and the breakfast is to die for !
Paul can even take you up in his plane for an arial view of Stratford and Warwickshire !
This b&b is excellent value for money and a superb base for a visit to Stratford.

Room Tip: Room No 1 excellent bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingston3468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

the answer is a definate screaming YES!! A charming, beautifully decorated small but perfectly formed Guest House. The owner Paul greeted us as friends and that's definately how we felt when we left. Our room (room 1) was excellent. Well presented, clean, warm, wonderfully comfortable bed, with a large glamourous bathroom. It was also really quiet during the night which is hard to find in smaller Guest Houses. Having free parking is just another fab feature and the breakfast is the icing on the cake. Not too much, all perfectly cooked to order and homemade jam - superb. The only downside was we only had one night here but we have just booked for next year for a long weekend. It's location is spot on for the RSC theatres and for the town centre. We did the Ghost Walk around the town which again was wonderful and we'd highly recommend to any one.
This was a real lucky find and I can't praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had a bedroom facing the backyard. It is very quiet even during daytime. It has a large bathroom, almost as large as the tiny bedroom we had in some hotels.
The breakfast is another highlight. The owner Paul makes his raspberry jam for you.
The town is not large, you can go to most attractions almost by walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KayJinLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hamlet House is a gem for those lucky enough to stay. Lynn and Paul couldn't have done more to make us feel at home with comfortable beds, fluffy towels and a fantastic fried breakfast in the morning. The rooms were cosy and spotless. The location was perfect for the theatre weekend we had booked, being just 5 minutes walk from the theatre the beautiful riverbank. Excellent value for money, especially as we could park the car for free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Lovely friendly little guest house they can't do enough for you. Free Parking and once you arrive you don't need your car again as the main attractions are so close. The room we had was cosy and clean and the bathroom spotless. The breakfast really hit the spot and set us up for the day recommend the home made raspberry jam. Great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clurw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
0.7 mi away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
6.3 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,567 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 52 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £34 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been established for 25 years. Hamlet House is a traditional quaint, red-brick Victorian Town House retaining most of it's original features. The Dining room has a wonderful fireplace with tile surround. We describe Hamlet as a "Bijou Guest House" deriving from the French for "Small Jewel". The accommodation consists of four double/twin rooms. All of the rooms are en-suite and one can accommodate a family of four. All rooms contain soap, hand cream, face cloths, towels, tea/coffee and colour TV. Free parking to all guests is available. We are the nearest guest house in Grove Road to the town Centre and only ten minutes' from the famous RSC. Current Theatre details (NB We will be delighted to obtain). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing