We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 days in Stratford, May-June 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stratford Alehouse

The Stratford Alehouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 days in Stratford, May-June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

REAL ALE LOVERS LOOK HERE!!!!
Pubs beware! This place is taking all your customers! And guess why?
- Fantastic local ales on small barrels. 4-5 different going each night.
- Relaxed atmosphere and grown up well behaving customers.
- Great deals on fizz and wine by the glass or even cider
But you really want to come here for tasting the fantastic ales!
Hopefully they will get a permit to stay open until 11pm, even on Sundays
Very friendly bar keepers and excellent service.
This is a good reason to move to Stratford - permanently
If I didn't have to go home, I would probably still be sitting here enjoying!
Definitely coming back! Do try to get there early. At weekdays it is crowded at 5.30.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    21
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stratford Alehouse - A friendly place full of real ale, locals who welcome tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a place where you can come and sit down and have a very fine pint of real ale. You can sit and read the papers by yourself or enjoy getting into a conversation with a number of the regulars.
There is always a wide variety of ales on over the week, plus the regular 'Pigs Ear' all of which are at a very reasonable price.
No music, frills or any other distraction to stop you deciding on which beer to drink. Wine and other soft drinks are available for those who are not educated in the finer qualities of real ale - but it will not be held against you.
Bill and Phil are a very friendly duo who run the establishment

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Micky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real ale paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

One of the best secrets of Stratford-upon-Avon. Always a good selection of Real Ales and Ciders.There is Wines and Procecco for those who don't like Real Ales. A friendly team run this establishment and for Stratford the prices are very reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Small bar, serving excellent beer, to good quality, at a fair price. No music, no fruit machines, just good beer and good conversation! My fave bar in Stratford when I visit the folks - which we had one at home!

Helpful?
Thank trh217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best pub in Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I belatedly came across this fantastic little micro pub half way through my holiday, so glad I did. Very easy to miss but, if you do, you'll be sorry. Great range of ales, good service and knowledgeable staff. Should be in Camra's Good Beer Guide next time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stratford Alehouse also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Stratford Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing