We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and quite place...highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monk's Barn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monk's Barn Farm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and quite place...highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The farm is a lovely place to spend a relaxing week end. It is immersed in the green of the countryside and has a great location if you want to have a tour in the Cotswold area.
The room is very nice and clean. The farm is surrounded by fields full of sheep and lambs.
The owners are really nice and helpful and the breakfast was amazing.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GennyCecchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Logan, UT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Monk's Barn Farm was a fantastic place to stay. A super big Thank You to Mrs. Meadows and those who made it such a pleasant and happy memory. The food and hospitality was first rate, and the rooms were beautifully clean, tidy, and comfortable. A definite home-run find, and we will certainly stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Friendly host, Really tops rooms with en suite and a full a la carte English breakfast. Close to Stratford on an immaculate working farm. We were allocated the annexe, which is adjacent andsuited us admirably (3 couples) with easy parking. We were lucky enough to enjoy 3 nights, with Rita and Bill most helpful in locating nice pubs providing reasonable priced evening meal. We are older generation, and were disappointed in Stratford town, which seems to be a perpetual slow moving car park. But easy access to Offenham, Evesham and Stow on the Wold and other more pleasant market towns. Hope to return to Monks Barn Farm.

Room Tip: The annexe was lovely, and I would assume the rooms in the main house would be of similar high stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEELJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

lovely location overlooking farmland, and grazing sheep. Only a few miles from Stratford On Avon we where placed in the annex just a few strides from the farmhouse where breakfast was served, if we had been unlucky and it had rained it would have been ok as a brolly was provided in the annex nice touch i thought. The room was spotlessly clean with good quality bed linen, breakfast was hearty served by Rita who was lovely, and very efficient. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dendy355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
294 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the caravan site. Very understanding people. We had a family problem, and therefore couldn't arrive at the agreed time, therefore they stayed up to welcome us late in the evening and guided us to our pitch after dark.
We stayed in the Fieldbarn with electric hookup. Level field and plenty of space between caravans. They had a toilet and shower block, information point and cakes and eggs for sale.
This site is within 10 minutes drive from Stratford Upon Avon and there is a footpath that takes you to Clifford Chambers. It's a 20 minutes walk through a field and across a footbridge. Nice walk and a good pub in Clifford Chambers called New Inn as well that serves food and has free Wifi.
This is a working farm, and farm smells are expected. It was nice to see the farmer working on his tractor and treating the sheep with the help of his sheepdog.
This is a Caravan Club CL site but with an extra bonus of a toilet and shower block and only for £15 a night.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place is a working sheep farm that also maintains and breeds endangered species of sheep. The animals are beautiful, as is the country.
Rita was our hostess, My husband needed to refrigerate his medication, and she carried a refrigerator to our room! Our room was small, so she opened up an adjoining room so that we would have more space for our suitcases. We could not have asked for better service. The rooms are not gorgeous, but they are comfortable, as are the beds. After all you don't go to a sheep farm expecting to stay in a palace. Frankly I would prefer to see all these animals. It's conveniently located to Stratford-on-Avon, yet worlds away from any place that seems "touristy". It is authentic. So is the hospitality.
The breakfasts were wonderful. I cannot say enough great things about the hospitality that was given to us, or the comfort of our room with the sheep sounds every now and then during the evening hours. On the property is a beautifully restored Elizabethan barn, complete with thatched roofing. Thatched roofing is functional, and it is also an art-form.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin7333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Have been to many hotels and guest houses in Stratford when going to the RSC. We are really pleased to have found Monk's Barn Farm. We have stayed in much more palatial rooms but absolutely fine. Rita is an excellent hostess who cooks a lovely breakfast and the location is super. Very reasonable - a real find.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank profectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
4.4 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
5.2 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.1 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk's Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk's Barn Farm

Property: Monk's Barn Farm
Address: Monks Barn Farm Shipston Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Stratford-upon-Avon
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing