We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish”
Review of White-Sails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White-Sails
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We visit Stratford on and off, like to go to the theatre. This was our 3rd trip there in the last 2 years. Usually we have stayed at large hotels, but this time decided to stay at a small B&B. I think White Sails only has 4 or 5 rooms. it is 5 star and deservedly so. The decor, fixtures and fittings are all top quality and the bathroom was totally splendid. The bed and pillows were comfortable (we are very fussy about pillows so many establishments are let down by poor bedding, pillows in particular). The breakfast was lovely (apart from the door step thick toast, we did not like that... might be an idea to ask people if they want medium or thick toast. We meant to ask for it to be cut thinner on our second morning but forgot. I'm sure they would have obliged so this was our own fault) The owners could not do enough for you but were a little over formal (for us) calling us Sir and Madam. When you are in someone's home I think it needs to be a little less formal and more friendly. But they were lovely and this is a very picky thing to mention. Everything else was splendid and we would definitely stay there again. We had the ground floor room with the conservatory and it was lovely to have a sitting room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gajeckyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for White-Sails
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We loved White Sails! We stayed here in May 2013 with our two grown children and their spouses for 3 nights while visiting Stratford-upon-Avon and the nearby Cotswolds. Everything here is truly perfection. The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are elegant and delicious, and the hosts are gracious and friendly. There is a very pretty gathering room on the main floor with lots of travel info and maps and even sherry available for guests – a nice touch. Also, unlike many places in England, the bathrooms at White Sails are quite large and grand – with oversized shower heads and lots of water pressure – loved this! Everything about our stay at White Sails was first class – Thank you, Phillip & Chiung-Wen! We concur with the website…White Sails truly exceeded all our expectations for quality and service!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights whilst we visited Shakespeare's birthplace and Blenheim Palace and we can't fault it. The room was great and the bed was very comfortable.
Homemade bread both mornings along with homemade brownies and muffins. Loved having fresh milk in the bedroom fridge as well.
Have already recommended it to family and already contemplating a return visit.

Best B&B I've stayed in!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon. We had come to Stratford Upon Avon to meet with our friends and go to the CAMRA beer festival (which it is the perfect location for! Literally 5mins walk). We were greeted by Philip (Host) on arrival and his lovely manner instantly sets the tone for this excellent B&B. The room we stayed in was Warwick. It was perfect, beautiful iron 4 poster bed and everything is literally perfectly presented and beautifully clean. There was a fantastic selection of drinks, plus a fridge (which was SILENT! So impressed with that). The bed was very comfortable. As for the bathroom, well, I was rather astounded with how perfect this was. It was so light and airy and just so perfectly spotless. The rolltop bath is great for relaxing and a lovely addition to the bathroom.
Breakfast was impressive too - a great selection, all to an exceptionally high standard (Including homemade brownies and flapjacks!) Both Philip and Chiung-Wen were wonderful hosts, welcoming and warm and very attentive and willing to help and advise on the local area. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There was a greaMy husband and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon. We had come to Stratford Upon Avon to meet with our friends and go to the CAMRA beer festival (which it is the perfect location for! Literally 5mins walk). We were greeted by Philip (Host) on arrival and his lovely manner instantly sets the tone for this excellent B&B. The room we stayed in was Warwick. It was perfect, beautiful iron 4 poster bed and everything is literally perfectly presented and beautifully clean. There was a fantastic selection of drinks, plus a fridge (which was SILENT! So impressed with that). The bed was very comfortable. As for the bathroom, well, I was rather astounded with how perfect this was. It was so light and airy and just so perfectly spotless. The rolltop bath is great for relaxing and a lovely addition to the bathroom.
Breakfast was impressive too - a great selection, all to an exceptionally high standard (Including homemade brownies and flapjacks!) Both Philip and Chiung-Wen were wonderful hosts, welcoming and warm and very attentive and willing to help and advise on the local area. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There was a great atmosphere in the B&B, lots of happy guests!
I have absolutely no reservation in recommending this excellent B&B, infact, we've already recommended it to our friends who we know stay in Stratford Upon Avon. We are DEFINITELY going to return! Thankyou to Phillip and Chiung-Wen, you run a truly first class B&B to be proud of and you made the end of our honeymoon memorable. Many Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OliveGreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in the Stratford Room and the room is very tastefully decorated. The hosts, Phillip and Chiung-wen, were friendly and very attentive to our needs.

Will definitely recommend this b&b to anyone visiting Stratford-upon-avon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a really nice clean comfortable B&B with everything you need to relax and unwind after a long journey and the bathroom just amazed us, the interior designing is just gorgeous - and the breakfast is beautifully presented with selections we did not expect that were just delicious and home baked , just perfect ! Thankyou to our hosts for making our stay the best in our journey through the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed there for one night. The moment we stepped into the room, we were impressed with the room design and bathroom. Breakfast is first class! Service is first class as well! The bed is very comfortable. Thumbs up! I would recommend this place to my friends if there were to visit Stratford Upon Avon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerome329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,803 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White-Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White-Sails

Address: 85 Evesham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £99 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — White-Sails 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White-Sails is Stratford upon Avon's 5* Gold Award Luxury Guest House. Featured in The Michelin Guide and Good Hotel Guide. All rooms have air-conditioning, silent fridges with fresh milk and mineral water, flat screen tv's, wi-fi access, etc., etc. On site parking and walking distance to the Theatre/town centre. Chic, boutique accommodation where your comfort is our only priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your White-Sails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White-Sails Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing