We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem”
Review of White-Sails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White-Sails
Certificate of Excellence
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A little late with this review but our experience here was just too good to miss the opportunity to make some well justified comments. We stayed in the Stow room in August 2013 and were warmly welcomed by Phillip and Chieng Wen. It was the second last day of our eight week trip to the UK and we definitely think we saved the best for last. The room was spacious and well appointed and a lot of effort had been made to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Anne Hathaway's Cottage is within walking distance as was 'The Bell' were we had an excellent pub meal. Breakfast was something special - plentiful, beautifully prepared and presented. If only we had more time we would have stayed longer. We are not easily pleased but The White-Sails definitely hit the mark. We will be back in the UK for another trip this coming summer and if we can arrange our itinerary to suit The White-Sails will most certainly be on our radar. Thank you to our hosts for a great stay and fitting end to our holiday.

Room Tip: The Stow Room (where we stayed) is on the front (road side) of the building but traffic noise was NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank takichum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
614
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend,Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have stayed at a number of b&bs in Stratford and this is not the cheapest but is by far the best.
A huge bed, lovely bathroom and spotlessly clean. I've given 4 stars instead of 5 because the breakfast was, at best average.
We will stay here next time we come back to Stratford.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Stratford.......lovely bed and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A weekend away and lucky to have tickets to see Richard II at the RSC. Our third visit to White Sails- each time with different owners. The new owners have maintained the high standards. Rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife & I stayed midweek on our way back from Scotland to Dorset. We have stayed in Stratford-upon-Avon a few times before, but will definitely be making White Sails our first choice for future visits. On arrival we received a very warm welcome, and the room was of the highest standard. After a 7 1/2 hour drive it was lovely to find a well stocked drinks fridge in the room & nibbles. The bed was big & very comfortable, the bathroom was spotless with good supply of towels, flannels & soaps. The room also had air conditioning which is perfect for controlling your own personal room temperature. Breakfast was delicious and a huge choice was offered. The new owners are doing a fantastic job, thank you very much for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

My wife & I decided to visit Stratford-upon-Avon for our 20th wedding anniversary. I wanted somewhere nice to stay for a couple of nights and, based on previous Trip Advisor reviews, I selected White Sails. It fulfilled my expectations. I was a little concerned to learn that it was in the hands of new owners. I need not have worried. They are lovely people who are totally committed to maintaining the excellent reputation that their establishment, deservedly, enjoys. We stayed in the Stratford room which has a 6 ft wide (zip & link) bed, air conditioning and a palatial en-suite bathroom with his & her sinks, a double-ended bath and walk-in shower. It is also at the back of the house so is very quiet. The breakfast was varied, with healthy/vegetarian alternatives to the beautifully cooked 'full English'. We walked the mile to and from the town centre (about 15 minute stroll) during the day and used an excellent local taxi company for dinner and theatre visits during the evening. If you're looking for somewhere to stay, in Stratford-upon-Avon, with high quality accommodation and good food provided by lovely, friendly people but do not want a corporate 'chain' hotel then White Sails could be the solution for you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikerob730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FISHGUARD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for a 2 night stay in midweek and found everything in this establishment to be of the highest quality.The owners who have only recently taken over could not have been more helpful and friendly.We stayed in the Kenilworth room which was spacious,had a big comfortable bed and the bathroom was also spacious and very clean.Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of alternatives for anyone who didn't fancy the Full English.The main reason for our visit was to attend Stratford races,and for anyone else intending to go to the races you will not find a more convenient place to stay for this- literally 300yards up the road. If we visit Stratford again we will definitely stay here as I can not believe there is a better place in Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had not stayed in this guest house before, as we had thought it was too far out from the centre. However, The Cherry Trees, where we usually have stayed, was fully booked and we decided to give White Sails a try. It is about a mile from the centre of Stratford (and the theatres), so it is not as convenient as simply walking into town. However, having said that, I can say that we were very pleased with White Sails indeed. New owners have just taken over the property this week, but the fixtures have clearly been in place for some time and there is definitely no intention to start changing things for the sake of change. The room ("Stratford") was luxurious and had many extras that were unexpected. Lovely cake was in the room as well as coffee and tea equipment, and a well-stocked mini-bar. The bath (and there is a bath, as well as a shower and even a bidet) was luxurious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent too.
The welcome was very friendly and we now feel that when we come to Stratford we will choose to stay here, in spite of the distance from town. I can see why other reviews here have been so glowing and why its Michelin and Good Hotel Guide ratings have been given.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenPen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
845 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,069 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White-Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White-Sails

Property: White-Sails
Address: 85 Evesham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — White-Sails 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White-Sails is Stratford upon Avon's 5* Gold Award Luxury Guest House. Featured in The Michelin Guide and Good Hotel Guide. All rooms have air-conditioning, silent fridges with fresh milk and mineral water, flat screen tv's, wi-fi access, etc., etc. On site parking and walking distance to the Theatre/town centre. Chic, boutique accommodation where your comfort is our only priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White-Sails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White-Sails Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing