We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet stay so near to town centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A quiet stay so near to town centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We found a good mid week deal through the guesthouse's website. Booking was easy and straight forward. When we arrived there was ample space to park and leave your car.We were met by the landlady and escorted to our room - a lovely position at the rear of the house overlooking the garden. It had a large en suite and the usual pleasantries of hospitality tray, hair dryer and sky TV. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable. There was no noise even though it was busy.

The breakfast was excellent and they have a good system where you pre order on your arrival along with the time you would like it. Maybe a tad misleading as we thought that scambled eggs came with all the cooked breakfasts - if you require fried, boiled or poached you need to indicate it under 'special requests'. However, this was not a big deal.

It really is only 10 minutes walk into the centre of Stratford and the RSC! Yuo can cut through on the old railway path which is tarmaced and takes you straight into the town.

The owners will also let you leave your car on their car park during the day of departure if you let them know.

This is a delightful guest house and we would thoroughly recommend it if you are visiting Stratford for the theatre, sightseeing or shopping.

Thankyou!!

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. We have special offers all year round. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    87
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
299
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for a couple of days last week and were delighted with everything. Lovely room and bathroom which looked newly decorated. Cita cooks a mean breakfast too. Bill sorted us out with some vouchers and we saved at least £20 using one at Warwick Castle. Short walk into town centre (less than 10 mins stroll) and there are a few nice pubs on the way. Stratford is a great place and will be back at some point to explore further.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in room 1 and it was all newly decorated, but I reckon the rest of the rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. We always try to put together all discounted deals available for the various attractions. It helps save our Guests time as well as money. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Clean, Great location, great breakfast, great value and a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Just arrived home from a stay at the Avonpark House b&b. The place is a fantastic base to explore what Stratford and the surrounding area has to offer. Room No7 is a very weird shape but after staying for three nights we did get used to it.The shower was excellent,very powerful. Breakfasts were superb, good variety and plenty of it. Plenty of places to eat,we recommend the Pen and Parchment (on the big roundabout) and Avon Spice curry house both fantastic and very reasonable price too. Cita and Bill make you very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handsome1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for your comments. Like its owners, our house has one or two quirks !! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed October 2011. The checkin was friendly and welcoming. Our room on the first floor overlooked the garden and was very clean with comfortable beds and large ensuite bathroom. There was a tea/coffee tray with kettle and biscuits. Soap and shower gel was also provided and fluffy white towels. The area was very peaceful. in the morning we went down to the dining room for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by both the ambience and the buffet. we were asked to order our preference for breakfast the night before and were quickly served on arrival with toast and tea or coffee followed a short time later by our cooked breakfast which was very nice. All with a smile. The hotel is within walking distance of the town and there is a nice friendly pub nearby serving evening meals. Thank you Bill and Cita for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: dont eat at the boathouse Thai restaurant. you would be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Just on the trip advisor website writing a rather poor report for a recent hotel stay in Cheltenham, I suddenly cast my mind back to this B&B which is the polar opposite!

Stayed here with my mum in April 2011 - website photos are what you get, not some misleading website met with disappointment when you turn up there.

Every aspect of the stay was brilliant - room, staff, food, location.

If Carlsberg did B&B's this would be the one! :o))

Looking to book again for Spring 2012 - a surprise Christmas present for my mum!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Hi Thank you for your review. I love the reference to Carlsberg. Best chuckle Ive had all week. We look forward to seeing you or your mother again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at Avonpark for 2 nights in September 2011.
This B & B was very close to town; offered clean accomodation at an extremely reasonable price and Cita provided a lovely breakfast...what more could one want!
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Property: Avonpark House
Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing