We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend break”
Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend break”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This B and B is in a great location only a short walk to all the local attractions.

Great service, as soon as we arrived we were shown a map of how to get around and there are loads of vouchers for discounts at local restaurants and attractions.

Wide choice of breakfast items and it was always delivered with a smile and a bit of elvis in the background!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    88
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
300
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2011

It was a pleasure to stay at the Avonpark House. It is ideally situated within a pleasent 10 min walk to Stratford. The owners were friendly and advised on discounts available at various places. The room and en suite were modern , nicely decorated and furnished and were very clean. Breakfast was surperb. We will certainly recommend to friends and family and will try to stay here again should we return to Stratford.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TauntonRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Have just come back from 2 nights here. Place was spotless, our welcome friendly, the bed was fine (we have slept on some awful beds on our travels, but this was good) but the space between the bed and walls was miniscule. Getting in and out was quite a performance. We were in the new part of the house so the room was long and not very wide - perhaps this room is better suited as a single?? Good sized bathroom with a proper door (don't ask!) Having said all that, it's a good place to stay; breakfast was nice and came very quickly plus you could watch the birds as well! Only 10 mins into town via the Tramway through pub car park (good place to have food). We would also recommend Bella Italia in town too! Thanks from us both - would recommend...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. Like many B&B's we have our "quirks", mostly positive. This is a newer room. The space either side of the room is slightly more generous than miniscule. The benefit of the shape, is that the room is double the length of an average bedroom and Guests therefore benefit from a proper sitting area as well, with two chairs, in front of the TV.
The full size bathroom room does indeed have a proper bathroom door, and has a walk in shower. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We found a good mid week deal through the guesthouse's website. Booking was easy and straight forward. When we arrived there was ample space to park and leave your car.We were met by the landlady and escorted to our room - a lovely position at the rear of the house overlooking the garden. It had a large en suite and the usual pleasantries of hospitality tray, hair dryer and sky TV. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable. There was no noise even though it was busy.

The breakfast was excellent and they have a good system where you pre order on your arrival along with the time you would like it. Maybe a tad misleading as we thought that scambled eggs came with all the cooked breakfasts - if you require fried, boiled or poached you need to indicate it under 'special requests'. However, this was not a big deal.

It really is only 10 minutes walk into the centre of Stratford and the RSC! Yuo can cut through on the old railway path which is tarmaced and takes you straight into the town.

The owners will also let you leave your car on their car park during the day of departure if you let them know.

This is a delightful guest house and we would thoroughly recommend it if you are visiting Stratford for the theatre, sightseeing or shopping.

Thankyou!!

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. We have special offers all year round. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for a couple of days last week and were delighted with everything. Lovely room and bathroom which looked newly decorated. Cita cooks a mean breakfast too. Bill sorted us out with some vouchers and we saved at least £20 using one at Warwick Castle. Short walk into town centre (less than 10 mins stroll) and there are a few nice pubs on the way. Stratford is a great place and will be back at some point to explore further.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in room 1 and it was all newly decorated, but I reckon the rest of the rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. We always try to put together all discounted deals available for the various attractions. It helps save our Guests time as well as money. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Clean, Great location, great breakfast, great value and a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Just arrived home from a stay at the Avonpark House b&b. The place is a fantastic base to explore what Stratford and the surrounding area has to offer. Room No7 is a very weird shape but after staying for three nights we did get used to it.The shower was excellent,very powerful. Breakfasts were superb, good variety and plenty of it. Plenty of places to eat,we recommend the Pen and Parchment (on the big roundabout) and Avon Spice curry house both fantastic and very reasonable price too. Cita and Bill make you very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handsome1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for your comments. Like its owners, our house has one or two quirks !! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Property: Avonpark House
Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing