We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stratford upon Avon”
Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stratford upon Avon”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Avonpark, it was a birthday treat from family. We thought it was a little expensive at £89 per room B & B. The bedroom was nicely decorated and clean, but the bed was a SMALL double (husbands feet hung over the edge all night!) VERY small TV on the wall which was SO quiet we could hardly hear it. On checking remote control, then the TV settings we found it was set to no 23 (with no way of turning it up) Next morning i spoke to the owner asking if it was purposely fixed at that level? He agreed that yes it was (to stop people disturbing other guests.) As we are in our 60s we are not likely to be a nuisance to anyone. When we returned it had been turned up to no 30! It was JUST about ok!!!!! There was the usual tea,coffee,water,hairdryer in room. The room overlooked the garden at the back so no traffic noise (If you were at the front it is a VERY busy road) We were given slips to fill in on our arrival for what we wanted for breakfast, and was told to pop them outside our door and they would collect them. Next morning they were still there. When we went into the dining room the staff member said what room are you in, as you haven't filled a slip in. I told her excuse me we were asked to fill them in, i did it straight away before we unpacked and put them outside the room as requested and if you go and look they are still there. Our Breakfast consisted of scrambled egg,1 slice of bacon, toast. 2 sausages,beans,mushrooms and a tomato. You can help yourself to cerials , fruit juice and coffee. If you sit by the windows you can watch the birds feeding, also a squirrel was quite amusing. The only critisism i have is that it would be nice if the owner wore shoes in the dining room as we didn't think it was very proffessional to trot in and out in shorts and socks. On a positive note he was very helpful explaining that there was a short cut into the town by the side of the local pub (it was much quicker AND a nicer walk than along the main road) Also gave us special offer vouchers etc (which are available to all guests in reception) If you want a b & b that is within 8 minutes walk of the town then this may suit you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mares_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. A misunderstanding on the pre - order breakfast system I think. All guests are asked to leave their completed slips on the reception table. We would never go into Guest rooms willy nilly, after check in, to seek these out.
A double room was booked, so a standard 4'6" double bed was supplied. King size beds are available by request. Tv's are Hotel TV's, colour, flat screen, wall mounted and with additional channels. We do pre set the volume to a reasonable level. We are happy to adjust this on request, as we did on this occassion. We have only been asked once before in six years. At level 30, the TV is audible outsdie the door. A peaceful stay for ALL our Guests is of paramount importance to us, and we will not sacrifice this principle.
I do occassionally appear in my "Wimbledon gear". I dont wear shoes in the house. Its a hygiene thing rather than sloppiness. Sorry if you thought it unprofessional, I will reflect. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    88
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
307
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Clean room, in a good location with free parking which is a big plus. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: The back ground floor room looks out onto garden and looked the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have two Ground floor rooms at the back of the house, and two upstairs that alos overlook the secluded garden at the back. Parking is available for all Guests on the driveway at the front, until 3pm on day of departure. Handy for a further morning in the town before heading onwards. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at Avonpark House for 2 nights whilst we visited Stratford-upon-Avon and were very pleased with its convenient location. It is just 10 minutes walk to the town centre along a pretty pathway and as parking is provided at the guesthouse, we were able to leave our car there and not have to worry about finding expensive parking in the town centre.
Cita and Bill are very friendly and helpful and Cita goes out of her way to help with guests' requests. Laundry is always a problem when you are travelling for an extended period. Cita did some washing for me at a very reasonable rate and was happy to provide me with an iron and ironing board.
We booked from Australia and the booking process was easy. I asked for a downstairs room overlooking the garden and, as requested, Cita showed us to a comfortable room overlooking the garden where we enjoyed watching the birds and squirrels. Our room was lovely and quiet and warm and the room rates were very reasonable.
The breakfast was delicious and we loved the background music which plays softly in the dining room. So much to see in Stratford and everything within walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We found the downstairs room at the back of the house very convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have a variety of rooms available, double, twin or family, so we can cater for all requirements. Many of our Guests are Theatre goers because of the close proximity to the RSC. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at Avon Park House on the 15th of July 2012 as we went to see a play at the Swan Theatre in Stratford its self. Lovely B&B to stay at very close to ameneties just 7 mins walk to the Theatre. Room very comfortable and breakfast very nice. We will definately go back there and would recommend you check in there before anywhere else. We received a very warn welcome from start to finish. Very reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofftoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Pleasant one night stay here at reasonable charge. Room clean and good provisions. Hosts friendly.Lovely breakfast room overlooking garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We try to stay competitive and have Special Offers all year round. See our website. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have just enjoyed 2 nights stay in this lovely guest house. The owners are friendly and share their local knowledge with you enabling you to have a pleasant stay. The rooms are well presented and very clean, we had a room facing the rear garden where you could see a variety of birds and the resident squirrel which was lovely. The location is perfect, only a 7 minute walk along the old tramway into the town of Stratford which in itself is a pleasant stroll. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are recommended so you can enjoy the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend; had an excellent stay. Our room was lovely with a view over the pretty garden; furnished like a hotel room, large, comfortable bed, good standard en-suite bathroom; tv was a bit small but, other than that, just what we wanted. Had a very quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was good. Owner very friendly. The B&B is located on the other side of the river from the town centre but there is a very nice and quite short walk from it to the theatre and town centre, along the old tramway path, with lovely views of cricket fields and the river. Overall I would recommend this B&B - good value, very friendly and excellent rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We aim to match our facilities as close to the standard of a "good" hotel as possible, and not settle for less. Mrs Garfield is also about to expand the range of choices on the breakfast menu, so on your next visit we will be able to tempt you with Smoked salmon or Eggs Benedict. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,616 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Property: Avonpark House
Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing