We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Avonpark House is an excellent place to stay if you are visiting Stratford-upon-Avon as the hosts are very welcoming, everywhere is spotlessly clean (very important to us) and the breakfast is delightful.
The situation of the place is really close to the centre so you can park your car, walk along the tramline for a few minutes and explore the town. Excellent if you want to go to the theatre (as we did) and stroll back.
As you walk down the tramline there is a cricket ground on the left and we spent an enjoyable afternoon watching Stratford lose, unfortunately!
We will definately stay again. It is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Old Tramway allows Guests to walk into town, away from traffic (after the first 100 yards). Very pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    83
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
288
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Bill and Cita went the extra mile to ensure our stay was special. Excellent room, good food, service friendly and warm and very good. The room was very comfortable and spacious and an amazing garden to look out onto. the location is excellent even for my husband who has some walking problems it was within his ability with a few sit downs, We would recommend the house to anyone, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: try Avonpark HOuse for yourselves and see how good it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

this was my second time staying, I came with my partner the first time and my daughter the second time, on both occations Bill and Cita always gave me a super friendly warm welcome. excellent food, location and it's affordable. Felt very much at home. I will will definatley be recommending the Avonpark house.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. It was nice to see you again. Thank you for the card from your daughter, it was lovely. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Bill and Cita made sure that we had a really good time. The rooms are spatious, extremely comfortable and cosy; the garden is a little jewel. Breakfast was very good and the service excellent. They are extremely caring and helpful. Felt very at home. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja_Kueng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We hope your team do well in the Olympics !! regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Great location for Stratford stopover plus excellent service - easy walk into town, off road parking and very comfortable accommodation

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My friends and I(4 of us) have just returned from our annual visit to Stratford. We stayed as always at Avonpark House. Excellent location. Bill greeted us on arrival by name and parked our cars for us and there they stayed all weekend : it's just a short walk into the town centre. The accommodation is spotless and comfortable with good breakfasts and Bill and his family are charming hosts. We've already booked for next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlook the garden and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. Lovely to see you all again. Your sixth visit I think. We look forward to seeing you again next year. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Avonpark, it was a birthday treat from family. We thought it was a little expensive at £89 per room B & B. The bedroom was nicely decorated and clean, but the bed was a SMALL double (husbands feet hung over the edge all night!) VERY small TV on the wall which was SO quiet we could hardly hear it. On checking remote control, then the TV settings we found it was set to no 23 (with no way of turning it up) Next morning i spoke to the owner asking if it was purposely fixed at that level? He agreed that yes it was (to stop people disturbing other guests.) As we are in our 60s we are not likely to be a nuisance to anyone. When we returned it had been turned up to no 30! It was JUST about ok!!!!! There was the usual tea,coffee,water,hairdryer in room. The room overlooked the garden at the back so no traffic noise (If you were at the front it is a VERY busy road) We were given slips to fill in on our arrival for what we wanted for breakfast, and was told to pop them outside our door and they would collect them. Next morning they were still there. When we went into the dining room the staff member said what room are you in, as you haven't filled a slip in. I told her excuse me we were asked to fill them in, i did it straight away before we unpacked and put them outside the room as requested and if you go and look they are still there. Our Breakfast consisted of scrambled egg,1 slice of bacon, toast. 2 sausages,beans,mushrooms and a tomato. You can help yourself to cerials , fruit juice and coffee. If you sit by the windows you can watch the birds feeding, also a squirrel was quite amusing. The only critisism i have is that it would be nice if the owner wore shoes in the dining room as we didn't think it was very proffessional to trot in and out in shorts and socks. On a positive note he was very helpful explaining that there was a short cut into the town by the side of the local pub (it was much quicker AND a nicer walk than along the main road) Also gave us special offer vouchers etc (which are available to all guests in reception) If you want a b & b that is within 8 minutes walk of the town then this may suit you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mares_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. A misunderstanding on the pre - order breakfast system I think. All guests are asked to leave their completed slips on the reception table. We would never go into Guest rooms willy nilly, after check in, to seek these out.
A double room was booked, so a standard 4'6" double bed was supplied. King size beds are available by request. Tv's are Hotel TV's, colour, flat screen, wall mounted and with additional channels. We do pre set the volume to a reasonable level. We are happy to adjust this on request, as we did on this occassion. We have only been asked once before in six years. At level 30, the TV is audible outsdie the door. A peaceful stay for ALL our Guests is of paramount importance to us, and we will not sacrifice this principle.
I do occassionally appear in my "Wimbledon gear". I dont wear shoes in the house. Its a hygiene thing rather than sloppiness. Sorry if you thought it unprofessional, I will reflect. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Property: Avonpark House
Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing