We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure and action make the hours seem short....”
Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Pleasure and action make the hours seem short....”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Avonpark House for a 2 night stay over the mayday bank holiday. Our greeting on our arrival was warm and friendly. Our double room (room 2) was spacious – with a huge double bed looking out on to the garden and the tramway on the back of the property. The room was well kept and clean and well decorated. The bathroom was also clean and spacious – and the shower was perfectly warm.
Avonpark House is perfectly situated being a 7 minute stroll to the centre of Stratford along Shipston Road and the old tramway. Guests benefit from a free car park at Avonpark House with ample loading and unloading space.
There was a great breakfast menu to select from – from a traditional full English fry-up to kippers which were all very tasty.
Avonpark House is brilliant value for money too and we wouldn’t hesitate to anyone wanting a warm comfy and welcoming bed and breakfast.
So in the words of Shakespeare “Pleasure and action make the hours seem short.” Avonpark House helped our stay in Stratford seem very short.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. Detailed reviews are always appreciated, so that potential guests can have a full picture of what we have on offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    88
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
307
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Avonpark is a very quiet B+B's near the center with amazing breakfast ; you can park up your car and walk into town along the old tramway path ; it is very useful when the town is so busy during a sunny Sunday with motorship exhibition ; the old tramway inn is very near and the meals are delicious

Room Tip: choose a room in front of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are receiving more and more visitors from Europe, and it us useful to receive a blend of comments. You picked the right weekend with glorious sunshine and the first Straford Festival of Motoring, with many classic cars on show. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here for the first time and will definitely be staying again next time we visit Stratford. Our bed and room were very comfortable. Armchairs to sit and watch television. (Flat screen with Freeview). Large ensuite shower room with a brilliant shower. Great choice at breakfast with great service. Dining room over looking the garden. Ten minutes easy walk into Stratford along the old Tramway. Offstreet parking in front of the hotel with an allocated space for each guests car. Couldn't be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Avonpark House. We arrived around lunchtime to a warm welcome and then had lunch in the local pub, The Tramway Inn (which we would also thoroughly recommend) before spending the afternoon in Stratford - which was an easy short walk from Avonpark. Our room overlooked the back garden and was lovely and light, spacious and very clean with a modern bathroom. Complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and a bottle of water was provided in the room. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice and you couldn't fault the service. We wouldn't hesitate in returning and hope to visit again in the future. Shirley & Wayne

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. You would be surprised how many Guests stay with us at weekends "away from the kids" !! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go for 2 nights to Stratford for a break from revising for university exams. The weather coming up to our break was terrible (it was freezing, snowing and generally unpleasent), and we were unsure as to whether to postpone our trip. However, due to only being an hour down the road, we braved the cold.

On arriving at Avonpark we were greeted by Bill who made us feel very welcome and offered us some great discount vouchers. The house was lovely and decorated just to our taste, and the best part was, it was so warm and homely!

Breakfast was amazing and the breakfast room itself was lovely and different to anything we've seen before. Stratford was a lovely place, and the value for money at the Avonpark was brilliant for our student budgets! We saved a lot of money through the discount vouchers, with money off at the Tramway Pub down the road (which was the best pub meal we have ever had) and we saved 1/2 price at Warwick Castle.

Perfect place for a break! We have told our families and friends and would love to return :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Good luck with your exams. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This was our third time at Avonpark and it didn't disappoint! We were met by Bill, the owner, and taken to our room. It was late afternoon and the sun was streaming in on a spotlessly clean room. It overlooked the garden with a plethora of wild birds to watch! We love the fact you can park up your car and walk into town - 10 minutes along the old tramway path.

Breakfast is excellent with a varied and wide choice. You sit overlooking the garden and bird feeders and listen to 60's music! Everywhere is spotlessly clean. The rooms are well equipped with everything you need. The bathroom is large and airy with all the necessary bathroom toiletries.

This is a great base and we love it! We will be back. Thank you Bill and Cita.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We love it when Guests return for second and third visits. For us its the best part of the job. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We recently had a wonderful two night break for our anniversary. We received a warm welcome before being shown to our attractively decorated, large and very clean superior room with a garden view. It had a huge bed as well as a sofa and an immaculate bathroom. We had all the normal complimentary sachets as well as a bottle of mineral water which was a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent and as it is ordered the night before very fresh. The discount vouchers for the sights were an added bonus and saved us money on enterance fees and we also had a discount off a meal.The short cut to town makes it an easy walk taking about 7 minutes, a little longer to the theatre. We would highly recommend Avonpark. Fred and Claire

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvonparkHouse, Owner at Avonpark House, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,275 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Property: Avonpark House
Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing