We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for walking into Stratford”
Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Excellent price for B&B with clean accommodation, though there was noise from the main road if the window was open (as others have stated). Surprised there wasn't any soap for the wash basin, initially making do with that used for the shower. When requested a bar of soap was supplied. Also, had to request for the heating to be put on. Lovely host(s) and breakfast very good, though I would not class this as 4* as given by 'Visit England'; easily a 3* though. Having said that, I would happily return should I need a B&B in Stratford-Upon-Avon. Useful in being allowed to park the car until 3pm on day of departure, so one can enjoy Stratford even more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just spent two lovely nights at The Avonpark House. Maria was so friendly and welcoming when we arrived and gave us so much information about the hotel and the surrounding area. Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated and we felt very much at home! The breakfast was lovely and there were even gluten free options available which was great for me! The hotel is in an ideal location, so close to the centre of Stratford and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We hope to visit Stratford again next year and will definitely be returning to the Avonpark House. Would definitely recommend it to anybody!

Room Tip: The superior double is great with a king sized bed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely hosts at this B & B, who explained all the amenities and things to do in Stratford thoroughly. Breakfast was lovely looking out over the back garden, complete with hens and squirrels. The road outside is busy and noisy at night, so make sure you keep the windows closed. Very close to the town and within walking distance of great restaurants for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the house for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Arrived on Friday evening to a friendly and informative welcome. Room was clean and tidy, with tea/coffee/water biscuits and a nice mint chocolate!!. You could hear the road from the room but it wasn't intrusive at all.

Breakfast was lovely.

Good location being a short walk from the centre of Stratford, with a local pub just 100 yards away if you're feeling lazy, although loads of places to eat within walking distance.

Would most definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank france067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

what a enjoyable weekend we have just had at the Avonpark House, As we walked in on the Friday evening Martin made us feel so welcome that's before we went into our room, which was beautiful,clean and had every thing we needed.We started to relax immediately. The breakfast was good and good choice on the menu and very tasty nothing is to much trouble If you sit by the window you can watch the wildlife and chickens enjoying there breakfast which made the stay so different I have been to all the big hotels in Stratford and this one I will be returning

Thank you see you soon Eric and Denise Langley

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

When we first arrived we were made to feel very welcome and given a map and directions how to get into the town by car or on foot (which is only a ten minute walk away). The room was spotless and quite spacious which backed onto the garden with its own french doors leading onto it. The en suite had a roomy corner shower. You pre-order your breakfast the night before and give them a time when you want to eat. This works out quite well you have a wide choice of cereals and fruit juices with tea or coffee to start with then your breakfast arrives quite quickly with your toast. We saw a couple of squirrels feeding outside whilst we were enjoying our breakfast and you know your eggs are fresh as they have their own hens in the garden. We only stopped the one night but would not have any hesitation in booking again for a longer stay. All in all very good value. We booked through booking.com but found out that if we had booked directly with Avonpark we would have saved a few more pounds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Even though we arrived late evening, Martin was very accommodating and helped us with information about the local area and best ways to get in and out of the town.
The room was really nice and clean and was perfect for our weekend stay.
Both Martin and Maria were excellent host and the breakfast was great, nice to watch all the wildlife out of the window as you relaxed with a nice morning coffee and full English breakfast!
A fantastic place to stay!
Also a special thank you for Martin for having a bottle of wine and chocolates in the room as it was a special birthday!

All in all I would stay here again, but I wouldn't recommend it to others as you may book when I try to re-book!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,826 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
907 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £75 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing