We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbeatable option for a stay in Stratford ”
Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An unbeatable option for a stay in Stratford ”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Avonpark whilst in Stratford for a RSC visit. Room 2 (twin) is at the rear, overlooking the pretty garden, and is cosy, quiet and comfortable with a spacious shower room. A friendly welcome and excellent service from Martin and Maria, together with an extensive and tasty breakfast menu, served overlooking the chickens and squirrels in the garden, all added to the positive experience. Good value-for-money, free off-road parking and a short stroll down the old tramway into town makes the Avonpark a pretty unbeatable option for a stay in Stratford Upon Avon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jillbamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    88
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
307
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our two families came away for New Year and a birthday celebration at quite late notice.
Wonderful accommodation, lovely high class rooms, great breakfast, wonderful service and attentive but unobtrusive proprietors in Martin and Maria.
On top of high quality full English breakfast, offered alternatives included scrambled egg and smoked salmon and eggs benedict.
The dining room is readily available to guests who may wish to bring back take away meals.
I cannot praise Avonpark House too highly and it is far better than many high profile hotels that we have stayed in.

Mick, Macclesfield

Room Tip: Single rooms are really quasi doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at New year with our firends and we had a really enjoyable stay. Martin and Maria were lovely and nothing is too much trouble. the location of the hotel is superb with parking facilities and close to the town.

The rooms are clean and well decorated and the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice.

Would receommend ia nice break here

Room Tip: The rooms are a good size and we had 2 adults and 32 children in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

With 4 friends, we spent our 3-day mid-week break in Stratford. We live in 3 different areas of England (Swindon/Chester/Portsmouth) but every year we meet up in different parts of the UK for our birthday/Christmas break. This year took us to Stratford and the Avonpark House. Like other guests, we received a warm welcome from Maria. We were given a street map and the directions were very simple to follow. The walk along the towpath is very pretty and is a very pleasant walk into Stratford. There is parking off road too so your car is secure. Our room (No. 6) was hidden away past the dining room but, like our friends' rooms, was very clean, bright and had lots of natural light. Maria and her family have chickens in the back garden and, along with the squirrels, the animals came to the windows every morning; lovely. We can recommend the pub down the road (The Towpath), the food is excellent. On the last night of our stay, we were very lucky to get seats for the family show (Peter Pan and Wendy) in the RSC. It made a perfect evening to our trip. Thank you Maria for your hospitality (and the glorious food!!) - we shall return (as they say!!).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My partner booked a 2 night stay here for my birthday so that we could visit Stratford again. We received a very warm welcome from Maria, who gave us a streetmap of the area and showed us various leaflets she had with discounts for local attractions. She showed us where the breakfast room was and took us to our room. We had the most beautiful room that I have stayed in before in a b&b - it was a large room with a huge bed, a settee and french doors that opened onto decking looking over the garden. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. We had a tray of teas/coffee/hot chocolate sachets, biscuits and mint chocolates.
The b&b is a 10-15 minute walk into Stratford town centre and there is a short cut behind the b&b along the old tramway which is a lovely walk.
Breakfast was very nice and you can choose what time you would like breakfast and you pre-order the night before what you would like. The breakfast room looks over the garden and it's lovely to watch the squirrels scampering around.
When we checked out, Martin told us to feel free to leave the car in their car park all day if we wanted another day out in the local area.
The b&b is perfectly situated to visit Stratford, the hosts are very friendly, it is clean and beautifully decorated - cannot fault Avonpark at all. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Some of the downstairs rooms have decking onto the garden which is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairysugardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Spent two nights 13th & 14th December - town is beautiful hotel is so close to the centre just a short walk away. We stayed in room 7. Quirky but individual clean well equipped warm and finished well, it didn't have that rusty b&b feel it was fresh and bright- modern. Service was excellent very nice introduction and very friendly. Best but was it was a steal - very very good value for money in terms of what your getting in return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent b&b. Hosts were most helpful. Easy to find. Ample parking. We left the car parked for the whole visit. Breakfast was scrummy and plentiful and served in the kitchen overlooking garden where chickens birds and squirrals entertained us! Rooms very clean. Ours had french doors to the garden. Can't fault avonpark.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,228 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Property: Avonpark House
Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing