We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stratford on Avon visit”
Review of Avonpark House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avonpark House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at Avonpark House. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly. It was lovely to watch all the wildlife that visited the garden and also the chickens owned by the family. The money off vouchers both for the attractions and some local pubs were very welcome. It was just a short walk into the city centre so we didn't need to take the car unless we went further afield.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room at the back of the house which was nice and quiet. The only complaint we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jantontongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from a three night break at this lovely B&B.We were greeted on arrival by Maria. We stayed in room 4 which was lovely and had patio doors leading on to decking overlooking the garden.Breakfast was great,you have to order what you want the day before. The breakfast room overlooks the garden where you can watch the squirrels and chickens having their breakfast. There is a lovely little pub called THE Old TRAMWAY 2 minutes down the road which sells good pub grub and the staff are really friendly. We would recommend this B&B and will return if we go back to Stratford.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the back away from the busy road traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was the first time we have stayed in Stratford and we were really pleased with our choice of B&B, from reviews on Tripadvisor. We had two nights here and I must say our bed was a lot more comfortable than the bed we had in the Marriott in Swansea the night before. We had room 4 which was lovely had its own decking and chairs overlooking the garden, not that we used it because we were out all day. The hotel is in an ideal spot for a short walk into Stratford away from the traffic along an old tramway. Breakfast we found to be just right, poached eggs were perfect. Our only complaint would be that the ensuite was on the small side and the TV could have been bigger for us short sighted people. We would recommend our room and would go there again if we return for a short break to Stratford.

Room Tip: Room 4 very quiet, only heard their cockerel once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed here on numerous occasions but not since it has been taken over by new proprietors. The room we had stayed in before was exactly the same but beginning to look tired. The mattresses on the beds are in desperate need of an upgrade. The shower handle kept slipping back round to cold when you turned it on. I think they have replaced the toilet but the flush wasn't great. The TV is desperately small and wall mounted. Unfortunately the curtain covers part of the screen unless you sit on the bed to watch it. The bedside light worked intermittently and you had to go out onto the landing to log onto the Wifi.

I guess our biggest gripe were the people in the next room - the water and shower happen to run behind our bed heads so we could hear their conversations to each other whilst in the shower, shouting from the shower to their partner in the room at 11pm at night.Also I was wondering if there would be any hot water left for us as they were in it so long! There needs to be some consideration to insulate or sound proof between the rooms in this area.

The breakfast was a bit underwhelming. It is pre ordered the night before. That is not a problem.However, the plate seemed to be awash with baked beans! It wasn't particularly inspiring but was OK.

We always enjoy our stay in Stratford but have found that, this time, Avonpark didn't live up to our expectations. The major bonus is that you can park up your car and not have to move it until you leave, being able to walk into town and to the theatre.

We may well reconsider our venue next time as there are several other properties on the same road offering premium parking and similar facilities. It may fine for some folk but, sorry, not for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are quieter as the main road runs in front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed on Saturday for one night ...we arrived early but the owner was more than happy for us to park up and made the room available earlier than we had expected ...loved the clean well facilitated room ....loved the garden especially the chickens as a fellow chicken owner !breakfast was lovely and the young lady who served us very pleasant .the location was perfect with only a short scenic walk into the centre .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ellen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. You are very close to the city centre, just 5 minutes walk. We had an excellent break in Stratford and highly recommend the city walk which starts at the Swan fountain near the RSC. Avonpark is fine but no more. It is clean and tidy but has no style and although adequate we would not rush to return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MandR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Over the years I have stayed in a number of different B&B's in Stratford. This is one of the best, and as we left, we booked again for our next trip. Our bedroom was comfortable, with a good size bathroom, and overlooked the garden where the chickens, who provide the eggs for breakfast, scratched happily away. There is adequate parking (sometimes a problem if you book into town centre B&B's in Stratford) and the town centre is just a 5 minute walk away along the Tramway. I liked that you are asked to state your breakfast preferences the night before and the timing of breakfast was excellent. If you are on a relaxing weekend away it's good that you can come down as late as 9.30am!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,855 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonpark House

Address: 123 Shipston Road | Stratford-Upon-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in Stratford-upon-Avon. This family-run Guest House is close to the RSC Theatre. A shortcut takes the visitor along The Old Tramway Path, away from traffic, to the banks of the River Avon. Here is the heart of William Shakespeare's town, with stage performances by the world's leading actors. This B&B has off road parking, so leave the car behind. Free unlimited WIFI access. Free off road parking until 3pm on day of departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Avonpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonpark House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing