We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romeo cottage, a lot smaller than u expect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford-upon-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shakespeare Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went with two friends and their three year old. We have a 9 month old baby. It's a lovely place but it felt too small, would be very tight for six adults and the sofa bed didn't look comfy. there is zero privacy as even the bed in the mezzanine floor is open so you can hear everything anyone says up there. Be great for a family of four or a couple but no more than that. It was riddled with crane spiders and the outside pain work is all coming away. Does need some tlc. The garden and hot tub are great. You are a short drive away from the shops which is nice. The pictures are deceiving as you think you are in a cottage on ur own in the middle of no where but your not, it's a big house then 4 cottages next to that and then In front of them, literally yards is Romeo cottage. The first two nights there was a hen party in the four cottages facing our little one and if they where outside you could hear everything. Some reviews stated they got a welcome pack, we didn't. Wifi didn't work.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Shakespeare Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

VERY DISAPPOINTED! Booked this for mums 70th. 9 of us went & saw the lodge on the site advertised as a 'Lodge' ( singular!) sleeps up to 12, 7 bedrooms / 4 bathrooms - great for all the family we thought.. How wrong we were! Arrived on Monday 26th may -4 nights to discover 3 lodges & not integrated at all. 3 seperate front doors. Charlotte stated ' I keep telling her she needs to tell people it's not 1 lodge but 3!!'
She showed us round the lodges however never showed us where the tumble dryer was & how to get in!!
We attempted to contact Antonia & left 3 messages - she never came back to us & only after a very stern email did she reply, but only by email, she didn't even have the decency to call us as we had other matters to discuss I.e. Wi-fi RUBBISH - hit & miss..very basic inside. Cracked mirror, light hanging off in 1 of bathrooms, broken settee. The hot tub was dirty & had scum floating on the top. We saw Charlotte on Thursday & asked how to get into use the tumble dryer & she said the key was in a pot at the door as though we should know - She had NEVER shown us. We also mentioned scum in hot tub & she did put chemicals in to clean it, this should be cleaned EVERY DAY! Overall we felt it WASNT money well spent - only good thing to say is the beds were comfortable! Not a 5* property by any means...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sallysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great, enjoyed the way that we never once saw management, staff, owner etc. the keys where waiting for us when we arrived along we tea, coffee, biscuits and milk in the fridge. Allowing you to feel like you had your very own cottage in the country. Wonderful location and everything you need is provided. If you have more cottages in other locations please let me know because I would deffo book again. Loved the whole set up!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42mark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Romeo Cottage to celebrate my Birthday. I can't fault the location; beautiful countryside setting, amazing views across the Warwickshire countryside and an easy drive/taxi/bus into Stratford. Plus the amazing weather really added to the special occasion.

The cottage itself was very nice, but we felt needed some attention to detail - just a little tlc here n there - would really improve this cottage. The hot tub needs cleaning more regularly as it gave all 3 of my children a 'hot tub rash', the hedges need a trim to show off the wonderful view from the tub,some of the plaster render needs a fix, maybe add some shutters to the sky lights, the sofa had a rip in and some essential items were missing (sieve (broken), scissors, welcome/instruction manual). Also the advertised 'free wifi' was non existent for the 4 days we were there, the satellite connection problems weren't resolved despite texting the manager 3 times.

We stay at many holiday rentals so know how they could/should be. This property has such potential but just needs a bit more care.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked the week before. Told manager we had a baby and that I would bring travel cot if I could please borrow their high chair. I was not fussy on which cottage we stayed in as it was only for one night. Agreed on Juliet cottage.
Upon arrival there was no high chair and no room in the second bedroom for a cot! Helpfully also no answer on contact phone number.
Luckily I had our high chair with us so the baby could have his tea and my husband completely rearranged the furniture to fit the cot in the second bedroom.
Apart from this rocky start the cottage was clean and in good working order. I didn't find the bed very comfy and it certainly wasn't 5* luxury, but everything was to a decent standard for a night en route to our holiday in Kent.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schiocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Only got the entry details the night before arrival high made coordinating our trip a bit difficult.
Booked as sleeps 6 but was a tight fit, the sofa when folded out was probably more uncomfortable than the floor.
The grounds were lovely, the garden was a delight.
There were a few problems and it was a shame that our correspondence with the agents went unanswered.
With a bit of TLC this would be an ideal holiday destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Lovely holiday cottage, stayed for a few days over Easter 2013. Family of 5 easily accommodated in good std cottage.
Very close to Stratford for all sights. Wifi useful and kitchen well equipped. Heating all electric heaters so had to keep on all time during fairly cold weather but all included in price and cottage kept warm.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank robhill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
10.6 mi away
The Limes Country Lodge Hotel
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,342 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,508 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Temple Grafton
437 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Holiday Cottages

Address: Birmingham Road | Arden Hill Farm, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £50 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shakespeare Holiday Cottages offer 5 Star, luxury, self catering accommodation in Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire. Only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Stratford-Upon-Avon, Birthplace to the famous Playwright, William Shakespeare. Although only 5 minutes from Stratford-Upon-Avon, these highly appointed luxury 5 Star self catering cottages are set amidst a stunning rural setting with the most magnificent views of surrounding countryside and stunning sunsets. 4 Luxury Cottages are available at present (Juliet, Hamlet, Falstaff and Measure Cottage) More cottages are planned for later in the year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing