We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only One”
Review of One Elm

One Elm
Reserve with OpenTable
One Elm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$40
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Two minutes walk from Shakespeare's Birthplace, The One Elm is a Victorian pub with a bustling bar, a pretty sheltered courtyard & a relaxed but high quality restaurant.
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We first came here two years ago on our last visit to Stratford and really enjoyed the food and friendly atmosphere. We were not disappointed by our recent visit, on Wednesday evening. The food was absolutely delicious, there was good music playing in the background and the service was excellent. We were lucky that an offer on the night was a bottle of Prosecco and a deli board for £20 - excellent value. Next time we visit Stratford we will definitely eat at One Elm again. We had a lovely evening.

Thank McKimmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi thanks for visiting The One Elm and coming for a recent return visit! Great to hear you enjoyed your time here, in March we’re adding 2 more deli boards to the menu so even more choice for Bubbles & Boards. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 431 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Met up with a friend here in January. I had a platter of meats and pickles, which included some absolutely amazing venison salami. The salami comes from a butchers in Leamington Spa which supplies Buckingham Palace. It included home made bread, however I would have not been satisfied if it were not for a side order of chips (portion too small though). My friend has a chicken pancake with cream and cheese sauce which he thought was very good. I finished with a coffee (3 shot Americano with hot milk) which was exceptionally good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hi Andy thanks for visiting and reviewing The One Elm, provenance and serving the good stuff is really important to us so we’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the venison salami from Aubrey Allen, and the artisan bread from Brown Sugar, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went on Valentine's Day for dinner and had a table in the upper part of the restaurant. Service was very attentive by all staff throughout the evening. Menu was good, obviously geared towards Valentine. We both had scallops for starters and the waitress was accommodating in not putting chorizo on mine. They were nicely presented in their shells but just slightly gritty unfortunately but they were in a lovely butter sauce. Seabass was excellent as well as the duck confit and the chips cooked in duck fat are definitely recommended! Great sharing dessert platter as well, it didn't last on the plate long! Good atmosphere as well.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Anita, thank you for choosing The One Elm for your Valentine's dinner and sharing your experience. We’re big foodies at the elm so we love to hear that you enjoyed our special valentines menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Visited Stratford on Valentine's weekend, found this bar during a walk around the town, very good, clean, the staff are excellent, really friendly and ensure you are happy, we had one of the sharing platters and some blue moon beer, it was very tasty, especially the venison salami and chorizo - Thanks Guys..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks for reviewing The One Elm, we’re so pleased you had a wander and found us! The deliboards are lovely to share – you’ll have to visit in March when we’ll have 4 new delicious boards for you to try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Went here for Valentines Day as we planned a very last minute break to Stratford Upon Avon. I googled a few places and was pleased I was able to secure a reservation here at such short notice.

The atmosphere, service and food were all top notch and we couldn't have hoped for such a perfect experience for this special occasion.

Thanks to all at The One Elm. We will be sure to return on our next trip to Stratford.

Thank rbeese1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the manager at One Elm, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi and thank you for visitng The One Elm and having your Valentine's meal here. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and had a lovely evening – we look forward to seeing you next time you’re in Stratford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Elm also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to One Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing