We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for indian in stratford.”
Review of Hussains

Hussains
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$41
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“good choice for indian in stratford.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

nationally i would rate hussains as above average , for stratford which has too many poor restaurants relying on passing trade , it is good, particularly the tandoori meats and vegetable curries. service good even on a busy bank holiday weekend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jason p H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    72
    22
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great little Restaurant!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hussain's is well located in the centre of Stratford, this was our second visit. The restaurant is quite small and has an intimate atmosphere, it was busy but the service felt very personal and was quick but never rushed. The food was excellent and plentiful all of our party enjoyed the experience and we would certainly go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lacking taste”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After being told by an American tourist that the food in this restaurant was '' Awesome'' we were fooled into giving it a go. I can only presume that curry culture does not exist in the States as this was one of the poorest dining experiences I have ever had. We ordered 3 dishes one tasted salty the next was sweetish and the final was just without flavour. Maybe its hard to find any of the following in Stratford. Cardamon, cinnamon, fenugreek, ginger, garlic,cumin, corriander, clove.
I mentioned this to the waiter who in turn just laughed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayeatswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting - Poor Meal”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose to dine at Hussains while visiting Stratford after reading the good reviews here on Tripadvisor. Don't be fooled! The restaurant setting is indeed charming like most old buildings in the town, however we found the meal so disappointing we had difficulties finishing even half of it. My thali meal (including a selection of different curries) had no flavours at all and it was obvious no spices neither love had gone into cooking these dishes. The meal was not freshly prepared or enjoyable. This restaurant is overrated and not for for anyone who loves Indian food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quaint interior”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely interior, quaint and beamed. Manager/head waiter rather somber but other staff friendly and helpful.
As far as food went, plenty of it and well cooked, we had chicken, but too mild, on both our dishes, but if I was in the area again, I would try again
And ask for it to be a bit more spicey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hussains also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Hussains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing