We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely meal”

The Opposition Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Opposition Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$72 - US$72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We ate here and had the set menu mixed with some a la carte dishes. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Not a huge choice in the set menu, but all dishes were beautifully cooked and decent sized portions. The desserts were especially delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petalmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    923
    318
    52
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We return to Stratford every year just to eat here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

1st found this place on a weekend away to Stratford upon Avon in 2011 - we loved the food, atmosphere and the welcoming staff. Food was great then and has been great every visit since...due to this place we have a weekend away in Stratford every summer and eat here everytime. See you in July!

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We walked in without a reservation and were lucky enough to get the last table. The restaurant was full and the atmosphere was buzzing, the background music was great. Food was amazing, fresh and cooked to perfection. We were left for quite a while after our main course before we were offered desert so this allowed us to drink and relax, we were not rushed at any time. Staff were very good and made us feel welcome. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfrican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Service under Time Pressure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked a table for 6 people at 5.45 to have time to eat before Theatre.
We arrived late and needed soeedy service; we managed to get fed in time- all was OK

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALTEFUCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made our weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Due to my cockup on timings I thought I'd booked for 7.45pm. I received a call from the Oppo to ask if we still required the table as we were late, at that point I realised my mistake (17.45pm). John, as cool as you like "no problem" see you at 7.45. All I can say is John and the team made us feel so welcome. Service superb, Menu excellent , Mega wine list.
Definitely coming back, you guys made our weekend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Opposition Bistro also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Opposition Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing