We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great...”
Review of Dirty Duck

Dirty Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$71
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Used to be great...”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

.... but over the past 10 years it's turned into just another pub. Food still very good and of course the location is great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne_x_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    258
    99
    56
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Recommended for a drink or afternoon snack only”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This review is based on two visits we made over the Easter Weekend. One on the Saturday afternoon and the other on the Sunday evening. On the first visit we were dining out in the evening, so just wanted a snack to fill the gap. We both opted for the Pulled Pork Apple & Cheese Melt Wraps. They were gorgeous, although fairly small portions, and the Pork & Cheese literally melted on your tongue. They arrived fairly quickly after ordering, so no complaints there. We didn't eat on our 2nd visit, instead just had a drink. It was about 8.20pm on the Sunday evening, and although they served food until 9pm, quite a few of the menu items weren't available. And, this coupled with the fact you have to order at the bar, as it's a pub, we didn't bother in the end. To be fair the barman did inform us what wasn't available, when we enquired about the food.
There wasn't much atmosphere, and it wasn't really a romantic type of eating establishment. We would recommend it for a drink and an afternoon snack though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Lunch!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We decided to try the Sunday Lunch on Easter Day as a treat & we weren't disappointed. We booked therefore we chose a lovely window table with a view of the river. The food was excellent & the staff were very friendly & efficient. We would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annhill19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor food on a Sunday Evening”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was a last minute decision to call in here last Sunday evening around 6pm after a river walk in the hope of picking up a Sunday Roast, unfortunately the roasts had sold out and although the guy behind the bar was helpful in offering to call their sister pub to see if they had roasts left after a little deliberation we decided to stay. I opted for the pie and my son for the lasagne. After a long wait the food arrived and I am sad to say the usual good standard of food at this pub was not to be seen. The Lasagne had been overheated that much it had reduced in size by a third and the steak pie left a lot to be desired with a very hard dry shortcrust pastry base and a very flaky, flaky pastry top! We should have complained and we would even have been entitled to their free dessert - but we had, had enough of waiting by then, the bar was busy and we just wanted out by that stage. It is a shame as although this is no gastro pub the food is normally, honest and reliable and the service usually efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacquey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Great place for food and very comfortable inside, they did run out of roast potatoes though... On a Sunday?! Price is very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank J3dyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Duck also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Dirty Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing