We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Italy”

Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$70
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family run,independent, Award winning Italian Restaurant est1984 -33yrs! Open Tues - Sat Lunch and Dinner. Lunch & Pre theatre Menu 2/3 course £14.90/ £18.90 TUES to SAT.Offering a taste of Italy to the historic town of Stratford-upon-Avon, the Sorrento Restaurant open Pre Theatre from 5.00Pm Tues-Sat, with a tempting 2/3 courses for £14.90/£18.90 Respectively. Wine from £2.90 Per 125ml glass/ £4.60-175ml./£5.90-250ml per glass, House wine £17.90. Sorrento is a family-run Italian restaurant, est 1894, that offers high-class dishes, using the finest and freshest ingredients. The interior is elegant yet unimposing, with classic Neapolitan decor and stylish seating. The menu is hearty and flavoursome, including deep fried squid, pasta with garlic, chilli, olive oil, rocket leaves and parsley, salmon and lemon sole with capers and garlic, and veal flamed in brandy with mushrooms and cream sauce. On average, a sumptuous 3 course meal costs an affordable £35 per person. The 2/3 course set menu available from Tuesday to Saturday, as well as daily chef's specials. Examples a lobster tail, with king prawns, mussels, and clams, served with linguiniin a white wine, tomato, garlic and chilli sauce. Calves Liver, Fillet and Sirloin Steak, Escallops of Veal, Seafood Platter, Just 4 minutes from the Royal Shakespeare Company Theatre, peaceful al fresco dining is available on the terrace.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely clean friendly family run resturant. Real Italians! was busy here so best to book especially at peak times. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our food arrived at our table in good time and was delicious, nicely presented too.
I cannot fault the food , but must say i think the drink prices were a little steep.We had an irish coffee @ £6.50 each and the cheapest small glass of wine was about £4.75
Having said that would return if in the area again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    184
    39
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“birthday lunch”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Sorrento was recommended to me by a friend after we were talking about Italian restaurants, we took a trip to Stratford to try this one out for my husbands birthday.. Stratford is a 45 minute drive from me so this was a bit of a gamble, we were certainly not disappointed..! The restaurants décor is very traditional, the service is amazing and they offer a good choice on the menu as well as having specials and set menu's..

The food was hot, traditional and tasty, I am not a massive fan of Italian food but even I was surprised by the amount of flavour the managed to produce.. I had mussels to start and baked hake for main winch was served with the most beautiful roasted new potatoes.. My husband had the breaded mozzarella to start and traditional lasagne foreman which in fact was made with meat balls, eggs and peas, he had a side of beautifully cooked not greasy hand cut chips.. overall a fabulous experience and worth the journey...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent a day in Stratford and had lunch here. OMG it was wonderful. We had been due to go for our anniversary but had to cancel so thought we'd check it out and so glad we did.. It took forever to choose what we wanted to eat as the entire menu looked delicious. It just means we have to go back to keep trying different things lol. The waitress/owner was wonderful nothing was too much trouble. We booked again before we left. We can not wait. Forget these chain of restaurants with Italian names this truly was authentic and everything in the place was spotless. I loved it. If you want a tasty meal then this is the place to go

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a taste of italy”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was the best we ever had we tried to get into several places before hand and did not get in how lucky we where as we had a fantastic meal
The staff where friendly and the food was so delicious , great taste (we had been to another Italian at lunch time and it was awful ) we where seated at a window table which looked into a court yard so nice
I had a risotto which was creamy yum yum
we all enjoyed the food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Italian cooked food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Sorrento Restaurant is well worth a visit, this family run restaurant is welcoming and friendly, the staff are very attentive, the food is delicious, a real taste of Sorrento Italy, just like being there x

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing