We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$70
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family run,independent, Award winning Italian Restaurant est1984 -33yrs! Open Tues - Sat Lunch and Dinner. Lunch & Pre theatre Menu 2/3 course £14.90/ £18.90 TUES to SAT.Offering a taste of Italy to the historic town of Stratford-upon-Avon, the Sorrento Restaurant open Pre Theatre from 5.00Pm Tues-Sat, with a tempting 2/3 courses for £14.90/£18.90 Respectively. Wine from £2.90 Per 125ml glass/ £4.60-175ml./£5.90-250ml per glass, House wine £17.90. Sorrento is a family-run Italian restaurant, est 1894, that offers high-class dishes, using the finest and freshest ingredients. The interior is elegant yet unimposing, with classic Neapolitan decor and stylish seating. The menu is hearty and flavoursome, including deep fried squid, pasta with garlic, chilli, olive oil, rocket leaves and parsley, salmon and lemon sole with capers and garlic, and veal flamed in brandy with mushrooms and cream sauce. On average, a sumptuous 3 course meal costs an affordable £35 per person. The 2/3 course set menu available from Tuesday to Saturday, as well as daily chef's specials. Examples a lobster tail, with king prawns, mussels, and clams, served with linguiniin a white wine, tomato, garlic and chilli sauce. Calves Liver, Fillet and Sirloin Steak, Escallops of Veal, Seafood Platter, Just 4 minutes from the Royal Shakespeare Company Theatre, peaceful al fresco dining is available on the terrace.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I are here on the recommendation from our guest house and we weren't disappointed. Lovely restaurant. Lovely food. Definitely bigger inside than it looks outside. The staff could not do enough for you

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyns1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    184
    39
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the place to eat in Stratford”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great atmosphere and superb food, visited twice in2010 and 2011 and would have dined here this year(2014) but unlucky as closed Sundays. Would reccommend to everyone,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 235Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Make this a place to eat in”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We chanced upon this seemingly unassuming restaurant on one of the side streets of stratford upon avon. It turned out to be a lucky find. I had the lasagna and my son had the lobster lenguini. Both were excellent. Ask to be seated outdoors, the ambience is better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jsn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Our taxi driver told us that this had been a family run restaurant, and has been doing well for years, and it showed.
We all had something different and everything was cooked to perfection, hot, and well-presented, ( my lobster linguini was fabulous,)
Extensive wine list ,and efficient,seamless service, what more do you need?-will certainly revisit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a find!,”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fabulous family run Italian restaurant. Service was impeccable, food was amazing, atmosphere was great. Found this restaurant by looking at reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews are not wrong, the best Italian meal I have had for years. Place was packed and people were waiting for tables. Can't recommend it enough. Go, you really have to!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing