We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun. great food”
Review of Edward Moon

Edward Moon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great fun. great food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This review is a little late as we wnet in the first week of December. I had booked, as it was only a few weeks before xmas, but needn't have. When we walked in at about 7.30pm on a Monday night the place was quiet with just a few tables taken. The atmosphere however was great and involved a load of laughter. We soon found out why. The staff were superb, freindly and funny and I believe (sorry if I am wrong) were French.

We were shown to a tabnle for 4 even though there were only the 2 of us which was great. Menus and wine menue were quickly brought to us. The food when ordered was very good. I had salmonfishcakes, followed by duck and profiteriles. Not all on one plate of course. When ordering I couldn't decide between 3 dishes and the waitress said 2 of my choices were the best. Which to go for venison steak or my favourite, anywhere, the duck. Thankfully my wonderful wife helped and ordered the venison steak for her so I had the duck. Both were very nice but the venison steak, of which I stile some, was just slightly better.

The food is very good and very reasonable and the staff just make it special.

Thnaks to all the staff at the Edeard Moon and I do mean all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    346
    89
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just Great!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A really lovely restaurant. Food was great (lamb shank, duck platter & treacle tart to share), all staff so friendly & a great ambience. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happycouple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exellent staff”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had a great meal here last saturday 21st dec and would highly recommend.
Looks small on the outside but is spacious and warm inside with very attentive staff.
The meals we ordered.lamb shank and steak. were delicious and plentiful, with a side dish of fresh mixed veg..all swilled down with house red and a tasty cheese board.
Not a cheap place to eat but still good value..and we will certainly be back.
Maitre 'd..a young black guy..is excellent..just what a good restaurant needs...well done

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baggiebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Casual dining at its best”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Sunday lunch prior to christmas and a family lunch to die for!! Went here on the off chance and boy we were glad we did, a great lunch time meal was enjoyed by us all, starters excellent mains delicious the turkey was exceptional and homemade puds washed down with a bottle of white just the job. Thank you edward moons and thank you chef one more place to note worth a return visit!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You don't get what you ask for!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Visited today while in Stratford for the Christmas market but was very disappointed with the mains, the menu states a turkey roast with sage & onion stuffing and all the trimmings, we got cranberry and orange stuffing which was vile and left an acidic tang on the meat, there were 3 roast potatoes each and a plate of carrots, cabbage and leeks to share between 3 people. I complained to the manager who I felt thought I was lieing and questioned me on the contents of the stuffing and only removed the childs meal and a few drinks from the bill. The starters and puds were perfect but never again and I don't recommend it. I usually eat at The Vintner around the corner and will continue to do so from now one, the proverbial grass was not greener I'm afraid.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glitterbitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edward Moon also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Edward Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing