We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub lunch”
Review of The Unicorn

The Unicorn
Ranked #80 of 134 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Unicorn is a modern local pub which can be found at the heart of the community on Chase Meadow, not far from Warwick Racecourse and Warwick Castle, a great place for all the family with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. When the sun is shining enjoy a pint or a meal on our patio overlooking the Chase Meadow lake and playing field. We have a choice of 3 cask ales with a different guest ale each week. Food is served Monday to Saturday until 10pm and Sundays until 9pm. Serving a wide selection of Snacks, Specials and Main Meals there is something for everyone. Please email or telephone if you wish to book a table or group up to 50 guests. Pre-order service available - ideal for business lunches,
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I came here with a freind from work for lunch, and it was just what we were looking for.
I have to disagree with some of the more recent reviews of this pub and say that we found it to be good honest pub food, spacious, clean, value of money, and the portions are more than enough for a healthy appetite.
If you're looking for fine dining, or gastro pub - go elsewhere, this was just what we expected it to be, and seemingly just what it used to be based on earlier reviews

Parking is outside the shops across the road, not at the back of the pub - this is residents parking

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyO1702, General Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thanks for your review.

We are indeed no 'Gastropub' but do pride ourselves in providing good value pub food.

I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    38
    46
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The "Hot as Hell" curry lives up to it's name.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I live near to the Unicorn and have previously enjoyed the Cut-throat Curry which was spicy.

When attending last evening and noticing the Hot as Hell curry on the menu I had to give it a try.

It did not disappoint - I love spicy food and it certainly hit the spot.

Can't wait for my next one and would recommend to anyone!! (but take heed of the "HOT" warning you get when ordering the dish)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AML0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyO1702, General Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thanks for leaving your feedback!

You are a braver man than I to tackle the Hot as Hell Curry!

We are glad you enjoyed it!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

When this pub first opened, it had a pleasant atmosphere, nice surroundings and the food was excellent value for money.
Having just returned from the pub, I have to say I won't be eating in there ever again! The service was good, staff friendly enough albeit nit very customer focused but the food was awful!! Over cooked and tasteless. Side orders arrived as we finished our meal and it was very poor value for money. Nits also looking very tardy inside, such a shame as it used to be really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tsmi210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyO1702, General Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on The Unicorn.

I was pleased to see that the service you received was good. I have fed back your comments to the Front of house team.

I was somewhat disappointed to read that your food however was not up to our usual standards. i have investigated the matter and used the feedback given to assist in a training session.

We pride ourselves on offering good value for money and I'm sorry you felt this was not the case on this visit.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Not very enjoyable”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well firstly the food was very poor and parts off the order didn't arrive and had to remind them so. ..also the place seems to lack any sort of atmosphere and not at all very well coming will not be going back in a hurry

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyO1702, General Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us.

We pride ourselves on the standard of our service and welcoming atmosphere. I have fed your response back to the team working at the time in order to establish what we can do to improve in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Unicorn”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Unicorn is a relatively new pub built on a new estate in Warwick. It has a varied menu and gives value for money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 6344271040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyO1702, General Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Unicorn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Unicorn also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing