We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Loxley Guest House

Loxley Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loxley Guest House
Ranked #21 of 24 Warwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Unfortunately we spent only 1 night in this wonderful B&B, but it is worth a longer stay, absolutely! Even though our room was not big (but not small either) it was well furnished and nicely decorated, really charming. The place is quiet, night and day, and it was nice to be awakened by the smell of a good breakfast (excellent quality!!!). A tad expensive but it is to be expected near Stratford-uopn-Avon. A plus: the owner is very welcoming.
The place is close to Stratford-upon-Avon but it is necessary to have a car to reach the city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winston-le-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2009

Stayed for 2 days. My wife and I had not been away together for ages and were met by Joules and Andy on arrival. We were offered a cup of tea and shown to our rooms, Andy carried the bags as I was suffering from a back strain! The room was very comfortable, clean and had fresh linen. Breakfast was really good, everything was cooked, hot and fresh with eggs direct from the hen house in the garden! Interesting to see people saying the husband, Andy, was 'fairly unapproachable and a little intimidating' he's a broad well-built bloke with a fairly broad Gloustershire accent, accept that and you'll realise he's down to earth and rather amusing and interesting to talk with. Joules was lovely and my wife clearly got on with her! The property is on the main road through Loxley but it wasn't busy like main roads are, a couple of cars a minute maybe. It was very quiet at night except for being woken by a persistant cock in the morning....I'm told that's the way of the countryside! Great location for exploring the surrounding countryside and a good alternative to staying in Stratford Upon Avon. One sometimes worries about the accomodation when staying in B&Bs, this one is a good one!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

My sister & I had a surprisingly disturbing and disappointing experience at the Loxley Guest House recently. Being exactly equi-distance between our respective homes in Yorkshire & Dorset, this guest house appeared to be a perfect place for a weekend together which we had been really looking forward to.


Invitingly, the website says: ‘on arrival you will receive a warm welcome from Andrew and Joules together with a refreshing pot of tea or coffee and slice of cake’. However, when we arrived poor Joules appeared very stressed. She explained her husband was away visiting a friend and that she was on her own, with two children under the age of five, one of which had been awake since 4 in the morning. This combined with the prospect of a full B & B when she’d only been originally expecting us, we both thought better of mentioning the tea and cake we were so looking forward to. During this initial conversation Joules expressed her concerns about the timing of guests arriving for breakfast. Simultaneous to this conversation, her little boy appeared to be raising her stress levels even further by banging the door several times during the conversation. At this point, although breakfast was stated as being between 8 and 9am a specific time was mutually arranged to assist Joules’s breakfast rush. We felt very sorry for her as she seemed to really have her hands full looking after children & running a guest house on her own.

Breakfast the next morning was very pleasant. It seemed that the guests had turned up at their allotted times & it had all worked well for Joules although we heard another guest ask if she was still stressed. Following breakfast we politely asked if it was ok to leave one of our cars in their car park for a couple of hours whilst we had a little more time in Stratford. This was fine, Joules assured us, as long as it was gone by 2pm as other guests would be arriving.

According to their website ‘with a friendly atmosphere, you will be assured a relaxing and pleasurable stay’. However, when we came back to collect the car at 1.15pm we were surprised to find the gate to the car park closed. Then we got a most unpleasant shock. A man appeared at the gate shouting at us for leaving our car, yelling ‘We’re a B & B, not a car park!’ We approached him calmly although very shaken up and upset by such an unprovoked aggressive outburst. We calmly clarified that we had asked permission from his wife at breakfast, and were totally perplexed by his aggressive and unnecessary manner. Determined to set the record straight we asked on several occasions during this upsetting conversation to speak to Joules. Initially he refused, but then went inside to ask her to come outside to the car park. For what ever reason she refused to do so. To say that he was behaving like a bully was a complete understatement, in fact we were both completely shaken by his aggressive tone & reaction. Quietly we retreated to collect the parked car whilst he persisted to shout aggressively behind us.


The Loxley has only been open since mid- 2008. They proclaim….. ‘We strive to continually improve our standards by providing our guests with high quality accommodation and excellent service making your stay a memorable and enjoyable experience.’ It certainly was a memorable experience, but only in leaving us completely shell shocked by Joules’s husband’s aggressive and scary attitude that it totally spoilt the relaxing happy weekend that we’d been so looking forward to.

We thought the Loxley was beautifully furnished & everywhere was very clean & fresh. For the most of the weekend we relaxed & enjoyed a break away from demanding jobs & children to catch up with each others lives. However, unfortunately following such an unpleasant aggressive confrontation before we left, we certainly cannot recommend the Loxley Guest House. This is such a shame when Joules tried her best to make our stay an enjoyable one under difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DorsetBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntoak, Owner at Loxley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2008

The comments made are a complete fabrication of the facts, untruthful and demonstrate the vindictive nature of these individuals whom luckily form a minority of the population.
The guests arrived in two cars and on departure requested that they leave one of the cars on site to save parking fees in Stratford. They were advised that this was not possible as other guests would be arriving so there would not be the required parking spaces. Even after several explanations they left their car and to make matters worst it was parked in such a manner that it made it extremely awkward for arriving guests to park. On their return the gate was shut as normal. to prevent our dog, children and chickens from running out into the road. They were advised that they should not have left the car following our requests not to. We were then subjected to a barage of abuse and advised that they would 'get their own back'. On cleaning their room we also found that the bath towels was covered in red wine.
Fortunately 99.9% of our guests have provided extremely positive verbal feed back with comments also made to this effect in our visitors book. Thus I am satisfied as to thehigh level of service and hospitality provided to all our guests new and old, ensuring thier stay will be an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at Loxley Guest House for 5 nights in Sept 08.

The location is excellent, just a couple of miles outside Stratford and though it's on a main road, it's pretty quiet outside of rush hour.

It had recently been refurbished so the rooms were clean, tidy, if on the small side for thhe money, and a bit sparse in terms of drawer space.

Breakfast was excellent, well-cooked using quality ingredients. Unfortunately on more than one morning we were told exactly what time we were required to have it, so very little flexibility.

The linen and towels weren't changed at all during our 5 night stay even though we hung the "Please clean our room" hanger on the door, and we had to hang towels over doors and radiators to dry them.

The owners were initially friendly, though we only saw the wife on the first day. The husband was fairly unapproachable and a little intimidating, which meant we felt nervous asking for anything.

We originally booked before the guest house opened, and we noticed that the price had already increased by the time we stayed, though we paid our originally-agreed price.

The husband mentioned that he'd been told he could charge more, and would consider increasing the room rate, so I imagine the price has gone up again by now.

Whilst I appreciate this is a business, the impression we had was that customer care is secondary to keeping the till ticking over, and I don't believe that's how customers should perceive it.

That said, overall we enjoyed our stay though we probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madcow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntoak, Owner at Loxley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2008

Firstly the guest house has not been refurbished but completely renovated.
Guests are advised that breakfast is served between 8-9 and a time agreed to allow adequate preperation and cooking of ingredients. Towels are changed regularly and heated towels rails are installed to dry damp towells. In relation to the dispute over price, this guest booked a room based on single occupancy and was charged a single occupancy rate. She infact arrived with another guest who shared the room so a higher tariif would apply. The guest was advised accordingly but was only charged a single occupancy fee. In relation to the alleged overcooked breakfast or any of the other alleged issues, if we were made aware at the time we would have dealt with accordingly but obviously to make such a comment weeks later is not helpful or constructive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Located in the quiet village of Loxley in the English countryside the B and B is close by car to Stratford and Warwick. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very new with extra touches such as nice products in the bathroom. Our hosts were responsive, very accommodating and pleasant to deal with during the course of making our booking and when we stayed.

The local pub is just a short walk away and has a surprisingly large variety of creative meals to choose from. Those we tried were all terrific and pretty good value for money.

We would very happily stay again.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank atticusandmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Stayed for one night while on a short break to Shakespeare country. Just a couple of miles drive into Stratford. Stayed in the Crimson room which is just as the photograph on the website. Very comfortable bed and flat screen TV on wall. Excellent shower room with powerful shower and lovely fluffy towels. Very quiet and had a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was plentiful, though it was all slightly overcooked (perhaps this was to ensure everything was thoroughly cooked, as the owners are quite new to running a B&B) They even catered specially for me (being a vegetarian). Eggs from the chicken that you can see from the breakfast room.

Owners very friendly and I would recommend using this B&B when in the area. Unfortunately the following night we stayed at a much more inferior B&B and we could not leave it quickly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We just returned from 11 nights traveling through England. We stayed at the Loxley Guest House on our final night. It was the best place we stayed, by far!
The House is located just a few minutes outside Stratford Upon Avon (Shakespeare's home). They had only opened for business about 4 weeks prior. Everything was new, attractive and very clean. Th owners were friendly and attentive. Even though they had another room available, they offered us cots for our children so we would not have to pay for two rooms. Although a little tight in the room, we all slept comfortably. They also made reservations for us for dinner at the nearby Fox Pub. We had a great meal and met some nice local people.
Lastly, the breakfast was a feast! Fresh eggs from the yard, local bacon and sausages, toast, croissants and tea.
We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone of any age (note there are 2 floors but no lift).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
0.5 mi away
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
1.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon Avon, Wellesbourne
Innkeeper's Lodge Stratford Upon...
#1 of 2 in Wellesbourne Hastings
87 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
7.4 mi away
The Falcon At Hatton - Hotel
9.7 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loxley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loxley Guest House

Address: Stratford Road | Loxley, Warwick CV35 9JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Loxley Guest House Warwick, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing