We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, friendly staff and good value budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked this through one of those secret room deals, it wasn't anything special but clean and tidy and good value for money. The breakfast was nice and the hotel staff were helpful when organising taxis. We used it as a base to visit Warwick castle, i'm sure there are a lot nicer hotels in Warwick but if you want a good value budget hotel this is the place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked this for an overnight stop on a journey South. We are regular visitors to Holiday Inn in UK and USA, and the receptionist noted on our arrival that we were Gold Club members.

The room we were allocated was a typical room, however cleanliness left a lot to be desired. One of the curtains was thick with dust, don't think it had had any cleaning action for many months. Having washed before going down to the lounge/bar area I went to dry my hands only to find that the hand towel had a brown stain in the centre! Then I noticed one of the pillow slips had dark marks on them, almost as if mascara hadn't been washed out of them. The receptionist was willing to give us another room, but the point was that NO ROOM should have been in this state for customers.
Breakfast in the morning was as usual, but after finding 2 dirty spoons, 1 dirty fork, and 1 dirty knife, I wasn't inclined to want to eat anything!
There was also a smell of dust as if carpets or air conditioner needed a deep clean or filters cleaned.
To add insult to injury there is a charge of £3 to park your car to stay at the Hotel!!!
and does anyone know why a double room only ever has 1 chair?!!!
Would I stay here again? NO!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your dissatisfaction on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Warwick.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the obvious drop in our usually high standards both in terms of the bedroom cleanliness and the cleanliness of the cutlery at breakfast.

I have personally spoken with the housekeeping and Kitchen team, and forwarded your comments and pictures on to them to illustrate that the level of cleanliness you experienced was unacceptable and will not be tolerated.

I understand your disappointment, and I hope that should you come back to the Warwick area, you will provide us with the opportunity to redeem ourselves.


David Drummond
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just returned from a weekend away at Holiday Inn Express Warwick. Chose this hotel because of its very close (5 mins) proximity to Warwick Castle and price. We have now stayed in 4 Holiday Inn Express' and have never been disappointed by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. Breakfast here was probably better than others, plenty of choice even with a hot selection, all kept very clean and replenished by ever present staff. My son loved the breakfast here, he had about 4 courses every morning! Couldn't fault it and would definately return if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent 12 nights at the hotel , unscheduled, as my wife has leg surgery at Warwick Hospital from accident in Stratford . All staffs , David ,Darren, GM and everyone there , are so friendly and helpful . Our room is very clean ,to our satisfaction for 12 days stay , the best we experienced for express hotel standard . Wifi free in the reception area , and coin operated internet nearby very useful .
We also love foods and service at the Porridge Pot restaurant nearby ,especially broccoli and stilton cheese .
Thank you so much to everyone there !!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiderdog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This Hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are super efficient on Check-In / Check Out and Breakfast Service. Breakfast is very good and while busy for the Bank Holiday Week-End everything was run smoothly.
We found this hotel better than a 4* hotel in many ways so well done the Mgt and Staff of this very well run hotel.
Only downside was the small double bed with a too soft and a bit lumpy mattress and the sofa bed (family room) had a good side and a bad side to the mattress. When we changed it round it was ok. New mattresses might be in order.
Location is ideal for Warwick Castle (Yes it is the best Castle in England and a day won't let you see/do everything) also Stratford Upon Avon and don't miss Broadway - a beautiful unspoilt town with not a MacDonalds, Boots, Tesco etc in sight - Heaven!!!
The Porridge Pot Restaurant is next door independent of the hotel. Its not too bad and we enjoyed free entertainment there on our arrival night.
All in All we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

After staying in this hotel I know I will deffinatley be back! The service was good and was warmly welcomed, I nice young man with short spikey hair (wish I could remember his name) he was very helpful, a great employee and has a wide knowledge he recommended a great day out at warwick castle! The rooms were clean and presentable, and the breakfast was lovely! I'll deffinatley be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyy-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Booked to stay for 3 nights via the play & stay website. Got good value at £237 for 3 nights which included 2 days entry to Warwick castle. We stayed here last year again for a short break to visit the castle so we knew what to expect. We are a family of 4 with Children of 6 years and 8 months so were very pleased to get a corner room which was much larger than the room we had last year. The hotel seems to accomodate a good mixture of leisure and business clients. Breakfast buffet was kept well stocked. The porridge pot pub on the same site is well worth a visit for the very generous carvery. We had such a relaxing and comfortable stay we decided to book an extra night. The staff were friendly and accommodating and managed to keep us in the same room. It's a great base for visiting Warwick & Stratford areas.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marni35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
0.1 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
2.1 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
615 reviews
6.4 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1.5 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
5.9 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon

Address: Stratford Road | M40 Jct.15, Warwick CV34 6TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range: £54 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Warwick Stratford-upon-Avon is 1.5 Miles from central Warwick. Holiday Inn Express is a mile from Warwick Castle and 6 from Stratford-upon-Avon. We're a 45-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the Birmingham N.E.C. A buffet breakfast with hot and cold options is included in the price of your room. It's just 1.5 Miles to Warwick-based companies including IBM and Ford, and a 10-minute walk to Tournament Fields business park. Warwick Parkway train station is 2 miles away. Highlights of Warwick town centre include Warwick Racecourse and shops and restaurants. Nearby Stratford is Shakespeare's birthplace and home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and many historic attractions. Holiday Inn Express Warwick's bar is a relaxed spot to mingle over drinks, watch live sport on the large TV screens and enjoy free WiFi. Our comfortable guest rooms are non-smoking and have a 32-inch flat screen TV, free WiFi and double or triple-glazed windows and a choice of pillows. Car parking is available for £3.50 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon Hotel Warwick
Holiday Inn Warwick
Warwick Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing