We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed of Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed of Norwich”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I've never heard anything so absurd, having to "pay" to use the Hotel car park, even though we were staying there. Breakfast not worth the money they may have paid for it. Powdered egg and cocktail sausages, no bacon. Neutral welcome on arrival, will not be staying again. A shame really, Premier Inn much better

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Warwick-Stratford-Upon-Avon.
We have car parking barriers to enhance our guest’s security, as do all other local hotels in the area, residents are charged a discounted flat fee for car parking.
It is unfortunate our free breakfast did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our free breakfast offering consists of freshly prepared scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, an array of cereal, flavoured yoghurts, natural yoghurt, bread, freshly baked pastries, fruit salad and fruit compote amongst other items.
We take all of our guests comments on board and greatly appreciate and value the opinion of all of our guests.
We hope you would offer us the chance to serve you again in the future should your travels return you to Warwick.
Felicity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    441
    162
    44
    20
See reviews for
299
355
33
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel did exactly what it said it would do. No more and no less, the rooms are fine, comfortable and clean. The food basic and you can guess the menu? Overall just the usual HIE experience. By the way that is not a complaint

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Warwick.
Its great to read that you found the bedrooms clean and comfortable. We hope our free breakfast set you up well for the day ahead!
We hope you would chose to stay with us again in the future.
Thank You
Felicity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very disappointed to be charged for parking, which was not made clear when booking. Room OK and clean but getting connected to the internet was a nightmare, and it kept cutting in and out. Poor service from reception when help requested and the help line completely unobtainable. As the internet access was a significant reason for selecting this hotel, this was unacceptable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMcD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMWARWICK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us in Warwick.
I’ts great to see that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the bedroom.
We have car park barriers to enhance security for our guest’s vehicles when staying with us, as do all other hotels in the local area, we do feel it is comparable with our area, and hotel guests pay a discounted flat fee of £3 per evening.
It is unfortunate that you experienced difficulties connecting to our free internet service, this is something we will look into and make any necessary improvements. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and hope you would chose to stay with us again in the future should your travels return you to Warwick.
Thank You
Felicity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hotel in great position for several motorways on junction 15 of M40.
Rooms look new as does rest of Hotel---good refurb ???
Staff were so helpful in my hour of need after problem with Internet at Hilton opposite meant I had to change Hotels.
Lee(who I think had recently joined the hotel ) was excellent and showed great ability in dealing with my problem and his manager Patrick was also good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40yearsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk. UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was in the area for an AGM and Annual Dinner and this is the 4th time I've stayed at this hotel now and as always, I had a nice couple of nights there. Staff were very friendly from the moment I checked in, to the moment I checked out.

The room was spacious and clean (easily big enough for 3-4 of us to sit around with a bottle or two of wine and have a chat and catch-up), a nice sized TV and what was very nice this year, was the introduction of free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

The breakfast was good and in plentiful supply, my only criticism would be that on both days there were only sausages and no bacon, though I realise that bacon can dry out very quickly if left on a self-service buffet, so that is understandable.

The Porridge Pot (pub next door), did very well for our evening meal on the Friday. We'd had a three hour journey to get there (not that long by any means, but long enough) so didn't want to go out into town, but having the pub next door made the choice easy for us (though it has changed ownership since last time I was there).

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn and will definitely be staying there again for next year's AGM.

Overall: 9.5/10 - Needs bacon at breakfast for that last 0.5 ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffyclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is in a great location for Warwick, Stratford, Leamington Spa and Kenilworth. Our room was very clean and modern, also a nice big tv. Quick check in and friendly receptionist. Breakfast was ok. was told it 'Free'! I would have said it was included in the price. Parking available at £6 a day. There is a pub next door, but reviews on here do not recommend it. Lots of places to eat in Warwick, but there is very little street parking in the town centre, there is however a multi storey car park.

The staff, however friendly, did not seem too helpful when I asked for an extra chair in the room, asking me to pick one up from the bar area.

Having said that, I would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaDoll-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Just off the motorway, yet with minimal noise, this was perfect for a one night stay in a family room. Clean room, lovely reception area and hot/continental breakfast included. At less than £40 a real bargin.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
0.1 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
2.1 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
581 reviews
6.4 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1.5 mi away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Address: Stratford Road | M40 Jct.15, Warwick CV34 6TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Warwick Stratford-upon-Avon is 1.5 Miles from central Warwick. Holiday Inn Express is a mile from Warwick Castle and 6 from Stratford-upon-Avon. We're a 45-minute drive from Birmingham Airport and the Birmingham N.E.C. A buffet breakfast with hot and cold options is included in the price of your room. It's just 1.5 Miles to Warwick-based companies including IBM and Ford, and a 10-minute walk to Tournament Fields business park. Warwick Parkway train station is 2 miles away. Highlights of Warwick town centre include Warwick Racecourse and shops and restaurants. Nearby Stratford is Shakespeare's birthplace and home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and many historic attractions. Holiday Inn Express Warwick's bar is a relaxed spot to mingle over drinks, watch live sport on the large TV screens and enjoy free WiFi. Our comfortable guest rooms are non-smoking and have a 32-inch flat screen TV, free WiFi and double or triple-glazed windows and a choice of pillows. Car parking is available for £3.50 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon Hotel Warwick
Holiday Inn Warwick
Warwick Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing