We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel - Good location - Questionable Leisure Suite !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Warwick
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good business hotel - Good location - Questionable Leisure Suite !”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I practically lived in this hotel for 7 months from May to Dec 2011 (no, i'm not proud of this), but it did give me an insight into the place... a few hints,

The basic rooms really are ... basic, tiny and noisy

The club rooms are not so bad ... however, if your booking one you really need to go for either the 'Shakespeare or Castle wing' (these are the upgraded rooms, and it shows.

The hotel seems to take coach trips during the week, they have a habit of destroying the breakfast buffet (make sure you get there before them!)

Don't be taken in by the suggestion the hotel has a leisure suite !... (it has a pool - read large bath tub which you can get from one end to the other of in 5 strokes, and a gym which on one occasion we managed to have 5 people in - it's not so big) - that said the location is great if you want a good run into the old city (Warwick) around the race track, or out into the countryside.

The staff are great, friendly and efficient, and do whatever they can to make things comfortable - don't be afraid to ask.

The bar area is comfortable, the menu in the restaurant is good, and the chef makes an effort (which is more than can be said for some Hiltons).

For Hilton Honours customers there is no lounge, but the team do a great line in beer vouchers, and were trialing a Gold and Diamond breakfast area when we left.

As a business hotel this Hilton does a good job, and i'd recommend it (with the caution over the fitness suite) - I wouldn't stay here for a romantic weekend tho - there are plenty of boutique options in Warwick and Stratford where your partner would thank you far more for booking !

Room Tip: Go for the Castle or Shakespeare wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Mark P

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you found our staff were friendly and professional during your stays.

I also take on board your other comments and please be assured that we use such feedback constructively to aid improving the service and facilities we provide for our guests and clients.

Your loyalty is important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    533
    344
    117
    59
See reviews for
334
543
41
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Myself, my mum and sister stayed at the Hilton, Warick in the first week of Easter hols. Check in was quick and friendly, although they then informed us that there will be a car parking fee of £5 a day! They even had a bouncer/ Security Guard wearing a black suit standing by the gates at one point because the barrier had broken, how ridiculous and dramatic is that! Room was nice, clean and comfortable, plenty big enough for three of us.

This hotel is in a great location, inbetween Warick and Stratford and not too far from Birmingham. We used the car to travel although there are bus stops outside the hotel going to and from Warick and Stratford.

Breakfast was really nice and had a great selection, from cooked full english to continental, cereal, fruit, waffles, muffins, breads etc. The breakfast room/ restuarant was very clean and modern and comfortable, but, however, when we went for dinner one evening we were thoroughly disappointed. The hotel were offering three courses for £19, so we booked table. We arrived and were seated away from other diners so immediately felt secluded. The restuarant wasn't very busy and didn't have any atmosphere what so ever! No background music, harsh lighting. It felt as though we turned up really late and they were about to close, we arrived at 8! The staff were most peculiar, particulary the two men serving us. No hello, or welcome, just " can I take your order?" They didn't talk to us, apart from asking who had what to eat and before our plates were taken away, one of them just shoved the desert menu into our hands without asking us if we even wanted desert, strange.They also served us by leaning across us with a hot plate to serve my mum sitting next to me instead of walking around. We have never experienced such bad and also very bizarre service in a restaurant or felt so unwelcome. They need to train their staff in good customer service and waiting skills, and not just employ anyone off the street!! It's such a shame, this really let down the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkGem87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Suffolkgem87

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor and am pleased to note you found the Hotel's location suitable for your needs.

With regard to the security we had employed that weekend, this is something we operate Easter weekend every year due to a large event taking place at Warwick Racecourse and the security is meant to make our guests feel more at ease and if this was not the case, I sincerely apologise.

I have noted the comments in relation to the restaurant and we pride ourselves on our service given to our guests. However, we do take on board any feedback we receive where standards are not met and use this constructively.

Your loyalty is important to us and hope that we can welcome you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I had stayed here many times some years ago and it was better than I remembered. This time it was for a theatre trip to Stratford (also excellent!) Our room was very comfortable and clean and well equipped. Breakfast was outstanding. Only negative comments were an ordinary tv and the need to charge £5 for car parking - why do that? Overall though, very good and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear peterandbrenda_10

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on here. I am pleased to note that you found the location useful for your trip and that room and breakfast were very much enjoyed.

With regard to car parking charges, these were introduced because of the spiralling costs of operating, maintaining and securing the car park and surrounds of the hotel. Since being implemented in March 2005 at the Hilton Warwick we have achieved a virtually crime free area and is therefore proving to be a major deterrent, a situation many of our competitors would like to be in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here on a wet and windy Wednesday night. Check in was fast, efficient and friendly. Rooms are cosy and well appointed, powershower was much appreciated. The bar area is welcoming with a lovely fire centre of the room, not intimidating if you are a woman travelling alone like me. Breakfast is a little on the pricey side (around £12) and is the usual Hilton fayre. If you are not pressed for time, grab brunch in one of the lovely tea rooms in Warwick. Parking at the hotel is currently £5.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _zeenaandme_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear sarah_Brummie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and am pleased to note that you found are rooms welcoming and our team members to be both friendly and professional.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It is a rare thing for me to give a 5-star rating (although in a perfect world of Trip Advisor half star ratings), I would give 4 ½ stars for this property.

Saying that, this was really a lovely hotel. Now I have to admit, I was on a Spring promo / pre-buy rate of £64 a night. And as an Elite, I was upgraded to a fine Club room. So I was already full of happiness in a value-for-money sense.

Location-wise, it was just off a major highway and it took us about 30 minutes to walk to Warwick castle. Or you could take a 5 – 10 minute bus ride into town (there is a stop right outside the hotel and the bus runs every 30 minutes). A cab from the Warwick train station was a strangely high £9.

Check-in staff could not have been more helpful or friendly – there must be something in the water!

The room was a good size and rather than being a typical square room, was long and slightly narrow. The queen-sized bed was extremely comfortable with lots of firm pillows and a fine duvet. A basket of goodies was awaiting us in our Club room. The room temperature was perfect and the A/C worked very well. I slept very, very well over the two nights.

The shower was very powerful and hot and there was no leakage. Bathroom products were top-notch and I loved the giant, fluffy towels.

I had a couple of minor criticisms of the accommodations – the LCD TV had a rather limited selection of channels – Freeview or Freesat anyone? While there was space for a fridge, we didn’t have one, but then I guess we could have asked. But overall, a very nice room.

I was recently criticised in another Trip Advisor review for giving an otherwise fine hotel a lower rating for a sub-standard breakfast. I would like to clearly state that the Warwick Hilton had one of the best hotel breakfasts I have every consumed. From the friendly and fast staff to wide variety of amazing breakfast items, this is the standard that all 4-star hotels should set. There were small touches such as the split second we were seated, being poured orange juice and given tea and coffee. The buffet seemed popular with both business people and tourists alike. Quality and variety was very high and everything was hot.

It is certainly the best Hilton I have stayed at in the UK.

Room Tip: try the Porridge Pot across the road ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Wembleygal

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I am pleased to note all the aspects that you enjoyed during your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of the Hilton Brand and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-uopn-Avon in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed here with and old friend who I hadn't seen for 18 months and it was absolutely great for our needs. We got a room only deal on the internet for only £54 for the night which was excellent value. Reception staff were very helpful and the room we were given was of a very high standard for the price. Drinks were expenesive - but thats hotels for you. We had intended to travel into Stratford for dinner but catching up with 18 months of chatting proved too much and we ate in the bar instead. The food was tremendous - the tempura prawns with noodles was delicious and my salmon wwas out of this world - stunningly presented and absolutely delicious! we decided to pay the extra £12 for breakfast but we were glad we did - again more than plenty, very well cooked and delicious. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Take up the offer of an upgrade - you may get a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirepudding_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Yorkshirepudding_10

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on Trip Advisor and please to note you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us.

I am pleased to note that you found our team members helpful and professional and you enjoyed your menu choices as we pride ourselves on our food and service we provide to our guests and clients. of a very high standard for the price. Drinks were expenesive - but thats hotels for you.

I note you also decided to take the breakfast service in the morning and that you also found this enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

OK if you can get a good corp rate but rooms are expensive (good though). Drinks, Food etc are also expensive e.g. £4.40 for a large Cappuccino to go! Try and get the car parking included in your room cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Magicdad

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note you enjoyed our menu choices and we pride ourselves on the service and quality we offer our guests and clients.

With regard to car parking, charges were introduced because of the spiralling costs of operating, maintaining and securing the car park and surrounds of the hotel. Since being implemented in March 2005 at the Hilton Warwick we have achieved a virtually crime free area and is therefore proving to be a major deterrent, a situation many of our competitors would like to be in.

Your loyalty is important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
2.0 mi away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 12 in Warwick
575 reviews
6.3 mi away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#11 of 12 in Warwick
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Warwickshire
The Warwickshire
#10 of 12 in Warwick
77 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon

Property: Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Address: Stratford Road | Junction 15, M40, Warwick CV34 6RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Warwick
#3 Family Hotel in Warwick
#5 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Warwick
Hilton International Warwick
Warwick Hilton International
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-Upon-Avon Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing