We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warwick Castle Glamping”
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.05*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warwick Castle Glamping”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We went glamping at Warwick Castle this week and thought it worth putting our opinions for others....

Good things:
1. The price - at £150 a night for four people (please don't increase this!). This is good value as it includes two days entry, car parking, staying in the tent, unlimited breakfast, and evening entertainment for the children. In particular, you would need to pay for the Knight School and archery if you were just going to Warwick Castle for the day, but with glamping it's free in the evening for as many turns as you can fit in.
2. A good way to test if camping/glamping is for you!
3. The staff were enthusiastic and helpful and the whole process ran very smoothly.
4. Our children (aged 5 and 7) thought it was all wonderful.

Not so good things:
1. You can clearly hear both motorway noise and aircraft noise from the tent.
2. As with all camping, the campsite only goes quiet when the last person goes to bed until the first person wakes up. The tents are close together. This is par for the course with camping though.
3. There was a problem with the single beds deflating, and when we stayed (in the first week of it opening) there were no replacement single beds left (because so many were deflating) and so a replacement would have had to be another double bed for which there wasn't really room in the tent.
4. Unfortunately my daughter left her favourite toy in the tent, and despite ringing as soon as we got home, "lion" had disappeared. Our fault for it being left, but a shame that it wasn't found and kept when the tent was cleaned.
5. It is a bit of a walk from the campsite to Warwick Castle. Not so bad because you can use the fast-track entrance on arrival, but this closes so you have to walk back from the main entrance to the site. Might be worth Warwick Castle keeping the fast track entrance open for Glampers.

Overall we were very pleased and would recommend, particularly because it was good value for money and because of the efforts that the staff are putting in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SLT7479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,527
    2,986
    1,453
    689
    515
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We travelled 2 hours from Manchester and it was well worth it. The horrible history sections alone would fill a day. We'll definitely go back soon. The actors were fantastic - very professional. Go early so you can see the rising of the portcullis at 10.30 as the actor who led this part was hilarious. The only downside, as other reviewers have mentioned, was the £6 parking charge - which is a rip off because you still have to walk for ages . I'd recommend any of the horrible history sections as they all kept our boys captivated for ages. You can volunteer to be one of the 6 people to fire the trebuchet so book yourself in early if you fancy that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzle074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to see at least once”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Came here for the first time with my girlfriend last month. Weather was great which made the experience great. If the weather was bad I don't think it would have been half as good as it was. The interior of the Castle was amazing, as was the Flight of the Eagle Show. The Dungeons were definately the best part of the visit and not for the faint hearted! However you defo need to use 2 for 1 vouchers to make this worth while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yasin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Historic site has become a theme park”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Unless you have kids aged 5 - 10 don't bother ******and in no circumstances pay £3 a head for the laughably bad and very hot MERLIN "exhibition". 10 years ago this was a great castle with a bit of outdoor theatre. Now it's a poor mans Disney with a castle hidden behind.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful! Something for EVERYONE!! + Glamping!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Me and my family (which spans the ages 3, 8, 22, 28, 58 and 65!) think that Warwick Castle is one of the most fabulous places to visit in the entire country! Although I do sympathise with some comments regarding the children's entertainment and resulting price BUT we think the castle is worth EVERY PENNY! For adults and children alike! We visit every year, with or without the children.

We think the additional costly events (The Dungeon and Merlin Tower) are a waste of time and money. BUT someone commented saying it was extra for the dungeon tour which is very misleading! The historical dungeon (or Gaol) is free and fascinating! 'The Dungeon Tour' is a (poor) replica of the London Dungeon and is not necessary for a wonderful trip around the Castle.

There is plenty to do if you are not interested in the children's activities with brilliant (FREE) historical walking tours and exhibits. Also, lets be realistic, ITS A CASTLE! Regardless of the entertainment, if you're there for the history, you should enjoy the building alone which is breathtaking! I noticed somebody moaned about the raising of the portcullis and birds of prey being themepark-like!! How ridiculous! These are wonderful experiences that are fascinating, historical and the birds particularly are totally stunning!

A highlight of Warwick is the trebuchet firing which is an incredible example of mediaeval weaponry in action - a rare treat! This too is amazing regardless of age!

This summer there are 'Horrible Histories' based activities which are very funny and provide great entertainment and education for the children :)

The only criticism we would make is the catering staff around the castle who don't seem to have had any training and are painfully slow at service (every single time I bought something or just refilled my drink which was many times over 2 days). This is minor considering how great everything else is...but HIGHLY frustrating!

This year we decided to 'Glamp' (glamorous camping haha) in the 'Mediaeval Glamping' site! We did this with the children and I would say this is probably most suitable for families. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (despite thunderstorms) and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly (especially Helen Wickett) and we would recommend this very highly! The food was of very high quality for BBQ and breakfast (although ran out of eggs at breakfast). The games included for children were great, plenty of time for archery, knight school (sword fighting) and jester school for all the children to enjoy! Finally, the sleeping facilities were of a very high standard and we had a comfortable night :)

We will definitely return next year to the castle and most probably to Glamp again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing