We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Visit”
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.53*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I received a free ticket from a friend and figured I would go. I had heard that the castle had moved in a direction away from it's history, but it was actually lovely. Beautiful grounds, lovely decorations, excellent exhibits. Lots of little historical trinkets. Be sure to go to the Georgian gardens; they're beautiful!

1  Thank anneyork4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Anne, thank you for your great review and lovely comments. We're really pleased to read that we surpassed your expectations and you found plenty of history to explore here. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"horrible histories"
in 884 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 1,541 reviews
"dungeon tour"
in 521 reviews
"princess tower"
in 485 reviews
"car park"
in 1,085 reviews
"bird show"
in 298 reviews
"wax figures"
in 142 reviews
"merlin passes"
in 125 reviews
"peacock garden"
in 123 reviews
"state rooms"
in 292 reviews
"extra cost"
in 128 reviews
"great family day"
in 210 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 121 reviews
"falconry display"
in 224 reviews
"value for money"
in 365 reviews
"school holidays"
in 149 reviews
"other attractions"
in 118 reviews
Filter

8,355 - 8,359 of 12,196 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a great day out at the castle (helped by the fact we bought tickets using Tesco clubcard vouchers). There was lots on to see and do including a really excellent falconry display (highlight of the day and so good we saw both shows), a giant trebuchet launching a fireball, archery displays and tours of the great halls and ramparts. There were quite a few pay for extras like have a go archery, dungeon tours and Merlin (the TV programme) experience which seemed expensive as well as a multitude of food outlets and some shops. Most of the people there seemed to be with school groups and it must have been classes as out of season as not all the food outlets (eg fish and chips) were open and those that did open were mostly focussed around core lunch hours. Jousting was also not due to start until July. We spent a full day wandering around the castle and its grounds and I was quite impressed by how they had set the scene in the castle with life size (freakishly realistic) characters telling a story of getting ready for an event at the castle. The only improvement would be to have a show time board near the entrance for tescoclub card holders/ members as it took us a good 20 mins to find out what was on where.

1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thanks for posting such a great five star review Kate. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your day and in particular that you enjoyed our Flight of the Eagles show so much that you watched both of our two daily shows. It's great to hear that our waxworks helped bring our history to life for you. We hope you'll visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I visited Warwick Castle with several family members. We had debated between Warwick Castle and Sudeley Castle & Gardens. In the end, we wished we opted for Sudeley.

Warwick Castle was fairly expensive and has been turned into an 'experience' rather than exhibits in an historical setting. We also visited before high season and it had a BIG impact on our visit. Some parts of the castle and most of the food options we not available. In the cafe that was open, the service was slow and they had no clean silverware.

NOTE: It is a LONG walk from the parking lot to the entrance. My mom walks with a cane and this was a real issue for us. If we had known how far it was, we would have tried to find a place to drop her off closer to the entrance.

While there were some pretty views, our visit was not a pleasant one. If you are looking for a theme park setting, then this is the place for you. If you want to get a sense of life in a historic castle, go elsewhere.

2  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello Katherine, thanks for posting a review and some great photos. We were interested to read your comments and will make sure your feedback gets passed to the relevant teams. Thanks again for letting us know your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having read some very negative reviews we nearly didn't come, but how glad we were that we did.
We visited with friends( our first visit and somewhere we'd always fancied) and had free tickets as part of a travel zoo offer. We managed to Park a 5 minute walk from the priority gate. From there it's a short walk to the castle.
Everything is well thought out and presented and the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. A lot of thought has gone into making it a place for all ages to enjoy. We are all in our sixties and had a great day! We loved the fireball display and thought the birds of prey display was excellent. Chris was very entertaining!
We didn't have any sort of refreshments on site and as the men fancied a beer we went into the town which is literally outside the gates. There was no problem in going out and coming in again.
Our only niggle was that when we came to leave we couldn't do so the way we had come in and it was quite a long walk back to the car park ( about 10/15 mins and we were hot and tired. Otherwise an excellent day out to be thoroughly recommended .

Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Jane, thanks for leaving us a five star review. It's great to hear you were happy with how we've presented our history and Castle and felt things were done in a way that all ages can enjoy. We'll make sure your lovely comments about our bird handler Chris get passed along. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I toured this attraction as an optional excursion from our bus tour of the British Isles. We had just 2 hours, which is not nearly enough time to fully explore Warwick Castle. First, we were given a tour of a small portion of the castle. That was very interesting, particularly the rooms with wax figures dressed in clothes from the 1930s. The wax figures illustrated the people and activities at that time, complete with sound recordings of what might have been their dialogue. One of the things we watched out on the lawn outside the castle was the firing of a trebuchet, which is really a giant catapult. A voice-over through our headphones convincingly captured all that was happening as the trebuchet was rolled into place and prepared to "fire." Although we no longer have small children, there was much at the castle specifically geared toward young audiences.

Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

What a great five star review psychoprofessor, thank you! We're so happy to hear you found loads to do during your brief visit and that our wax figures and audio tracks really brought our history to life. Our Trebuchet certainly is unique and we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed watching it firing during our twice daily Trebuchet Fireball Spectacular show. We hope you'll come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing