We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Time”
Review of Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.32*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission Ticket
More Info
US$34.07*
and up
Warwick Castle: Admission and Cream Tea Package
More Info
US$119.06*
and up
Stratford, The Cotswolds, Oxford and Warwick Castle Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a totally electrifying day out at Britain’s ultimate castle. Where you can immerse yourself in a thousand years of jaw-dropping history – come rain or shine.Where ancient myths and spell-binding tales set your imagination alight, and your hair on end. Where princesses are pampered and maidens are wooed, as winners become true heroes and losers are confined to dark, dank dungeons to be forgotten for eternity. It could only be Warwick Castle.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrific Time”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We didn't have any specific expectations of our first castle tour, but if we had, they would probably not have been very high. Our family doesn't always tolerate historical site or museum visits very well, but Warwick Castle was much better than we expected. We didn't rush through it, even though there was enough walking and stairs to tire our feet, we kept going until we say it all (or at least it felt like it). We did not partake in the extra features like the Dungeon Tour or the Merlin attraction. The basic castle tour was enough for us.

The buildings are amazing and it is hard to imagine what it must have been like around 1400 AD. The touches they added in the residence area with turn of the century decoration and mannequins really added a neat touch to bring the visit up to the recent past.

Over one of the walls, we saw an archery exhibition but didn't stay for the entire show. A large crowd had gathered and they seemed to be enjoying the explanation of archery practices and retelling of historic battles.

The entire tour seemed very accessible (unless you have trouble with climbing stairs or small passages) and allowed us to move at our own pace. We saw several families with very small children and I would not recommend that as there is no ability to take a child in a stroller through it all. We also saw several elderly folks, but they didn't seem to have any troubles and one could easily avoid areas that were too taxing for them.

We paused for a few short breaks, and spent about 4 hours at the castle, including the 20 minute hike (each way) from the car park. That was our only mark against the tour really. When spending BP 24.00 on admittance and another BP 6.00 on parking, it seems like they could have either let us know how far the walk would be or offer a tram. Had they done so, we may have spent even more time touring the grounds with fresher legs!

Still, it was a terrific memory for our family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hy_Chapparrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Liam, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello Hy_Chapparrel, thanks for leaving such a great five star review of your visit to Warwick Castle (and for posting a great photo taken from our iconic Guy's Tower). We're so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and your family enjoyed exploring our amazing building. We hope you'll be able to come again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,754
    3,116
    1,491
    706
    532
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“proms concert”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a fabulous evening at warwick castle prom concert with the Birmingham symphony orchestra,the highlight was the spitfire display and closing fireworks

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Liam, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Phil, thanks for taking the time to leave a fantastic five star review of your fabulous evening at Warwick Castle's recent annual Proms concert. It's great to hear you enjoyed the evening's musical display as well as our stunning spitfire flyover and fireworks. We hope to see you again next year (if not before).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant for a day out!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good for a full day out, many things to do and lots of places to see. Really loved the gardens around the castle. Very educational, full of history. Great for kids and families. "Time flies when you're having fun!"

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank elfuego_vazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Liam, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Wow elfuego_vazquez, thanks for leaving us such fantastic five star review of your "brilliant" visit to Warwick Castle. We are thrilled to hear you found loads to do and learnt lots whilst you were here. We hope to welcome you back to the Castle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This place is a tourist trap, their hands are never out of your pockets. I mean four pounds to shoot a bow and arrow please! My wife and I paid forty eight pounds and that did not include the six pounds to park in a field.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Liam, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello David, thank you for your feedback. We were disappointed to read your comments and would be interested in hearing your feedback in more detail. Please feel free to get in touch using the details provided on our website. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bicester, oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Paul Weller Concert”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Warwick is the most superb venue for an open air concert I have ever been to. The infrastructure was excellent, almost everything was taken into account. The Bar areas were sensibly organised with a queue system rather than the usual free for all. They dont rip you off either! a bottle of wine, red, white or rose, was only £12! The toilets were immaculate - 8 cubicles in a trailer with loads of loo rolls and running water as opposed to stinky portaloos. There were lots of food outlets. The only thing I would suggest is that they issue guests with a bin bag on entry to use for their rubbish. there were no rubbish bins anywhere on the site and the amount of plastic bottles strewn around, simply because there was nowhere else to dispose of them was easily avoidable. But all said, this is a brilliant venue for open air concerts!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ginmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick_Manager, Liam, Guest Experience at Warwick Castle, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Ginmonkey, thanks for leaving a great review of our Paul Weller concert, one of Warwick Castle's annual Summer Sounds concerts. It's great to hear you think we're such a great venue and enjoyed the show so much. It's also fantastic to hear you were so impressed by our facilities. I'll certainly pass on your feedback about bins. We hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warwick Castle also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwick Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing